We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home.”
Review of The Mandalay

The Mandalay
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Mandalay
Ranked #19 of 34 Mevagissey B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We found the Mandalay by chance on a spur of the moment short break, so glad we did. Joe and Jill were so welcoming and made us feel at home straight away. The room was very comfortable. Plenty of choice for breakfast, we opted for the full english, wow it was lovely. The onsite parking is a real bonus. Great value for the money. Really enjoyed our stay, will definitely stay there again. Paul & Carol, Chesterfield Derbyshire (me duck).

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank car0lpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (150)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 150 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2012

Really enjoyed our third stay at Mandalay with Joe, Jill and the family who are great hosts. Breakfast was sumptuous as we have come to expect, room was nice as usual and the on site car parking remains excellent. Joe's "lost garden of Mandalay" improves year-on-year. Joe and Jill are a pretty good comedy act too! Can't wait to get back - a magic place to stay.
Peter & Hilary, Melbourne, Australia

Room Tip: The front room is our favourite with its view over the front garden, but all rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

A very warm welcome at Mandalay! Jill and Joe are the best! The "full English breakfast" is really great! And when I say great, I also mean great! The barbecues are legendary! Here you are treated not as a guest but as a friend! We will book again in Mandalay, when we returned to England on holiday! Keep it up! Greetings from Alex, Kerstin & The Boss (Lisa-Marie)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alexander B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Just back from our second stay at Mandalay. Having had an enjoyable first stay at Mandalay a few years ago, we decided to return this year. Mandalay is a great place to stay. Jill and Joe are really friendly, and like our first stay we recieved a very warm welcome. Our family room (as well as the whole hotel) was really clean and comfortable and spacious. You have a great choice at breakfast, which was always lovely! Nothing seems too much trouble at this hotel. It is situated just a few minutes walk away from the lovely harbour which has lots of great pubs/restaurants and shops to explore. Parking is included at the hotel which is a great bonus. Jill and Joe are happy to recommend walks and things to do in the area. This hotel is also great value for money and definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

This is a very friendly place, the owners Jill & Joe make you feel very welcome.The full English breakfast is huge with plenty of toast and tea or coffee. The rooms are comfortable.There is a lovely garden in which to sit and admire the view. An added bonus is the large car park which means you can walk into the village only 5 minutes away and have a drink in one of the many pubs or restaurants. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorcesterWen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Just got back from what I'd term as "home from home" in the Mandalay in Mevagissey.This is not the first time I have been to Meva and Cornwall I have been several times and just love the area this is the best I have ever been to and say that sincerly I felt I had found long lost friends in Joe,Jill,and little Joe { who makes the best barbeque sauce I've ever tasted by the way!!} I would not hesitate to recommend the Mandalay to people are planning a holiday in Cornwall an want a memorable stay and encounter people that are enjoying their stay also.I would like to mention that I originally planned to stay for 7 days and ended staying for 12 !!!! and fair play Joe your breakfasts were belly busters!! This was the first time I'd stayed at The Mandalay it definetly wont be the last.

Room Tip: I cannot comment on the larger rooms the room that was allotted to me was on a single basis and I fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Just returned from our second stay at the Mandalay B&B. Once again, we had a lovely stay there and had nothing to fault at all. Upon arrival we were greeted by Joe who promptly showed us to our family room and explained all the features. We were then given a complimentary tea tray which went down a treat after our long journey down. Our room was ample in size including our travel cot as well as being clean, comfy bed and washing facilities. Breakfast was as good as the first time round being a good choice all freshly cooked and enough to see you through to Dinner! Jill & Joe also catered well for our toddler which was above and beyond our expectations! Jill and Joe run their B&B with a nice relaxed open family friendly attitude where nothing is too much trouble whatever time of day or night you ask them. It's a good location and base for touring around west Cornwall too. We will definitely return again for visit number 3. Thanks Jill & Joe again for a very pleasant and relaxing stay!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mevagissey hotels
0.5 mi away
Mevagissey Bay Hotel
Mevagissey Bay Hotel
#3 of 5 in Mevagissey
260 reviews
0.1 mi away
Trevalsa Court Country House Hotel
2.5 mi away
Lower Barns Boutique B&B
Lower Barns Boutique B&B
#1 of 2 in Saint Ewe
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Tubbs Mill House
Tubbs Mill House
#1 of 3 in Caerhays
28 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Rising Sun Inn
The Rising Sun Inn
#2 of 2 in Portmellon
123 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tregorran Guest House
Tregorran Guest House
#5 of 34 in Mevagissey
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mandalay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mandalay

Address: School Hill, Mevagissey PL26 6TQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mevagissey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Mevagissey
Price Range: $26 - $30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run B&B , same owners for 21yrs.Car parking for all of our guests.Full English breakfast.Lovely front garden to sit in.Ensuite rooms.Short walk to village and harbour. Free Wi Fi.Bus Service just outside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Mandalay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mandalay Mevagissey, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing