We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“how to be made welcome”
Review of The Mandalay

The Mandalay
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Mandalay
Ranked #16 of 34 Mevagissey B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 24, 2011

upon arrival at the mandalay i recevied the best welcome i have ever recieved as i was on my own a lot of places make you feel uneasy but my stay at the mandalay was differant good service good room very clean very good breakfast right from the booking of my holiday in january i recieved the instructions on how to find them no one else has never done this car parking was very good plenty of space 150/100 % value i shall return again next year thankyou from barry from shropshire

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank baz63-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (149)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 149 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2011

We have recently returned from a holiday in Cornwell, where we stayed at the Mandalay in Mevagissey. There is plenty of parking spaces and we were welcomed by our host and show to our room, which was at the front and was well maintained and comfortable, it also had excellent views across the valley. We were told to treat it like our own home and both Jill and Joe the hosts could not do enough to make sure that our stay went well. The breakfasts were excellent and there was plenty to chose from and the portions were large. The hotel is situated well as It was a 5 minute walk into Mevagissey and is within easy reach of places of interest to visit. We will definitely be returning to the Mandalay and will certainly recommende d this hotel to anyone wishing to visit Mevagissey, due to the excellent service,value for money and location.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ValNorthamptonshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2011

My wife and I travel to Cornwall twice a year and always stay in The Mandalay. Joe and Jill are the perfect hosts and are always most welcoming. Their hotel is ideal for us located as it is in a very quiet spot just 100 metres from the harbour, the perfect distance for a gentle downhill walk after breakfast to visit the most beautiful Cornish harbour of the lot. The hotel is spotlessly maintained and the rooms comfortable with lovely views of the valley and with plenty of hot water. The valley facing sun room by the entrance is just perfect with the afternoon sun, the huge full width window slid open, comfortable lounge seating and a cup of tea; perfect. Breakfast is always a sizeable feast every morning with a Full English Breakfast as an option. Personally I always have the kippers. My son’s full English got larger and larger during our four night stay as Joe battled to find our son’s terminal capacity! The Mandalay is also a perfect staging post for visiting local amenities with Fowey, St Austell, the Eden Project and the Bodmin and Wenford railway within easy reach. Even Padstow is only 40 minutes away. We love visiting the Mandalay and would recommend it if you like peace and quiet and a friendly welcome.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul186222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

Just returned home after a very relaxing week in the MANDALAY in MEVAGISSEY Cornwall. The welcome from the hosts on arrival was excellent. We were shown to our rooms which were very well appointed and cleaned each day (my bath was a nice big one) and there was always plenty of hot water. Nothing was too much trouble for the hosts who were always on hand with helpful sightseeing tips. Breakfast was a feast every morning with a Full English Breakfast with lots of nice hot and delicious tea or coffee. There is plenty of parking and also a bus stop outside. It is a 5 minute walk down the hill into Mevagissey and 8 minutes coming back up!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CameronEastSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2011

We have recently returned from a trip to Cornwall, where we stayed at the Mandalay, Bed and Breakfast, on School Hill in Mevagissey. The Hotel, is well maintained, and has good size car parking spaces at the front. It is easy to find, well sign posted, and only a 5 minute walk from Mevagissey Harbour.

On arrival, we were welcomed by our hosts, and given our keys. We were told to come and go as we pleased.

All the bedrooms are on the first floor, accessed by an easy staircase. Our room was at the front, well appointed, very comfortable, and with a beautiful view across the valley.

The breakfasts were excellent, although we did have to ask for smaller portions.

The garden, conservatory lounge, and outside seating area is also very well maintained.

Our hosts, Joe and Jill could not do enough to help.

We will certainly be returning to the Mandalay, and would well recommend the Hotel to anybody wishing to visit Mevagissey.

Room Tip: All the rooms appeared to be excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank rondacoaches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

The views were great, and what can i say about the breakfasts but other than HUGE and the toast and tea just kept coming, although the room was on the small side, it was fine for our needs as we did'nt spend much time in it anyway. They are lovely people and very friendly.
The parking is more then adequate had more than enough room for my X5.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sharon n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2011

Although the Mandalay looks good, we found the room we were given so small and cramped that we were speechless--the shower and the toilet were stuck into the room and were so tiny and so shabby that we ended up using the washrooms in the hallway. The springs in the bed poked through and I had to "search" for a place to lie where they weren't jabbing into my ribs The shower stopped working entirely halfway through my shower; shivering with soap in my eyes, what to do! The breakfast might have been okay but I made the error of ordering the scrambled eggs--it had such a strange, chemical flavour that I had to spit out the first bite. The first time I've ever done such a thing! Find another place to stay in Mevagissey; there must be a better choice out there.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lee3nan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
josephCornwall, Owner at The Mandalay, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2011

Please look at the rest of the reviews as the saying goes "THERE IS ALWAYS ONE".
As these guests did not have the common courtesy to inform us face to face that they had issues how could we get a chance to rectify anything or issue a full refund for THE WHOLE ONE NIGHT THAT THEY STAYED.
Many other happy guests from different countries and the UK have stayed in the same room [for longer periods] since without complaints abouts the bed, rooms or breakfast !!.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mevagissey hotels
0.6 mi away
Tremarne Hotel
Tremarne Hotel
#1 of 5 in Mevagissey
468 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mevagissey Bay Hotel
Mevagissey Bay Hotel
#3 of 5 in Mevagissey
244 reviews
0.1 mi away
Trevalsa Court Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Buckingham House
Buckingham House
#10 of 34 in Mevagissey
82 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bacchus, Rooms with a View
Bacchus, Rooms with a View
#14 of 34 in Mevagissey
254 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Little Cornish B&B
The Little Cornish B&B
#3 of 34 in Mevagissey
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mandalay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mandalay

Address: School Hill, Mevagissey PL26 6TQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mevagissey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Mevagissey
Price Range: $85 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run B&B , same owners for 21yrs.Car parking for all of our guests.Full English breakfast.Lovely front garden to sit in.Ensuite rooms.Short walk to village and harbour. Free Wi Fi.Bus Service just outside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Mandalay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mandalay Mevagissey, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing