We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True 5* luxury in a great location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mawgan Porth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Merlin Farm Cottages Mawgan Porth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed June 3, 2012

We were fortunate enough to have a week’s stay at Merlin Farm at the point the weather gave us a week of sun and 80+ degree temperatures. The accommodation is of a very high quality with every appliance and utensil you could ever need. We stayed in the cottage Trevone and it was a great experience, much to our pleasure it met the high expectation from the great Merlin Farm website. I would recommend Merlin Farm for couples or families and you can select the accommodation that best suits from the web site. The owners were very friendly and welcomed us shortly after arrival. Our 3 year old son loved having a choice of 3 beds in the second bedroom and the high ceilings and large amount of windows meant even in the high heats it was comfortable. We will definitely go back and recommend the accommodation to our friends, this is reflected in other reviews below.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicechicken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LucyCW007, Owner at Merlin Farm Cottages Mawgan Porth, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write your lovely review of Trevone Cottage. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at Merlin Farm and delighted that you experienced such wonderful weather during your stay. We hope to see you again ! Lucy & Darrel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (171)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 171 reviews

Reviewed May 17, 2012

The cottages are excellent

Well worth a visit excellent

Ideal for children

Owners very friendly

My children loved the horses,donkey,chickens

Brilliant location to get around the area

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glewis07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LucyCW007, Owner at Merlin Farm Cottages Mawgan Porth, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Merlin Farm. Great to hear you liked the Eco Cottage and that the children enjoyed the animals. We hope to see you again ! Lucy & Darrel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed in Daymer, the smallest of the cottages, a converted stable with one main room, kitchen and bathroom. All the fittings are of the highest quality and all rooms are bright and beautiful. The location is great - particularly if you are planning on visiting Rick Stein's restaurants in Padstowe (about 8 miles away) or Jamie Oliver's 'Fifteen' which is only a mile or so away and walkable along the cliffs if you are so inclined. We couldn't have asked for more and couldn't recommend a stay here more highly. Brilliant.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LucyCW007, Owner at Merlin Farm Cottages Mawgan Porth, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write your lovely review of Daymer Studio. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at Merlin Farm and hope to see you again ! Lucy & Darrel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Just returned from Merlin Farm and felt compelled to write a review, This is our second visit and will return again. Treyarnon barn has three good sized bedrooms which worked so well for my daughter and her husband and my son and also a small dog.The detail to comfort was excellent,the beds so comfortable and spotlessly clean everywhere, it was kept well heated and also a log fire could be lit. Lucy and Darryl and are so welcoming and deserve praised for their hard work and attention to detail.If you love Cornwall and want to feel relaxed, please go there.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pamela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LucyCW007, Owner at Merlin Farm Cottages Mawgan Porth, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write your lovely review of Treyarnon Cottage. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at Merlin Farm. It was lovely to see you all again this year and hope to see you again next year ! Lucy & Darrel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

As a couple plus wonderful yet rowdy toddler, we are always on the look out for accommodation that gives us some contemporary me-time and yet still manages to tick the family friendly box.

Constantine cottage at Merlin Farm was really all we needed for a fabulous week long break. Super-comfy beds, super bathroom, wonderful open plan living space, and just enough farm animals to convince our son he was getting a true country experience.

Mawgan Porth beach was not far away at all and a beautiful epic space, perfect for sandcastles and splashing, and a few handy convenience stores if you run short of anything.

Lucy and Darrel have though of everything and seemed to be always on hand yet unobtrusive. Some thoughtful touches in the (Smeg) fridge including some bubbly and Easter eggs really added to my birthday week!

We used their suggested babysitter Dee on several nights who we couldn't have been happier with. Recommended if you want a non child trip to some of the wonderful restaurants nearby.

What a lovely place to go to, I can't imagine anyone not enjoying themselves in such a great corner of Cornwall.

For once we are all WELL RESTED!

Room Tip: Fabulous babysitter - ask for Dee If you get a chance pop along to the day spa at the Scarlet (down...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vernon2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LucyCW007, Owner at Merlin Farm Cottages Mawgan Porth, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write your lovely review of Constantine Eco Cottage. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at Merlin Farm and delighted to hear that despite being busy parents with a toddler that you experienced a restful stay. We hope to see you again ! Lucy & Darrel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2012

We give a 6* rating for Porthcothan eco-cottage - the clever orientation of SE facing picture window with the high-up ceiling Veluxs for warm air circulation meant we could relax all day inside and out on the patio and in the garden on the playframe with our toddler.

Lucy & Darrel's attention to the finest of details is superb - from classy toddler cutlery & crockery to the sumptuous bedding and great REN toiletries! They are the perfect hosts and congratulations to you for all your efforts.

A stroll by the PV farm and through the copse to the beach instilled calm and motivation to live an eco-life.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhilKateHarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2011

This place is everything you could wish for in a family holiday. We stayed with our two boys, harry 4 & ollie 1 and we needn't have packed all that we did as there was so much there including baby monitor and even a baby food blender!!!! We stayed in one of the Eco cottages which I would highly recommend as they are so gorgeous inside and the views are stunning. The cottages are really well placed for seeing Cornwall. If I had one gripe it would be that we didn't get to meet the owners of such a lovely place, the key was in the door when we got there and we were to leave it in the door when we left!! I wouldn't hesitate in recommending this to family and friends..... In fact I already have. :-) enjoy!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank munchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mawgan Porth hotels
0.7 mi away
The Scarlet Hotel
The Scarlet Hotel
#1 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
1,621 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
1,254 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Park, Cornwall
The Park, Cornwall
#2 of 5 in Mawgan Porth
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Seavista
Seavista
#1 of 7 in Mawgan Porth
469 reviews
0 mi away
Blue Bay Guest House & Lodge
Blue Bay Guest House & Lodge
#3 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
103 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Merrymoor Inn
The Merrymoor Inn
#2 of 7 in Mawgan Porth
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merlin Farm Cottages Mawgan Porth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merlin Farm Cottages Mawgan Porth

Address: Merlin Farm, Mawgan Porth TR8 4DN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mawgan Porth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Mawgan Porth
Price Range: $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Merlin Farm Cottages Mawgan Porth 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Merlin Farm is a Small Complex of 4-5* Converted Barns and Eco Cottages tucked in the Cornish Countryside a short walk from Mawgan Porth Beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Merlin Farm Holiday Hotel
Merlin Farm Cottages Mawgan Porth Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing