We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable stay”
Review of Sportsmans Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sportsmans Arms
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Menheniot
Certificate of Excellence
Belper
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay”
Reviewed August 18, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights in August whilst attending a family wedding,it is easily reached from the main road with both Liskeard and Looe within easy driving range . We were very warmly welcomed by the hosts and all the staff and customers we came into contact with were very friendly . The rooms were very clean and comfortable with excellent en suite facilities and the breakfast was very tasty and cooked to order with the eggs direct from their own hens,the bar had a good range of beers . I see that some reviewers made negative comments about the location and it is true there is not much within walking distance but that no way impacted on our stay and it is up to you to research properly before booking . All in all I would thoroughly recommend this as good place to stay

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    14
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
34
17
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2014

Stayed here last year while visiting friends. Room was beautiful and had best nights sleep in sometime. Staff were helpful and wonderful breakfast.will visit again very soon. Free wifi was good so could use I pad while there.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 11, 2014

I regularly stayed at the Sportmans Arms when staying in the area, the room is superb and the staff so kind and helpful and nothing it too much trouble. I would recommend it to anyone staying in the area. le

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JanetClements
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2014

Picked this partly due to the location (we visited Adrenaline Quarry) but swung by the positive reviews, and they were right! Wonderful, friendly, attentive hosts. Nice comfy bedrooms and a yummy breakfast :-) I would definitely recommend it to anyone staying in the area!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 10, 2014

The staff were very friendly and helpful
Rooms goodm tidy and beds were comfortable
Loved the full english breakfast
Free wifi is always a bonus
Cant fault it, especially since I was there for a party over the road.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Pan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 5, 2014

We stayed for one night and the accommodation was very good, it is close to the railway but that did not affect our stay. Chris and Rob were very friendly and helpful, and keep a good selection of beers and malts :). Our experience of The Hay Loft Restaurant was not very positive and we were made to feel very unwelcome, unfortunately because The Sportsman doesn't provide food this meant a trip into Liskeard which after a long journey was not something we enjoyed. Overall though no complaints about The Sportsman itself and would recommend it wholeheartedly.

Room Tip: Room 2 very light and clean with comfy bed :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 303Richard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHRISTINE S, Owner at Sportsmans Arms, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review - it's a shame that your experience at The Hayloft maybe influenced the score you gave us! We do very clearly tell people that we do not offer evening meals, we are simply a traditional pub with B&B ;-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Stayed here for one night on our way to the Lizard in Cornwall. Excellent accommodation and good breakfast and all spotlessly clean. Landlady very nice. Very good restaurant called 'The Hay Loft' a few hundred yards away. Although the railway line is very close to the accommodation, it did not keep us awake - in fact we hardly noticed it.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 5. Do not know what the other rooms were like
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ros M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Menheniot
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Liskeard Hotel
1.1 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#2 of 2 in Menheniot
3.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
3.2 mi away
Pencubitt House
Pencubitt House
#1 of 5 in Liskeard
5.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#2 of 2 in Polperro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Snooty Fox
The Snooty Fox
#1 of 1 in Morval
4.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
6.5 mi away
St Mellion International Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sportsmans Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sportsmans Arms

Property: Sportsmans Arms
Address: Lower Clicker Road | Menheniot, Liskeard, Menheniot, Liskeard PL14 3PJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Liskeard > Menheniot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Menheniot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sportsmans Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently situated for exploring Cornwall and only 300yds off the A38, a traditional pub with large car-park offering accommodation with fresh clean comfortable en-suite rooms priced on a 'room-only' basis. Breakfast can be booked on arrival at either £3.50 For a Light Breakfast or £6.50 For Full English. Rooms all have flat-screen TV/DVD and a hairdryer and the well-stocked main bar has excellent ales plus Sky Sports/BT Sport. There is a large comfortable lounge solely for guests' use. An Italian/English restaurant is at the end of the road, Looe's variety of restaurants are only 5 miles away and the Eden project is approx 30 minutes drive. CYCLISTS - bikes can be stored free of charge in a dry garage. Note: The Sportsmans Arms does not offer an evening meal service. Free Wi-Fi provided although the signal for this can be patchy in some rooms but is good in the bar. Children over the age of 12 years are welcome - we do not accommodate babies and young children (sorry). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sportsmans Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing