We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful cottage in a beautiful location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Merlin Farm Cottages Mawgan Porth

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mawgan Porth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Merlin Farm Cottages Mawgan Porth
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“wonderful cottage in a beautiful location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2011

We have just spent the last week at Daymer Cottage on Merlin Farm and had a fantastic holiday - the cottage is the perfect size for a couple (& small dog), with a clean & modern kitchen and bathroom, plus an enclosed outdoor space complete with table & chairs and a BBQ. Our dog loved the walk down to the beach and so many of the nearby beaches, pubs, restaurants and shops are dog-friendly - he had a great time!

You can tell the Wheeler's have a good eye for detail, and the cottage is very well furnished and equipped - the fresh eggs and milk on arrival are a nice, welcoming touch & we loved the deckchairs :)

We wouldn't hesitate to recommend Merlin Farm to friends and family, and we hope to return next year.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LJR83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
72
69
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2011

We stayed at the Daymer at the end of May 2011. Darrel and Lucy greeted us on arrival and they were both very friendly and helpful. The cottage was light, well fitted and comfortable, with a modern kitchen and bathroom. There was a pint of milk in the fridge and tea and coffee when we arrived, and a basket of fresh eggs which were delicious. Nice touches.

The walk down to Mawgan Porth beach was through a woodland path (be prepared for a bit of a steep climb on the way back up), and I'd recommend walking into St Mawgan as well.

We prefer staying in north Cornwall as the coastline is dramatic and the beaches are generally wide, sandy and often dog friendly. Just a short drive away from Merlin Farm you have Watergate Bay and Porth and, in the other direction, Treyarnon and Constantine Bays, all worth a visit.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ADCorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2011

Recently returned from a great 4 night stay in one of the Eco Cottages at Merlin Farm. The cottages look amazing and have been packed out with high end furnishings.

Great effort has been made to make Merlin Farm Cottages family friendly. When we arrived at the Cottage we found an activity mat for our baby, a cot, baby monitor, changing mat, sterilizer and plates for small toddlers.

The location of Merlin Farm is also ideal for visiting attractions both south & north of Cornwall. There are plenty of places to visit without having to travel to far.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UkMikeP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2011

Really good quality accommodation - stayed at one of the Eco cottages with partner and friends. Fully equipped with top quality products, everything was pristine and looked brand new. Walk through woods to Mawgan Porth Bay was great to work up dinner appetite - although not for the infirm as quite steep in places. Mawgam Porth bay itself was large and child friendly with a choice of a couple of places to eat and drink and handy for convenience and newsagent stores. Jamie Oliver's "Fifteen" 10 min taxi ride away in next bay (Watergate Bay) - recomend that you book ahead. Padstow 9 miles drive away and well worth a visit for a change of scenery.
Only (very minor) negative comment is the drive down to cottages from main lane is very steep, long and winding - be careful if you have a sports car !

Room Tip: All lovely !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoJoTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2011

We spent a lovely few days staying in one of the Eco Cottages (not the one specifically aimed at young children, but it still had loads of useful equipment - stairgates, plastic cutlery, changing mat, travel cot, highchair etc). Lucy and Daryl have done a great job of building very beautiful and contemporary cottages which work really well for adults and children...and the added bonus of a donkey in the neighbouring paddock was hard to beat!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristyB2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2011

We loved the contemporary look and feel of this cottage. The interior was perfect, the views were stunning, 5 mins drive down to the local beach which was lovely and really close to watergate bay. We had everything we needed there and the kids settled really well. Our one year old slept in a cot provided and our 3 year old slept in twin beds with a bed guard. There was a potty, baby equipment, kids cutlery etc. The family were very welcoming and our children enjoyed meeting their pet guinea pigs and rabbits! We also ate their hen and goose eggs which were delicious. There were also a few outdoor toys for them to play with and a lovely wooden sandpit/boat. The location was quiet with lovely views. The only slight negative was the need to drive everywhere even to the local shop. But this wouldn't stop us having a return trip and recommending to friends and family.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clogswalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2011

We've just come back from a week in one of the Eco Cottages and really can't rate this place highly enough. Super-stylish comfortable accommodation, completely child-friendly, indoor and outdoor toys provided, and even horses, chickens, geese and a donkey in the field across from the cottages for our little one to visit... all in all a wonderful break for mum, dad and toddler.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsJ31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mawgan Porth
0.6 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.6 mi away
The Scarlet Hotel
The Scarlet Hotel
#1 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
The Park, Cornwall
The Park, Cornwall
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.7 mi away
Seavista
Seavista
#1 of 7 in Mawgan Porth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merlin Farm Cottages Mawgan Porth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merlin Farm Cottages Mawgan Porth

Property: Merlin Farm Cottages Mawgan Porth
Address: Merlin Farm, Mawgan Porth TR8 4DN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mawgan Porth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Mawgan Porth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Merlin Farm Cottages Mawgan Porth 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Merlin Farm is a Small Complex of 4-5* Converted Barns and Eco Cottages tucked in the Cornish Countryside a short walk from Mawgan Porth Beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Merlin Farm Holiday Hotel
Merlin Farm Cottages Mawgan Porth Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing