We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly B&B” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of St Meva B&B

St Meva B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mevagissey
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
St Meva B&B
Ranked #15 of 35 Mevagissey B&B and Inns
Rushden, United Kingdom
1 review
“Friendly B&B”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2011

My wife and I stayed one night at St Meva. The room was compact, with a standard sized double bed and Freeview TV. The en-suite bathroom was very small, but the shower cubicle itself was standard sized; amusingly there wasn't enough space to lean over the washbasin to wash your teeth unless the door into the bedroom was open!

Jane was very friendly and helpful, and offered a good quality breakfast in the morning. Because mobile Internet coverage was a bit slow in the area, offering access to WiFi broadband would have been great. Also, as we were on the ground floor, some net curtains over the window would have been nice for a bit more privacy.

Those who are visiting should bear in mind that the roads around Mevagissey are very narrow, and the roads around the B&B are no exception.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GregEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
23
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2011

I stayed here as part of a week's walking trip and it was by far the best B&B. The room was nicely furnished and equipped, and although not en-suite there was a lovely bathroom opposite for my sole use. Everything was spotless. Breakfast was a relaxed and friendly affair with plenty of choice and quality ingredients all cooked to order. The hospitality was great and nothing was too much trouble. (The previous week I stayed at a 5* hotel in a major UK city, and the room and service was not a patch on the St Meva - and at many times the cost...). Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SLG29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South West
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2011

We stayed here in June 2011 for three nights and wished we could have stayed longer and longer .........Excellent hosts, nothing too much trouble and we were made to feel part of the family. Outstanding breakfast with a vast selection of fresh fruits, yogurts, cereals, continental or full English cooked breakfast. Would recommend to all our friends and acquaintances.
Will be returning soon!
Aileen

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthWestOtty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2011

We arrived slightly stressed after a very long journey and were greeted by Jane who was very friendly and welcoming. We were shown straight to our room which was bright and very clean. Jane gave us a glass of wine to help us unwind, and lots of useful advice about where to eat in the town.
We thoroughly enjoyed our breakfast each morning with a lovely view of open fields towards the Lost Gardens of Heligen and Jane would give us lots of helpful advice and tips about the places we intended to visit.
St Meva is in a lovely location, the rooms are excellent value for money and Jane and Keith are very considerate hosts and we would highly recommend St Meva's.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim0606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2011

We arrived late on a Friday night having travelled after work. We were warmly welcomed and shown our room with en suite facilities which was beautifully clean. The owner enquired if we had eaten and as we had not kindly rang ahead to arrange for one of the pub / restaurant not to let the chef go!!
Breakfast could be taken at a time to suit yourself and was freshly prepared from local produce.
St Meva is ideally situated for many famous attractions with the added bonus of being within walking distance of the harbour and the many pubs and restaurants (beware steep climb!). The owners are more than happy to share their local knowledge and are keen for you to have a good break.
We had a most enjoyable stay and will definitely return!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elusana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2011

I stayed for a couple of days at the end of the summer. Jane and Keith, the owners, couldn't have made me more welcome. Nothing was too much trouble and their local knowledge is fantastic. A nicely furnished room, quiet and comfortable and quite possibly the best English breakfast I've ever eaten too! Planning a return trip this year and taking friends with me this time. If you're looking to stay in Mevagissey you'd be mad not to stay here. First class.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlieNew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2010

I was trawling and deleting emails and realised I'd forgotten to leave a review of this great place - we actually stayed at St Meva for 4 nights in April 2009 but that date is not an option on the Tripadvsor site now. We spent a few days in Cornwall to visit Heligon, the Eden Project etc etc without a car. St Meva is just great - Jane's friendliness and helpfulness is amazing. Without being at all pushy, she helped us with choices and ideas, made suggestions, AND FERRIED US AROUND WHEN BUSES WERE TOO AWKWARD!!!. We had a small but perfectly formed double room with a decent view, great breakfasts, and all in a peaceful spot away from the bustle - for nearly no money at all. A real gem!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sago48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mevagissey
0.4 mi away
Mevagissey Bay Hotel
Mevagissey Bay Hotel
#2 of 5 in Mevagissey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tremarne Hotel
Tremarne Hotel
#1 of 5 in Mevagissey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Pier House Hotel
The Pier House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlestown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tregorran Guest House
Tregorran Guest House
#2 of 35 in Mevagissey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Old Parsonage Mevagissey Bed and Breakfast
0.4 mi away
Wild Air Guest House
Wild Air Guest House
#5 of 35 in Mevagissey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Meva B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Meva B&B

Property: St Meva B&B
Address: St. Meva Beach Road, Mevagissey PL26 6TE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mevagissey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Mevagissey
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
St Meva B&B Mevagissey, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing