We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the most enjoyable holidays I've ever had”
Review of Seavista

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Seavista
Ranked #1 of 7 Mawgan Porth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of the most enjoyable holidays I've ever had”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

As a child and teenager, I used to go to Cornwall on family holidays (at the now defunct Waterbeach Hotel). It felt exciting, but also friendly and peaceful. Working on undergraduate and postgraduate qualifications has meant that my fiancée and I haven't been able to take many holidays during the nine years we've been together, so there was a weight of expectation on our trip to Cornwall that it should be very special. Thanks to the wonderful family that run Seavista, it exceeded our expectations in every sense.

We were made to feel really welcome even before we arrived, with Kate and Carol both providing lots of advice about where to eat and what to do in the local area. On arrival, we were greeted by Carol with lemon drizzle cake and coffee while we discussed our plans. This set the tone for the whole holiday, as the family that run the B&B were genuinely friendly and helpful throughout. Not only did this help us save time by knowing precisely where to go for bodyboards, wetsuits and places to eat, but it also helped to make us feel at home and relaxed (something we were badly in need of after a stressful few years).

The room we stayed in had a view of the beach and sea that was beautiful, with a good-sized balcony at which we could relax with a coffee. The bed was very comfortable and the decor of the room had a modern, serene seaside feel, with pale blue walls and white bedding. The bathroom was stunning, with a walk in shower. The room was in impeccable condition when we arrived and kept that way each day.

Special mention should be given to the breakfasts, which were the best I've had anywhere. A filling full English breakfast, beautifully cooked, was complemented by as much coffee and toast as we wanted. They allowed me to replace items that I'm not keen on with those I prefer with zero fuss or complaint. The breakfast room itself is bright and cheerful, with a view of the sea that was very atmospheric.

There are lots of things to see and do in the local area, but our focus was on getting outdoors as much as possible. To this effect, we hired bodyboards and wetsuits from a shop just down the road in Mawgan Porth on the first day and spent a glorious afternoon in the sea and sunshine (the beach is less than ten minutes away from Seavista on foot). I had enjoyed bodyboarding as a child and found it no less exhilarating as an adult. It was reassuring to know that the beach was lifeguarded throughout the season. That evening, we went to The Park, a restaurant recommended on the grounds of quality and price, which was superb (as were all their recommendations).

The rest of the holiday consisted of coastal walks, a day trip to Boscastle and its amazing Museum of Witchcraft and further bodyboarding. As the waves were quite strong, we booked a bodyboarding lesson with Rob Barber's Surf School in New Quay (recommended by Kate when my partner and I discussed the idea with her at breakfast). The bodyboarding lesson was really helpful and lots of fun. For those interested in surfing, King Surf in Mawgan Porth was also recommended. We had planned lots of additional day trips in the local area, but were lucky enough to have good weather, which meant we had plenty to keep us busy within walking distance of the B&B.

Overall, I couldn't have been happier with Seavista. It is a very special place that we feel lucky to have found (on the basis of the phenomenal TripAdvisor reviews). We were very sad to leave and hope that we will be able to return again next year. If you are looking for a relaxing, fun holiday in Cornwall then give Seavista a try- you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seavista, Manager at Seavista, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Wow! Thank you so much for your review! It was so lovely to have you both here! I am really pleased you enjoyed the bodyboarding! Next time we will persuade you to give surfing a go! ;-)
We really hope to see you again next year!
Love Kate
xxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    383
    30
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
68
254
18
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Just spent 2 nights at Seavista where we received a very warm welcome from Kate and her family. Seavista is a very attractive looking house and has wonderful views of the fantastic beach and valley.
Our room was decorated beautifully with lots of attention to detail including a really nice pale blue wallpaper with a seaside theme. The bed was also very comfy with crisp white bed linen and lovely blue and white cushions. The bathroom was modern and had a decent sized shower area and was spotlessly clean.
Seavista has a comfortable communal lounge area for guests with great views and a fridge where you can keep your own wine and beer. There is also an 'honesty' bar where you can purchase drinks.The breakfasts were excellent and included high quality local produce cooked to perfection by Kate.
Kate and her family could not have been nicer and the location and standard of accomodation make it a great place to stay. Thanks also to Kate's mum Carol for recommending some great places in the area for us to eat. We will definitely be returning, thank you for a lovely stay!
Karen and David

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karen r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seavista, Manager at Seavista, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Hi Karen and David, thank you so much for your lovely review, we loved having you here and are really pleased you enjoyed our recommendations for food! The Park is one of our favourite places to eat!!

Love Kate
xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
banbury oxfordshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Just returned from an excellent holiday in Cornwall. After taking advantage of the good weather forcast & no accommodation booked we feel very fortunate to have found " SeaVista" in Mawgan Porth. A most attractive, welcoming B & B .
We were greeted at the door by Kate, who kindly showed us the room available. It was beautiful - recently refurbished and spotlessly clean. The views were amazing looking over both countryside and the sea. ( room 7).
We booked for 1 night --------------- we stayed for 7 ! !
Amongst all the home comforts , we always looked forward to breakfast - served in a charming "shabby chic" style room. Again with fantastic views over countryside and beach. Breakfasts were delicious, Kates cooking was first class.
Their little boy Barney was delightful, he came in to see us most mornings after breakfast to show us his trucks and tractors.
Kate, Ozzie & Kates mum Carol are brilliant hosts and do a wonderful job. Seven days of being spoilt was a real treat . Thank You.
Hope you have a" busy " 2013 ---- you deserve it.
Bob & Pat Oxfordshire

Room Tip: room 7 fantastic views but all rooms lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank patricia w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seavista, Manager at Seavista, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Hi Bob and Pat! Thank you so much for your lovely review! We feel very lucky that you stumbled upon us also! It was so lovely having you stay! Barney loved popping out in the morning to show you his tractors! We really hope to see you both again

Love Kate
xxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights in Sept 2012 and we were really impressed with this place.

It was clean, beautifully decorated and served amazing breakfasts (try the smoothies!) Kate and Ozzie were lovely owners too - a really nice stay!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ELLE2299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seavista, Manager at Seavista, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Thank you so much for your lovely review, we loved having you here to stay and hope to see you again soon
Love Kate
x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

A big thank you once again to Kate, Ozzy and family for helping make our 5 day break at the end of August such a great experience !
Our room was immaculate and the bathroom was five star .... as were the full English breakfasts !:)The living room was relaxing with great leather seat/sofas and the views of the bay were fantastic . I didn't book this deal til very late in the day but can honestly say that i wouldn't have found a more suitable place had i booked a year ago..
Once again, sorry guys for leaving our delicious leftover curry in your fridge ! :)

Mark & Gosia . x

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seavista, Manager at Seavista, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Hi guys! Thank you so much for your lovely review! We loved having you both to stay! Next time there will be three of you! How exciting! ;-)
Love Kate
xxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melksham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

My husband and i spent a 4 night stay at Seavista.What a fantastic place to stay,first class accommodation with exceptional views accross the bay of Morgan Porth.
On arrival we were given a very warm welcome from Kate,who made us pot of tea and a lovely slice of lemon drizzle cake which went down very well after a long journey.
Our room was furnished and decorated to a very high standard and spotlessly clean.
The breakfast menu was vast with lots of locally sourced produce. Personally i would recommend a breakfast smoothie,delicious.Will definitely be recommending Seavista to friends.
Thankyou to Kate,Ozzie,Carol,Alex,Barney and not forgetting Mojo(the dog) for being wonderful hosts. See you all again soon.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seavista, Manager at Seavista, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Hi Karen! Thank you so much for your lovely review! We loved having you here to stay and really look forward to seeing you and Dave soon!
Love Kate
x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 22, 2012

I had a lovely stay with Seavista. The room was clean and smart. The views were spectacular and the hosts, Kate and Ozzie, were very welcoming. The breakfasts were delicious and contained loads of local produce. Definitely worth recommending and I would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seavista, Manager at Seavista, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Thank you for you lovely review, we are really pleased you had a good time, and hope to welcome you here again in the future.

Love Kate
x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mawgan Porth
0.5 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
1,178 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Scarlet Hotel
The Scarlet Hotel
#1 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
1,550 reviews
4.8 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
21.7 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 23 in Falmouth
175 reviews
13.5 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seavista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seavista

Property: Seavista
Address: Mawgan Porth TR8 4AL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mawgan Porth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Mawgan Porth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Seavista 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seavista is a family run, luxury Bed and Breakfast. It stands on the hillside of Mawgan Porth with breathtaking sea views and across the beautiful valley of St Mawgan. All seven of our rooms are individually designed with tasteful decor throughout. Each room is fitted with a luxury bathroom suite including a rain fall shower in most of our rooms. We have a breakfast terrace where you can start your morning the right way with our renowned Cornish breakfast, spend your afternoons in our lounge enjoying the view and finish your day on the patio with a drink from our honesty bar watching the sunset over the ocean. Close to many restaurants, including Jamie Oliver's Fifteen just a few miles away at Watergate Bay and Rick Stein's famous seafood restaurant in Padstow which is approximately 8 miles away. With Newquay Airport only a few minutes away, we are ideally placed to explore all that Cornwall has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Seavista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seavista Mawgan Porth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing