We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful guest house in a stunning location !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Blue Bay Guest House & Lodge
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Mawgan Porth
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Just returned from yet another superb stay in our favorite place in cornwall. As always the wonderful hospitality shown by Pippa and James was second to none ,they really do everything they possibly can to make your stay perfect !
As always the food was delicious, the lovely rooms were spotlessly clean and the views from the guest house are simply stunning.
I really cannot recommend Blue Bay highly enough and we can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marie1973_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (103)
There are newer reviews for Blue Bay Guest House & Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 103 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stayed at Blue Bay for our 20th wedding aniversay. This place is a gem! Superb views, lovely friendly people, amazing customer service, nothing was too much trouble. James and Pippa made our holiday so special. The rooms are very clean with a beachy feel to them. James's food is so delicious we ate there every night of our stay. The breakfasts are out of this world... Blue Bay is so relaxing. What a wonderful find.

Room Tip: The crab salad is delicoius....
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jen p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Another great few days at the Blue Bay. Pippa, James & crew always make us very welcome and look after us. The property is perfectly situated for exploring Cornwall with a stunning view across the fabulous beach of Mawgan Porth (best on the north Cornish coast). Exceptionally clean and spacious rooms with all B&B mod cons - very comfy and value for money. Delicious home cooking and hearty portions for evening meals with a breakfast rivalled by none (no need for lunch)! We look forward to our next stay, thank you, again.

Room Tip: Personal choice - we've tried them all.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bryan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Booked Beacons self catering lodge on recommendation from a good friend in the area attempting to do us a favour by helping to organise accomodation for us over 4 nights and pointed out that owners were advertising four nights for price of three. Rang owner Pippa and in fairness she gave us a reasonable discount (£5 off per night for the three nights and dogs for free).

Initially when we arrived Sat evening, place clean and spacious (with slightly dated decor) but we were very pleased, however experienced tepid shower on first morning (sun), second morning (mon) even colder! Had briefly spoken to cleaners who said it had been previously reported and supposedly fixed. Rang Pippa again on the Monday morning who said husband would come and investigate that day. Nil further communication. Tues morning shower still cold but hot water from bath so reported shower again (as only ever use showers to wash) and told delay in plumber due to Bank Holiday but would be fixed. Asked for further reduction in price as found delay, and poor communication unacceptable. From then on attitude from Pippa extremely rude, defensive and unprofessional. Very disappointing!!

Friend embarrassed she recommended this accomodation and put in difficult position as knows this owner who attempted to involve her in dispute. Most definitely would never go back and would spend hard earned money somewhere else in future, even with discount. Sadly spoilt an otherwise lovely holiday visiting friends and god children in beautiful location!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheresaMann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesMakka, General Manager at Blue Bay Guest House & Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

We run a happy business which attracts lovely people who come year after year. When we have a problem we do our best to solve the problem as soon as possible. This customer was abusive, aggressive and threating resulting in my cleaning staff in tears.

The thermosat stopped working on the shower over the bank holiday , there was plenty of hot water for a bath. Within 1 hour of hearing about the problem James went down to Beacons to sort out the problem. A plumber was call out and the part was ordered and despatched that day and fixed during her stay. We applogised, did everything we possibly could and also gave a £220 discount on her holiday.

My staff and I endured verbal abuse and threatening aggressive behaviour. If it was so intolerable, why didn't she just leave? Unfortunately a freind had recommended her, which was awkward, otherwise I would have asked her to leave myself. We are not used to this sort of person in our lovely community in Cornwall.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Lovely friendly owners who make you feel very welcome, lovely location which looks across the beach. Lovely breakfast and although I did not eat in the restaurant as it was fully booked the menu looked good value and a nice range of food. Room was small but functional with view out to the garden and the sea, would be lovely on a warm summers day I am sure. Only criticism would be the attention to detail n the rooms, bed base cover was dirty and marked as was bed throw, and sadly the toilet had not been checked or cleaned as it had not been flushed from previous room user!!!

Room Tip: Would say have one with sea view if you can
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesMakka, Owner at Blue Bay Guest House & Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

A poo in the loo? I am very supprized by this. Why didn't she mention anything? We had a lovely chat for awhile and giggle over the fact we thought this customer was the hotel inspector! (So I know the room was very clean as I cleaned it myself) She even said she'd loved to have stayed longer but had to meet up with friends. Why when people are asked over again, "Is everything OK? Can I get you anything? Did you sleep well? ect" do they say nothing, wait until they leave then tell the whole world on trip advisor. If she had said something I would have moved her to a different room and given her the accommodation for free as an appology.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We had a GREAT holiday week at Blue Bay. Thank you Pippa+James for a lovely room and every day hot chocolate :-) The Steak is awesome and the Breakfast too ! I hope we´ll come back soon, i really miss Mawgan Porth !

Room Tip: We had the "Sandpiper" its a big and quiet room we slept very well.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sabrina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Great place excellent value, superb food and service. Food was outstanding. Really chilled atmosphere and really wanted to stay on another 5 days as the area is breathtakingly stunning.
Without fail we will return.

James and Pippa well done and thank you for such a lovely time.

Rob & Steve

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve10981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mawgan Porth
0.2 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
1,206 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Scarlet Hotel
The Scarlet Hotel
#1 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
1,581 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Treglos Hotel
Treglos Hotel
#1 of 1 in Constantine Bay
407 reviews
5.2 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
5.1 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Bay Guest House & Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Bay Guest House & Lodge

Address: Mawgan Porth TR8 4DA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mawgan Porth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Mawgan Porth
Price Range: $130 - $816 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blue Bay Guest House & Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small family run accommodation and restaurant situated in the seaside village of Mawgan Porth on the north coast of Cornwall. Seaviews, beach 400 metres down private lane, genuine hospitality, quality food a secret shared... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Blue Bay Guest House & Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Bay Hotel
Blue Bay Motel
Blue Bay Guest House & Lodge Mawgan Porth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing