We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Book now before everyone discovers this gem!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Trevalsa Court Country House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Mevagissey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We have just returned from a weekend at this lovely hotel overlooking the sea at Mevagissey. With only 15 bedrooms in a beautiful Arts & Crafts manor house Trevalsa Court is small enough to afford excellent service to guests yet there is enough space - in the elegant sitting room and large bedrooms (ours was room 9) to feel comfortable and relaxed. The owners have filled the house with some lovely objets and furnishings yet have not ignored their guests' needs to be comfortable - so, lovely sofas and armchairs - period and modern - and good beds and sparkling modern bathrooms. The chef is wonderful - imaginative and inventive with everything beautifully presented. Good, hearty breakfasts. We had an amazing seaview from our room and also enjoyed tea on the terrace which overlooks the sea. The hotel is well placed for Heligan and The Eden Project. The staff without exception were friendly and professional and we were very well looked after - thankyou all!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dianaofdorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (383)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

258 - 264 of 383 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2013

A pleasant enough hotel. We took a weekend break in Megavissey and chose this hotel which is quaint, well decorated and had friendly staff. The hotel has it's own little bit of beach which was lovely (if you are happy to walk down many steep steps that is)

Sadly the food was decidedly average and most certainly over priced - I can quite honestly say we can get better steak and chips at our local 2 for 1 pub and I think if the chef can't cook a steak it speaks volumes about the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank livinginamadhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John G, Manager at Trevalsa Court Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

We are so sorry to learn you were disappointed with our restaurant. We endeavour to produce beautifully cooked, locally sourced food at all times and most of our guests are very complimentary. If you had mentioned your steak was not to your liking at the time we would, of course, have done something about it. We feel our set price menu is good value, especially as all the produce and ingredients are locally sourced, of high quality and dishes are individually prepared and cooked.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Trevalsa Court is a wonderful place to stay, staff friendly and very helpful food was excellent, the view from our room was exactly as discribed very quite indeed would certainly recommend and hopefully return again in the future.

Thank you all very much indeed for our very enjoyable stay.

Pat and Tony Sherwood

Room Tip: We had room 11 can't comment on other rooms but my guess is you won't be dissapointed with y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PatriciaS521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

I stayed at this Hotel for one night and really enjoyed my stay. The room was clean and cozy and had an outstanding view over the coastline. I loved waking up to the sounds of seagulls, which really made it feel like a seaside vacation. You can walk down a steep stairway to get to the beach - a perfect place to relax. The breakfast (I chose vegetarian) was also very good.
I can only recommend this place!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank Franziska S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

The decor is lovely - very light and contemporary but still suiting the traditional style of the house. The service was efficient and friendly.
My single room was a bit on the small side but pleasant, with a sea view that might have been 'spectacular' if the weather had been better.
The food was good. An excellent cooked breakfast served in the oak panelled dining room. The evening meal was expensive but good - a bit short on veggie options. The restaurant is open to non-residents which meant that the only lounge - a lovely room- got a bit crowded after dinner.
A couple of niggles: the car park is very small and parking was tricky, especially if you arrived in the evening when the restaurant is open. The television signal in my bedroom was bad tho this may have been due to the storm which was blowing during my entire stay. And the hotel is quite hemmed in with other houses which slightly detracts from its lovely cliff top position.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aniQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Everything was very good-service,brilliant breakfast,comfy lounge,nice dining room overlooking gardens+sea.Very quiet tooa.Good for hikers as on South West coast path.You will not be disappointed!
Also nice cream tea with Prosecco.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Having read the reviews by some Groupon users at the hotel we were a bit concerned how the short break would go and whether we would be treated differently to full paying guests. We need not have concerned ourselves as every member of staff we came into contact with went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. In particular the lady who was on reception when we arrived. Once she had ascertained that my wife was wheat intolerant, she made sure that gluten free bread and cereal was available for her at breakfast. Whilst on the subject of food, comments left by one reviewer suggested that there was only two selections for dinner. The dinner menu had 4/5 selections, all fine dining, in each section and in my opinion was very good value, not only in price but also quality, for food which in a top class restaurant would have cost a lot more. There was a specially selected 3 course Groupon menu which contained two items from each section of the ala-carte menu. The cost of this menu was very competitive and again would have cost a lot more in a restaurant. Drinks in the bar are in line with any provincial hotel bar and if you consider them to a city hotel then they are cheaper.
Breakfast was also value for money with many choices on the menu or if preferred a continental style breakfast was available.
We had been allocated room 4 which was a comfortable double room with a nice view overlooking the gardens and sea. The room had all the normal facilities, tea/coffee making equipment, flat screen television, dressing gowns and the en-suite was a wet room. I was very impressed with the strength of the wifi signal in the room, which in a lot of the hotels I have stayed in has been very poor.
In summary, the hotel could be styled as olde world, with its decor, and it made you feel relaxed and on holiday. More importantly it comes with olde world service, where the guest is someone special, something that is very much lacking in modern day hotels.
I would happily stay at the hotel again either as a full paying or a Groupon deal guest and both my wife and I shall look forward to visiting the hotel again when we next holiday in Cornwall.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank petermalat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mevagissey
0.6 mi away
Mevagissey Bay Hotel
Mevagissey Bay Hotel
#3 of 5 in Mevagissey
263 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Llawnroc Hotel
The Llawnroc Hotel
#1 of 1 in Gorran Haven
613 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
1,436 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tremarne Hotel
Tremarne Hotel
#1 of 5 in Mevagissey
468 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trevalsa Court Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trevalsa Court Country House Hotel

Address: School Hill, Mevagissey PL26 6TH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mevagissey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Mevagissey
Price Range: $161 - $305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Trevalsa Court Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trevalsa Court Hotel stands on a cliff top with most rooms enjoying fabulous sea views. It has an eclectic mix of ancient oak beams, mullion windows and oak paneling with designer fabrics, leather sofas and modern art. We encourage guests to relax and make the hotel their holiday home. Our food, with an emphasis on fish, is largely locally produced, deliciously prepared and tastefully presented. Golf, tennis, cycle and canoe hire are available locally. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Trevalsa Court Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trevalsa Court Country Hotel
Trevalsa Court Country Mevagissey
Trevalsa Court Country House Hotel Mevagissey, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing