We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's just very very good!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Merrymoor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Merrymoor Inn
Ranked #2 of 7 Mawgan Porth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“It's just very very good!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

We have just got back from a quick one nighter at the Merrymoor ,everything from the greeting onwards was very good,the room was lovely with top class ensuite facilities, I must say that your family have got it right,in what you do,because we had a lovely time,and so did Sam our collie.... We will most definitely be back, I think if Sue had her way she would've spent the whole time in the Jacuzzi,while I can certainly vouch for the well kept beer lines,(used to be a landlord),The food was lovely and a credit to the chef,both breakfast and the meal we had in the bar were really nice and the service by our young waitress was again a credit to her and your team!,ditto the breakfast waitress who was very polite and friendly,in fact all the team who we met treated us with respect,and were very good at their job...don't change what you are doing,it's a great job!!thank you all!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blutone50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lynne47, Owner at The Merrymoor Inn, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review, so pleased you enjoyed your start stay with us. I will make sure all the staff are made aware of your comments and hope to see you again soon
Lynne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    66
    19
    12
    5
See reviews for
67
116
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Thornbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

Here I had a 3 course meal (starter, main and dessert), and the food was excellent and the staff were lovely.
Really peaceful, quiet surroundings, could not of asked for a better experience.
If your looking for a new place to try out for a meal out, this is the place in North Cornwall to visit!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZennaWidger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lynne47, Owner at The Merrymoor Inn, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to us. I will pass you comments on to all the staff and look forward to seeing you again next time you are in Mawgan Porth
Lynne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is a wonderful hotel pub and restaurant only yards from the beach and with gorgeous views of the bay. Family run and owned the welcome could not be warmer. Food is excellent especially Sunday lunch, breakfast is sourced locally. Very dog friendly this is somewhere you'll be very reluctant to leave and anxious to return to soon

Room Tip: The refurbished rooms at the front are spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lynne47, Owner at The Merrymoor Inn, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thank You so much for your lovely review, we are all so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again
Lynne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
235 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Went in for breakfast, got exactly what it said on the tin, Breaker breakfast - 2 eggs, 2 sausages, 2 hash browns, bacon, mushrooms and beans, followed by a round of toast. There was hardly any room on the table for a bottle of sauce the breakfasts were that big ! Would recommend and would definitely go again

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Tracey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lynne47, Owner at The Merrymoor Inn, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review, we are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your Breakfast and look forward to seeing you again next time you are in Mawgan Porth
Lynne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugeley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Really flexible and welcoming B&B. In the room there was Zero noise from the bar below the rooms. Local ales and ciders on tap to keep us happy and fantastic generous portion food ;) Amazing view of the beach as well from both the room and the bar.

Room Tip: Go for the sea view rooms
See more room tips
Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gazatron11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lynne47, Owner at The Merrymoor Inn, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for your review, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again in the future,
Lynne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

This has to be the friendliest pub in the south west. The staff could not have been more welcoming and helpful The room was clean and comfortable. There was no problem about having an early breakfast and it was very good. I walked a few extra miles to get to Mawgan Porth and I'm very glad that I did.

Room Tip: I stayed in the rear room which was quiet and had a large bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bernadetteduffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lynne47, Owner at The Merrymoor Inn, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review, we are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your short stay with us and hop[e to see you again when you are next in the area,
Lynne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Love this place, a really welcoming well run family pub of the kind that are all too rare these days. Excellent food, especially Sunday carvery (not something a lot of places get right but they do here) with a good selection of ales together with friendly and efficient owners and staff. 10/10.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve-JourneymanChef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lynne47, Owner at The Merrymoor Inn, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review, we are all pleased to hear that you enjoy your visits to us especially the Carvery and look forward to welcoming you again soon,
Lynne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mawgan Porth
0.4 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,120 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Scarlet Hotel
The Scarlet Hotel
#1 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,499 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
4.9 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
4.6 mi away
Treglos Hotel
Treglos Hotel
#1 of 1 in Constantine Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Merrymoor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Merrymoor Inn

Property: The Merrymoor Inn
Address: Mawgan Porth, Mawgan Porth TR8 4BA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mawgan Porth
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Mawgan Porth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Merrymoor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eat Drink Sleep and Relax in our Family run beachside Freehouse midway between Newquay and Padstow and only 1 and a half miles from Newquay Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Book Direct Rooms, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Merrymoor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Merrymoor Hotel Mawgan Porth
The Merrymoor Inn Mawgan Porth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing