We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Blue Bay Guest House & Lodge
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Mawgan Porth
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Great place excellent value, superb food and service. Food was outstanding. Really chilled atmosphere and really wanted to stay on another 5 days as the area is breathtakingly stunning.
Without fail we will return.

James and Pippa well done and thank you for such a lovely time.

Rob & Steve

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve10981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (103)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 103 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2013

Spent four nights here with my husband and our dog. Guest house is very dog friendly and relaxed. Excellent breakfast every morning and evening meal was delicious. Must try the fish, steak and scallops absolutly delicious. Good location for exploring Cornwall and the surrounding area. TV and tea facilities in the room and they also provided a fridge which is something we always look for. Only minor negatives, no evening meal on Sunday and Monday which they don't advertise, we like to stay somewhere we can come back to after a day out for evening meal so little disappointing. Although the Bedruthan Hotel and Traveller Rest are both excellent alternatives. Also if you over 6ft tall you will need to duck in the shower, my husbands head touched the ceiling and the bath was too small to have a bath instead. We stayed four days and only had clean hand towels once and one evening the heating didn't one on so we couldn't dry the towels. Overall nice guest house and the price is right for the rooms, would stay again if they'd have us. :)

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank SasmitUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

This really is a first rate Guest House, offering outstanding food in a restaurant overlooking a dog friendly beach. We had a garden room which opened direct onto the garden and decked patio with access to the car, ideal for doggie people. Pippa and James are superb hosts and the dogs love it here. To sit in the restaurant in the evening enjoying an exceptional meal and watch the sun go down over the sea is nothing short of divine.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malcolm_howell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Just come back from a very relaxing short break with our family and friends after staying at the Blue bay Lodge. As usual, everything was ready for us when we arrived, nice clean apartments, fresh towels etc. A big thank you to Pippa and James. We will see you again soon.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonsey1620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We were lucky enough to find the Blue Bay and stay there for the weekend of our wedding, we got married at the hotel down the road but were welcomed to have our laid back reception at the Blue Bay after. Pippa and James were so accomodating they really couldn't do enough for us. All of our guests stayed at the Blue Bay in either the lodges or the B&B and Pippa helped us in sorting out the rooms to suit the various needs of our family and friends ie children dogs etc. Their B&B really is a home from home and they as a family are so welcoming that i can not praise them enough. If anyone wants a relaxed, comfortable and happy break in an amazing location in Cornwall then they really should consider the Blue Bay.

Room Tip: The Garden rooms are brilliant especially if you have the dogs or need that extra bit of space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vicky F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Lovely atmosphere, superb location, food was absolutely magnificent. Pippa is do friendly and welcoming nothing us too much trouble.the mussels were done if the sweetest and tastiest we have had. thoroughly recommend this place, well worth the visit.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank prerequisite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Saw England win World Cup in 1966 when on holiday in Porth. Returned 2012. Stayed with Pippa, James and family at Blue Bay Guest House, Trenance, Mawgan Porth. Excellent place to base yourself. Lovely family and very friendly to all guests. Food second to none. Clean and well equipped accommodation. Good value. Highly recommended. Beaches are fantastic, weather excellent for October.

Room Tip: All rooms of similar standard. Also do self catering accommodation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dusty247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mawgan Porth
0 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
1,255 reviews
0 mi away
The Scarlet Hotel
The Scarlet Hotel
#1 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
1,623 reviews
0 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
0 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Bay Guest House & Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Bay Guest House & Lodge

Address: Mawgan Porth TR8 4DA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mawgan Porth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Mawgan Porth
Price Range: $81 - $847 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blue Bay Guest House & Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small family run accommodation and restaurant situated in the seaside village of Mawgan Porth on the north coast of Cornwall. Seaviews, beach 400 metres down private lane, genuine hospitality, quality food a secret shared... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Blue Bay Guest House & Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Bay Hotel
Blue Bay Motel
Blue Bay Guest House & Lodge Mawgan Porth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing