We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

The Fishermen's Chippy
Ranked #6 of 38 Restaurants in Mevagissey
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $9
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
403 reviews
266 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed May 10, 2014

Really good fish and chips with great portion and cooked freshly for nearly every customer.
It was a windy day so used the upstairs seating area which was a real boon even if no service etc just handy to get out of the cold.
Seems to be run by young lads but very friendly and try really hard to help.
Would definitely use again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank penfolds_bin_95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    247
    72
    14
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mevagissey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very good indeed.”
Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

Stopped in here as an afterthought, and was pleased I listened to my inner voice, you can't come to Meva and not have Cod n chips, can you?
I opted for a large portion and it certainly was, crispy on the outside, steamy inside, cooked while I waited (not too long). I'd much rather see it cooked from fresh. The chips were classic chippy chips, large, well formed and perfectly cooked.
All in a great random pic, I'll make sure it's on the list for next time, and there will be a next time :-)

Helpful?
1 Thank KernowExile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great fish & Chips”
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Im always looking for good food and the Fisherman's Chippy i had last night was cooked fresh and only took 4 mins in the fryer. Will be back for more.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pebblehouse C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heathfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“cod bites are better than any food on earth”
Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

................Cod bites cod bites cod bites are simply the best thing in the world and the staff are so intested of what you think and frendly

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank milionaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mevagissey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Superb!”
Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

Speaking as locals we can honestly say that the cod and chips we had last evening were the best we have ever had in Mevagissey. Huge portions of beautifully cooked, very fresh, juicy cod in crispy batter (even after taking them home in wrapping paper), very good chips (far too many for us), and with virtually no grease. Chippies in Meva have had their ups and downs over the years but this is currently by far the best. Keep it up!

Helpful?
1 Thank Cornishdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fishermen's Chippy also viewed

 
Mevagissey, Cornwall
 

Been to The Fishermen's Chippy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing