We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Honeymoon Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bedruthan Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Mawgan Porth
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Honeymoon Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

We spent two nights here as part of our honeymoon. We loved it. The staff and the location were just fantastic. Extremely relaxing and even though they welcome lots of children, they set it up in a way where you wouldn't even know they're there. Our only negative was the dinner we had. There was some sort of salt accident on each of our plates and the meal was sub-par. Other than that minor blemish, this is a great place to get away.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MissH4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    663
    272
    106
    40
    20
See reviews for
518
314
22
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (366)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
Bude, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

I stayed for one night while my son was “enjoying” himself in hostel-type accommodation with his friends at his stag weekend in Newquay. I booked a single room for a Saturday night on the late May Bank Holiday weekend. My room had been upgraded to a double by the time that I arrived around midday; the staff could not have been more helpful, pleasant and welcoming, from the lady who took my reservation on the telephone to reception and catering staff. The bed was very comfortable, and breakfast with a slight hangover was well cooked and well presented. I took the opportunity of a relaxing Sunday morning reading the newspaper in the tranquil room, before I ventured back into Newquay to complete the weekend’s festivities. I have no hesitation in recommending the Bedruthan to anyone, and would gladly stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed at the Bedruthan Hotel and Spa for our first wedding anniversary. I found the hotel online and wanted something special for our big occasion. It looked great so I booked a sea view room on their Mini Spa Break.

When we arrived in our room and opened the curtains we were blown away by the view. Mawgon Porth is simply stunning. We were lucky to have brilliant warm weather for our stay and we never tired of sitting with the windows wide open and enjoying the view. The room is set up so that you can enjoy the view as though you are on a balcony. Brilliant!

We took a walk down the path to the beach and had lunch in one of the local pubs before returning for our spa treatment. The spa is lovely and relaxing and the staff are very friendly.

In the evening we ate in The Herring restaurant. We were placed by the windows and so could watch the sunset over the bay. Magnificent!! The food was great and the staff were excellent.

Afterwards we decided to have cocktails in the cocktail bar. The bar man was VERY slow but to be honest we just found this amusing. Maybe that was the wine we had with the meal!

In the morning we enjoyed a brilliant Cornish breakfast, once again with the stunning view over the bay and then once we'd checked out we returned to the spa for a few hours before we left.

This hotel is EXCELLENT. By far one of the best we have stayed in. The staff are all helpful and friendly and whilst we got lucky with the weather, the location and views are tremendous!

Thank you Bedruthan Hotel, you made our first wedding anniversary one we will never forget!

Room Tip: Pay the extra for sea view. It's DEFINTELY worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South West
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

We heard heard great things about Bedruthan and had long wanted to visit so when the dates fell in with inset and half term we decided to go for it and hang the expense.

Firstly, it is no more expensive than most other decent hotels. I think that £250/night B&B for three is actually good value when you see what the hotel has to offer.

The exterior is a pretty brutal post modernist bit of architecture but no more offensive than mock tudor/georgian in my eyes. The use of 50's furniture, we think we saw some Gordon Russel pieces, is genius and the whole decor of the public areas is so refreshingly different to the homogenous stuff found at other hotels.

We went for a non-sea view room which was fine, yes it overlooked the carpark but do you know what, when we go to a hotel we tend not to sit and look out of the window. That said the sea view rooms have spectacular outlooks so maybe next time we will upgrade but it really is not big deal if we dont.

Breakfast was buffet but with fantastic ingredients; home made granola and muesli, locally sourced and lovely. Best of all it kept running out so it had to be more or less cooked to order. Much better than vats of stuff slowly stewing in its own juices!

The facilities are fab, the spa is amazing and helped by fantastic weather we used the outdoor pools too. Bear in mind that many people bring their children so if you can't cope with that then go during term time or find somewhere else!

Evening meals are great. The Wild Cafe is good value with something for everyone on it's menu and although we were offered the chance to eat in the Red Herring restaurant (our daughter is nearly ten and used to eating in adult environments so they were happy for her to come with us) we decided we preferred the informality of the Wild. A la carte menu is a lot more expensive and more adventurous, worth trying at least once.

We also used the surf lessons offered by The Surf Club, organised by the hotel and they were great with super instructors. Our daughter was standing on her board and surfing after just two hours with Will. She had never surfed or snowboarded before.

The staff were fantastic, ranging from the welcome we got through to chap who insisted that he check I wasn't working while sat at my laptop as "we don't allow guests to bring their work with them", with a smile of course!

All in all, we can't recommend this hotel highly enough. There were a couple of guests complaining but they seemed to be the sort of people who would complain about everything and also (whisper it) were bothered about the cost. My attitude is if you have to worry about the cost of your holiday then you'll never enjoy it.

Room Tip: Don't fret if you don't get a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellinglancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

amazing place, best hotel we've been to in a long time. the facilities for kids (our toddlers) was second to none. the staff of which there were numerous were always helpful. meals were great in a really nice environment, fantastic views.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SJH7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

Just spent a week at the Bedruthan, and it lived up to and exceeded our expectations and the recommendations of our friends.
For families it is really well set up from so many angles, child care, entertainment, great food. We've never seen George, our normally quite fussy 2 1/2yr old eat so well, the daily specials were healthy and some great choices.
Although it took a few nights for our little boy to settle before 9.00pm this still meant that we could enjoy a meal in one of the restaurants utilising the room monitoring system provided by the reception staff.
Food quality, service in both restaurants was to a very high standard, we both particularly enjoyed the Herring, some amazing dishes.
All the staff were brilliant, super friendly and understood how to provide great genuine customer service, we felt they really cared that you were all enjoying your stay.
We can not rate this hotel highly enough, and will definitely be back, hopefully very soon, THANK YOU so much to all of the staff, you all really helped us have a fantastic break.
One tiny suggestion......could you buy some better quality wine glasses for the Herring, just felt that they were a bit too pub like, am sure that they are quite robust, but didn't do justice to some of the good quality wine available.

Room Tip: We chose room 100 as it didn't have bunk beds, easier in terms of George not being provided with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FrannyBeWilbur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

This was the second time I have stayed at this hotel. The first time was with my husband and the dog, this time was on my own. I cannot praise the staff enough. I never once felt odd being on my own. The hotel looks a bit grim from the outside, but once inside it is airy and spacious with comfortable rooms and magnificent views. The food was very good but a little limiting in the evening (I am a fussy eater!) I visited the spa this time and found it calm relaxing. I will be back!

Room Tip: I have never stayed in a room without a sea view and never would.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BristolSpike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mawgan Porth
4.5 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.1 mi away
The Scarlet Hotel
The Scarlet Hotel
#1 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,480 reviews
5.3 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
3.0 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
15.8 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bedruthan Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bedruthan Hotel & Spa

Property: Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Address: Mawgan Porth, Mawgan Porth TR8 4BU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mawgan Porth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Mawgan Porth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bedruthan Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cornwall's Large Hotel of the Year 2010/11 and Enjoy England's Sustainable Tourism Business of the Year. Bedruthan offers magnificent views over the Atlantic, an award-winning restaurant, indoor and outdoor pools, children's clubs and a stunning Ocean Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Bedruthan Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bedruthan Steps Mawgan Porth
Hotel Bedruthan Steps
Bedruthan Steps Hotel
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa Mawgan Porth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing