We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent little hotel with stunning sea views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Trevalsa Court Country House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Mevagissey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 20, 2013

My husband and I have just spent two nights here. It is so refreshing to find a hotel that is so individual. The staff are so friendly and helpful without being at all intrusive. The young waiter was really nice and showed us various rooms for our next visit! The rooms are fresh and clean with lovely touches, and the sea views are fantastic. There is a short walk along the coast to Mevagissey from the Hotel. We were lucky to have fabulous sunshine in February, but would have been happy to stay in the hotel and look at the views if it had been pouring with rain - it was so lovely and so peaceful. A really good breakfast too. Would definitely recommend this hotel if you want to have something different and avoid the ' chain-type' hotels. We loved it! Did I mention the sea views?? Bliss.

Room Tip: We saw Premium and standard rooms and stayed in a luxury room. All lovely with the sea views. The st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Smith2_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (382)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

268 - 274 of 382 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2013

we only had one night, but thoroughly enjoyed it! stayed in room 3 which had a stunning view, a lovely bathroom and a very comfortable bed. only two minor quibbles, I would have liked a flannel in the bathroom, would have preferred proper glasses in the room and mugs rather than cup and saucer, but all very minor really. we ate dinner in and had a lovely meal, nice atmosphere in the dining room and Nicola could not have looked after us better throughout! also for breakfast the next morning. hotel is located right on the coast path, and we could watch the trawlers in the bay and hear the seagulls chasing the catch early in the morning too. a real getaway kind of place, warm and cosy, would love to return in the spring or summer to be able to sit on the terrace for a drink or a meal. had a special rate of £99 B and B for the room, dinner was £30 each, but well worth it! loved it, thanks.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank jrandall2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed as part of a Groupon offer on the first weekend of opening at this hotel following the winter closure. The hotel is lovely, well kept gardens, perfect rooms with amazing views which were delightful first thing in the morning, watching the sunrise and the boats go out from the harbour from your bed is priceless. We didn't eat at the hotel in the evening although the menu looked delicious. The breakfast was excellent with a very good choice. We have stayed in other hotels in Mevagissey but we felt this is by far the best we have stayed in and the most reasonably priced. Well worth a visit if you are in the area.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clark2_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

A very welcoming arts and crafts house right on the coastal path and within walking distance of the lovely port of Mevagissey (steep hill to walk back or get the bus!) The staff offer a high standard of service; the rooms are very well appointed and the lounge area very relaxing with a good range of magazine to enjoy, a roaring fire in the evenings and, of course, stunning views from the large bay window. We went in the Autumn and were blessed with clear blue skies and sunshine for one of the days. The food in the restaurant is very good although on the pricey side unless you get one of the Dinner, B and B deals. It's the little touches which count, a teapot and filtered water in the rooms. Generous waffle robes to snuggle in, a throw to wrap around you as you sit in the chair and enjoy the views plus a very comfortable bed. Just one disappointment lost this experience a star - we ordered the advertised full afternoon tea and planned our day to enjoy this and the magazines in the lounge at 3.45pm. The very embarrassed and apologetic waiter returned to report that the chef was not prepared to do a full afternoon tea, only a cream tea - no reason given. We had only had breakfast that day in preparation for sandwiches and cake so a cream tea was not to our taste. We ended up getting in the car to Mevagissey to find a cafe. If you don't offer the tea then don't have the menus out - any chef who can afford to lose a hotel £45 on an off- season winters afternoon is not a chef I would personally want in my employ. On check out we reported this to the manager who was very apologetic and could see no reason why we were refused - he did not however offer any compensation for our disappointment - I would have refunded us the bottle of wine at dinner. Have deep pockets for the bar too - around £7 for a single gin and tonic! Don't let this put you off, we had an otherwise wonderful experience and would return.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Artyonetwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

It's a beautiful hotel, well maintained and kept in an immaculate condition. Views from our room (Room #2) were superb. Sunrise and sea views can't be beaten. Friendly and helpful staff helped make our stay very relaxing. Breakfast served each morning was delicious and freshly prepared according to our taste. All in all, our stay at Travelsa was truly lovely.

Rose 'n' Arun

Room Tip: We were in Room#2, a room with amazing sea views and a large bay window. So, you know what to ask fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arun-Rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

This amazing art & craft design house is situated on the coastal path, giving easy walking access to Mevagissey. The path is joined at the bottom of the garden, how easy is that : ) There is also ample free parking, which is rare for accomodation in Mevagissey.
The accomodation is first class, with the majority of the bedrooms having a sea view. The rooms were warm and comfortable, with sumptious bedding and copious amounts of good quality towels provided. Our particular room had a wet room en-suite, which suited us well.
The staff are excellent, especially the waiter, who was very professional, attentive and courteous. The breakfasts were well presented, with a good choice of options, including fresh fruits, yoghurts, muesli, porridge, full english, mackeral, smoked salmon etc. The owner went out of his way to make our short three night stay a pleasant experience. The lounge, provided for the guests use, had a variety of magazines, board games and newspapers, but importantly no TV, so socialising was inevitable : ) There was also an outside terrace with ample bistro seating area, comfy deckchairs and a garden summerhouse to sit and watch the world go by. We hope to go again soon.

Room Tip: Rooms with a sea view add to the experience of the stay at this hotel - amazing : )
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reflections45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

This small, stylish and friendly hotel is superbly situated on the South West Coast path, facing the beautiful Cornish sea and only a few mins on foot from picturesque Mevagissey. We got a good DBB deal and it was just perfect and so relaxing. The food was lovely with plenty of choice ; breakfast covered all the options from fresh fruits, nuts, yoghurt, croissants to full english and toast. Dinner, served in the elegant dining room overlooking the gardens to the sea, was really good. Service was friendly but professional. The wine list offered plenty of good choices. There is a small bar but with a full set of options including cocktails. We enjoyed the beautiful sitting room with its wide bay window overlooking the sea and a real fire in the evening for a pre dinner g and t or coffee after dinner. Lots of lovely paintings and arty books and magazines too. The rooms have everything from super comfy big beds, and wifi to White Company toiletries in the smart bathroom, bags of hot water on demand and fluffy white towels. So many thoughtful touches from tissues, to the ability to make a hot drink-with Clipper earl grey/peppermint/ blueberry teas: it really is a home from home. We had a big double room with a sofa and armchair so we could watch the sun rise or Tv/dvd or the fishermen bobbling about on the sea. Nothing was too much trouble for the owner and there was helpful advice on visiting the Eden Project and Lost Gardens, both of which are very close by. Don't be put off by the website-this hotel is a gem and remeber to phone for deals not available via booking websites.

Room Tip: No 10 is spacious and has a sofa and armchair in the sitting area overlooking the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hilaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mevagissey
0.6 mi away
Mevagissey Bay Hotel
Mevagissey Bay Hotel
#3 of 5 in Mevagissey
260 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Llawnroc Hotel
The Llawnroc Hotel
#1 of 1 in Gorran Haven
613 reviews
7.7 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
1,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,631 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
0.6 mi away
Tremarne Hotel
Tremarne Hotel
#1 of 5 in Mevagissey
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trevalsa Court Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trevalsa Court Country House Hotel

Address: School Hill, Mevagissey PL26 6TH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mevagissey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Mevagissey
Price Range: $158 - $297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Trevalsa Court Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trevalsa Court Hotel stands on a cliff top with most rooms enjoying fabulous sea views. It has an eclectic mix of ancient oak beams, mullion windows and oak paneling with designer fabrics, leather sofas and modern art. We encourage guests to relax and make the hotel their holiday home. Our food, with an emphasis on fish, is largely locally produced, deliciously prepared and tastefully presented. Golf, tennis, cycle and canoe hire are available locally. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Trevalsa Court Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trevalsa Court Country Hotel
Trevalsa Court Country Mevagissey
Trevalsa Court Country House Hotel Mevagissey, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing