We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent country pub with rooms” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of White Hart Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
White Hart Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Menheniot
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An excellent country pub with rooms”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

This is a real country pub - good beer, good food, great value for money and best of all REALLY nice people running it.
It is an old-fashioned hostelry with bags of charm and genuine features, from the genuine ceiling beams to the slate bar floor.
In short this place is superb. Don't let the narrow lanes put you off or you will miss a real gem!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malcc74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    27
    12
    5
    10
See reviews for
21
17
6
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
220 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

It's a little off the beaten track, but it's well worth looking out for if you are in need of a place to stop along the A38 between Plymouth and Liskeard.

A few minutes up the road from Liskeard, this sizeable country pub has two large bars, great staff and a really nice vibe about it. The locals are a welcoming bunch as well.

The rooms are well looked after and the bed was as comfortable as any I've slept in recently.

Recommended!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JLloydLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beccles, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

My Husband and i were travelling to Ashton, Cornwall for our Autumn Break and we stayed overnight at The White Hart, Menhenniot, Liskeard. The Hotel was Clean and comfortable. Good food (Dinner & Breakfast) in Lounge Bar. Friendly locals in Public Bar. It was a Friday evening and both bars were busy. Would have been better if they had more staff waiting tables.I think there were only 3 staff running the 2 bars, taking food orders and serving it. They were busy & we were not offered Desserts which was disappointing. Ignored us after we were served our Main Course. Breakfast Service on Saturday 7th Sep. was excellent. We visited Looe, Polperro & Fowey on the Friday & Saturday. Very enjoyable!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 75Angie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighton Buzzard, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

I stay here every eight weeks on business and have been doing so for the past six years. The staff are very friendly and the management superb. They will accomodate your every need and make you feel very welcome. The food is fantastic and good value for money, they will also cook meals that are not always on the menu (within reason). They have two bar areas one which is more for guests and for the restaurant and the other the public bar. When i stay down i often go into the public bar and the local customers always make you feel welcome. I would throughly recommend the White Hart as other local hotels do not offer evening dining.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upton upon Severn, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

Friendly staff and excellent (if not adventurous) food in this pub makes it a good value for money alternative to the usual B & B's. Set in central Cornwall it makes a good base to be able to reach most towns in an hour.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stayed in this hotel two nights. It's very clean and the service is good. The staff are very friendly. However it is essentially a pub and as such the food is pub food and the bedrooms are over it and the sound from the bars does not subside until closing time.

That said I enjoyed my stay here and would recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Howard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

My husband,3 kids and I stayed here for a mid-week break and thought the hotel was excellent! The room was amazing and the kids had a seperate room off the main bedroom which was great. The family pub was very welcoming and the food was superb. Would definantly recommend it and will be back next year!

Room Tip: Just mention what you require to the staff and they will accomodate you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Menheniot
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Liskeard Hotel
2.7 mi away
Pencubitt House
Pencubitt House
#1 of 5 in Liskeard
5.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sportsmans Arms
Sportsmans Arms
#1 of 2 in Menheniot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Snooty Fox
The Snooty Fox
#1 of 1 in Morval
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
11.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Fowey Valley
BEST WESTERN Fowey Valley
#1 of 3 in Lostwithiel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
15.1 mi away
Tredethy House
Tredethy House
#1 of 1 in Tredethy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Hart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Hart Hotel

Property: White Hart Hotel
Address: Menheniot, Menheniot, Liskeard PL14 3QZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Liskeard > Menheniot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Menheniot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — White Hart Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your White Hart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing