We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (86)
Filter reviews
86 results
Traveler rating
25
29
12
6
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
25
29
12
6
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfeel very welcomesunday lunchevening mealnight stayfull english breakfastsuzycornwall
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 86 reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2017

Stayed overnight in a double room. Dust everywhere, empty soft drink bottle under the bed, along with various other bits of rubbish.
Pillows absolutely rank, stained and made of cheap foam.
Bathroom terrible, toilet leaking where it joins the floor, shower door hanging off, no temperature adjustment on the shower, mould behind the shower cubicle and on the bathroom ceiling. A shower rail had been removed from the wall, with no attempt to fill the screw holes or paint where it had been. Bathmat so thin you could see through it. Only one towel per person per room.
Whoever does the housekeeping obviously has no pride and whoever is responsible for maintenance must go round blinkered.
On top of all that the TV pixelated on all channels

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank patnpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2017

This was a terrible disappointment. A badly furnished, badly decorated, and totally unloved property. The bathroom was horrible, with holes in the wall where the towel rail should have been, a very shabby bathmat, and no shelves in the shower to put anything. Also the mastic around the shower needed sorting. The furnishings were old and in a poor condition. The old bed frame was a danger to your legs we both knocked ourselves on the corners. The 'light breakfast' was very meager, not the continental type we expected. Value for money - you must be joking. Previous reviews must have been when the property had a previous owner. This Hotel was a disgrace.

Room Tip: Do not bother
  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
7  Thank Christina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2017 via mobile

I stayed here for one night by myself as I was on a 2 day first aid course... good location (quiet little village) very friendly, nice spacious room with en suite and television, great food and welcoming atmosphere :) would 100% recommend to others and would definitely stay again!

Stayed: May 2017, traveled solo
1  Thank Corrie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2017

Lovely quaint hotel. Staff very friendly; they recommended some nearby attractions we hadn't considered! Excellent meal ... much better than standard pub fare. No problems with car parking and wi-fi. Great value all round. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lulubarro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2017

Travelled to the area to visit the Eden Project in the festive week. We received a warm welcome at the cosy bar after a long drive in the horrible traffic and were shown to our room.
It was a lovely and spacious family room with a large bed and bunk beds for the kids which they loved. There was an extra lobby type room connecting to the huge bathroom. There was a bit of a mould problem round the bath and a few cobwebs behind the telly but everywhere was clean enough for us and we were just glad of the space, especially with two small kids.
It got pretty cold at night, maybe it was due to our room being on the corner of the building having two outside walls? The heating seemed to be working but I was freezing! Despite this and a couple of strange noises in the night we slept quite well in our comfy warm beds.
We had feather bedding - I'm not sure if all the rooms have this but it may be worth checking if they have the other type beforehand if you are an allergy sufferer.
As other reviewers have commented, we did notice an unpleasant chip fat smell in the rear hall and dining area. This was my main issue.
The breakfast was OK and reasonably priced. Free WiFi in room but I had to move near the door find the best signal.
There were a few issues but the size of the room and the character of the place did help make up for these. It was nice to stay somewhere a bit different. Could easily have booked a chain hotel like we often do.

  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews