We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great dinner, nice room, service a bit random”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Trevalsa Court Country House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Mevagissey
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
273 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Great dinner, nice room, service a bit random”
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Stayed for one night on Bank Holiday Easter Monday. Very nicely appointed room, well appointed bathroom. All facilities very clean and well presented. Dinner in the restaurant was very good and excellent value for money. Lovely food, well prepared and well presented. Overall dinner was very good. Service on arrival, at dinner and at breakfast a bit hit and miss. The young male waiter was very good, good attention to detail and obviously very keen on doing a good job; the older man (owner?) based in the office was quite rude both on arrival on Monday and at check out on Tuesday (not great being treated as though you are an imposition on his time when all you want to do is check in or check out); and the young woman at dinner and breakfast made it quite apparent she had no real idea of what was going on and would rather be anywhere else. Would definitely return for a dinner, not so sure would stay agin though.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mr&MrsWilko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    79
    29
    11
    5
See reviews for
39
249
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2012

If you are reading these reviews then you have probably already visited the hotel website. That said then the first thing to mention is that the website is an accurate account of the real thing. What is advertised is what you get.

I echo the foregoing reviews in that the staff, service, cleanliness and quality of food all met or exceeded our expectations. We visited in April and stayed in room 9 for three nights. The weather was changeable but the log fire in the lounge was kept well stocked. The summer house in the garden enabled us to sit outside sheltered from the wind and the table and chairs on the patio area would be very inviting in warmer weather. The walk along the footpath to Mevagissey took us approx 15 minutes but there are a lot of steps at the village end (61 to be precise, I counted them).

I could have sat in the room for hours watching the Seagulls swoop past and the fishing boats come and go from the harbour just out of sight around the corner.

Would we return, an undoubted yes.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scruggs1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Ives, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2012

Unfortunately only able to spend one night would have stayed longer . Great views from the well appointed Bedrooms, First Class food and service all topped off with a warm welcome which continued until we left. The lovely couple that run the Hotel go out of their way to make you feel comfortable and at ease. A night cap by a roaring fire rounded off a lovely evening. Beds were a good size and comfortable Breakfast efficient cooked to order and delicious !!

Room Tip: Sea view is a must !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank avidCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2012

What a fabulous 2 night break, homely, warm, friendly ( without being intrusive ) Well appointed, & extremely comfortable clean rooms with well stocked tea tray, the little extras of a biscuit & chocolate were very acceptable. Breakfast was delicious & the Table d'hote menu in the evening was inspired & of a high standard. Owner & staff were efficient & very helpful. Would I stay at the, "Trevalsa Court" again, without a doubt.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MistygirlDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south devon
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2012

Just returned from a stay at Travalsa court, we booked for one night, but stayed for two.This Hotel excelled any I have been to in this country.
The decor, the lovely pictures which were hung on the walls. The bedrooms, were spotlessly clean, and beautifully furnished , with expensive fabrics.and comfortable bed.
I stayed in room 14, which had a door onto a patio ! lovely.

Out of interest I asked to see some other rooms, because I shall definitely stay again... room 11 upstairs with seaview " blew me away" and I can imagine for a special occasion , ?honeymoon, ? you would not be disappointed. .

The restaurant decor is amazing, as was the food. Breakfast , there is so much choice and well cooked.

The staff are so nice , and "mine host" not over powering , quietly efficient.

The gardens are well kept, with beautiful sea views.

Thank you for a great "break".....

Room Tip: Ask for "sea view room"..... , and If you want a single room... room 14 has own door to pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kezziedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2012

This is a gem of a hotel and I thoroughly recommend it, all the staff we friendly and helpful.

The location is stunning with easy access to the harbour area of Mevagissey, we walked the coast path from the hotel to the harbour in about 10 minutes (steep steps involved).

The hotel is tastefully decorated and well kept and during our stay very quiet.

We ate in the hotel restaurant which is a wood panelled room with a stunning sea view and the food was superb and nothing was too much trouble.

I wish we had been staying more than one night !

Next time we return to Mevagissey this hotel will be where we stay

Room Tip: All but two rooms have a sea view and rooms 10 & 11 are large suites, we stayed in 10 and it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkGUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 28, 2011

As an ex hotelier, publican and caterer for thirty years , I have often thought that I would make a good hotel inspector.You need to know what to expect and be objective in your judgement Our visit to this hotel was a success, the friendly greeting by an enthusiastic young lady followed by agreeable pleasantness from all we met(well it was xmas!) set the tone. Our room (9) was spacious with the most perfect view over the gardens to the sea..All the small details were in place and the room was immaculatly clean ,something increasingly rare these days. Being an amatuer artist I was impressed by the paintings on the walls and the understanding of them by Sue. I love smoked haddock and poached eggs for breakfast also the fresh seafood on the evening menus. The chef at this hotel is clearly talented with understanding of reduction, seasoning and presentation and we were very pleased with this most important part of our stay. Sometimes one can over enthuse but let it be said that we will definitely return and indeed make recommendations to others

Room Tip: Rooms 9/10 /11 All spacious and with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reginaldandjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mevagissey
0.6 mi away
Mevagissey Bay Hotel
Mevagissey Bay Hotel
#3 of 5 in Mevagissey
225 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
7.7 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
1,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,547 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Lugger Hotel
The Lugger Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portloe
892 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Llawnroc Hotel
The Llawnroc Hotel
#1 of 1 in Gorran Haven
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trevalsa Court Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trevalsa Court Country House Hotel

Property: Trevalsa Court Country House Hotel
Address: School Hill, Mevagissey PL26 6TH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mevagissey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Mevagissey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Trevalsa Court Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trevalsa Court Hotel stands on a cliff top with most rooms enjoying fabulous sea views. It has an eclectic mix of ancient oak beams, mullion windows and oak paneling with designer fabrics, leather sofas and modern art. We encourage guests to relax and make the hotel their holiday home. Our food, with an emphasis on fish, is largely locally produced, deliciously prepared and tastefully presented. Golf, tennis, cycle and canoe hire are available locally. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Trevalsa Court Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trevalsa Court Country Hotel
Trevalsa Court Country Mevagissey
Trevalsa Court Country House Hotel Mevagissey, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing