We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“magnetic pull of the eco-harmony”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mawgan Porth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Merlin Farm Cottages Mawgan Porth
Certificate of Excellence
Wiveliscombe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“magnetic pull of the eco-harmony”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Back again for Spring-time rejuvenation over Easter. Didn't need to think twice about where to go - the layout of the airy, spacious, and light cottage with quality furnishings and gorgeous beds, toddler friendly patio and lawns and open country aspect are all great. The PV arrays, solar water heating and turbine on the hill all add to the pull. Please to meet friendly 'neighbours' too!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilKateHarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LucyCW007, Owner at Merlin Farm Cottages Mawgan Porth, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you and glad you enjoyed your Easter Break in Constantine Eco Cottage ! Lovely to see you all again and hope to see you again soon ! Lucy & Darrel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
75
71
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Fabulous eco cottages in a beautiful location not far from Newquay. Living in the city I fancied a get away for a few days and this was a perfect location - in an extremely peaceful setting that is a few minutes walk from the beach - which my dog thoroughly enjoyed! There is not much that the owners of these cottages haven't thought of - from leaving refreshments for your arrival to all the facilities that are on-hand in the cottage. A booklet full of information for 'things to do' and local restaurants was also a nice touch. Would definitely recommend for couples and families with young children.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LucyCW007, Owner at Merlin Farm Cottages Mawgan Porth, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Thanks for your review, so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay in the Eco Cottage !
Lucy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frodsham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 6, 2013

My family and I stayed in the eco cottages last year and were so impressed we booked again for this year. The standard of the accommodation was luxurious and spotless. Our small children were able to play outside on the enclosed grassy area . They loved the horses,chickens and donkeys.The walk to the beach is short or an easy drive. The log burning stove makes for cosy evenings. Lucy and Daryl are super hosts and nothing is too much trouble. The groceries on arrival made everything very welcoming and we can't wait to go again in April.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pauline r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LucyCW007, Owner at Merlin Farm Cottages Mawgan Porth, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience of Merlin Farm. We are pleased that you enjoyed Constantine Eco Cottage and we look forward to seeing you all again in April 2013 !
Lucy & Darrel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Just returned from a fantastic week at Merlin Farm. Everything about the cottage was well-thought out and made for a truly pleasurable stay.

A beautiful setting overlooking the hills of the N. Cornwall coastline with Mawgan Porth a 15 minute walk away.

All elements of the cottage were high quality right down to the cutlery. Our 2yr old and 8mth old kids were well catered for with the necessary fireguards / cots / stairgates as well as a large box of toys to keep our son occupied for the week.

Couldn't recommend Merlin Farm highly enough and can't wait for a return visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LucyCW007, Owner at Merlin Farm Cottages Mawgan Porth, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for your lovely review, so glad you enjoyed your stay in Constantine Eco Cottage !
Hope to see you again,
Lucy & Darrel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benalla, Australia
Level Contributor
190 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

We are retired Australians visiting with family 4 adults and 2 children in 3 bedroom unit. Dishwasher washing machine and dryer appreciated. Visited the beach 3 days wet and cold 2 days the upstairs lounge and wood heater were great. Four TVs were good for us and kids. View across the valley was pleasant but nornal to us. Will visit the Royal Cormwall Agricultural show tomorrow as it runs thursday to saturday. The local shop has everything you need and more. Good base to visit St Ives and other places. Car parking at the beach shop area about £4 for 3 hours. The take away fish shop and hotel icecream shops all have good range of takeaway. No petrol available here nearest about 4 miles. We enjoyed our stay and can recommend this place as its quiet and safe for kids as there is no road traffic but you need a car with GPS to save time visiting places.

Room Tip: Drive off main road very steep and only 3 passing spots on the 400 m drive. Large stones a problem f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidayms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LucyCW007, Owner at Merlin Farm Cottages Mawgan Porth, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
Thank you for your informative review and for sharing your experience of Merlin Farm.
All the best
Lucy & Darrel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

We were fortunate enough to have a week’s stay at Merlin Farm at the point the weather gave us a week of sun and 80+ degree temperatures. The accommodation is of a very high quality with every appliance and utensil you could ever need. We stayed in the cottage Trevone and it was a great experience, much to our pleasure it met the high expectation from the great Merlin Farm website. I would recommend Merlin Farm for couples or families and you can select the accommodation that best suits from the web site. The owners were very friendly and welcomed us shortly after arrival. Our 3 year old son loved having a choice of 3 beds in the second bedroom and the high ceilings and large amount of windows meant even in the high heats it was comfortable. We will definitely go back and recommend the accommodation to our friends, this is reflected in other reviews below.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicechicken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LucyCW007, Owner at Merlin Farm Cottages Mawgan Porth, responded to this review, June 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your lovely review of Trevone Cottage. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at Merlin Farm and delighted that you experienced such wonderful weather during your stay. We hope to see you again ! Lucy & Darrel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012

The cottages are excellent

Well worth a visit excellent

Ideal for children

Owners very friendly

My children loved the horses,donkey,chickens

Brilliant location to get around the area

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glewis07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LucyCW007, Owner at Merlin Farm Cottages Mawgan Porth, responded to this review, June 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Merlin Farm. Great to hear you liked the Eco Cottage and that the children enjoyed the animals. We hope to see you again ! Lucy & Darrel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mawgan Porth
0.6 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
1,159 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Scarlet Hotel
The Scarlet Hotel
#1 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
1,532 reviews
4.4 mi away
Treglos Hotel
Treglos Hotel
#1 of 1 in Constantine Bay
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
The Park, Cornwall
The Park, Cornwall
#2 of 5 in Mawgan Porth
241 reviews
0.7 mi away
Seavista
Seavista
#1 of 7 in Mawgan Porth
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merlin Farm Cottages Mawgan Porth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merlin Farm Cottages Mawgan Porth

Property: Merlin Farm Cottages Mawgan Porth
Address: Merlin Farm, Mawgan Porth TR8 4DN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mawgan Porth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Mawgan Porth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Merlin Farm Cottages Mawgan Porth 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Merlin Farm is a Small Complex of 4-5* Converted Barns and Eco Cottages tucked in the Cornish Countryside a short walk from Mawgan Porth Beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Merlin Farm Holiday Hotel
Merlin Farm Cottages Mawgan Porth Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing