We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Thorncliff
Nearby Hotels
Trevarrian Lodge(Mawgan Porth)(Great Value!)
$93
$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Merrymoor Inn(Mawgan Porth)(Great Value!)
$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa(Mawgan Porth)
$189
$183
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa(Newquay)
$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$98
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sandy Lodge Hotel(Newquay)(Great Value!)
$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$91
$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$87
$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (53)
Filter reviews
53 results
Traveler rating
50
3
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
50
3
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskitchen fully equippedfridgebathseabedroom
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 53 reviews
Reviewed July 17, 2012

My husband, our 7 month old son and I stayed at Thorncliff for three nights in July. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The accommodation was impeccable and the owners were helpful and friendly and went the extra mile to make our stay enjoyable. We found Thorncliff a really good place to take a young child.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank madeleine t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca B, Owner at Thorncliff, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2012

Hi Madeleine, thanks for your great review. We know what's its like travelling with young children and always endeavour to make the stay as stress free as possible for the parents - though that's not difficult with such a happy baby like Elliot! Best Wishes & hope to see you all again. Rebecca & Garry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

liked what we saw when booking on line,really liked all on our short stay,best breakfast ever! gary and rebecca made our visit very special and will go again soon,must try suite number one! but room two was really nice.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roy f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca B, Owner at Thorncliff, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2012

Christine & Roy, many thanks for your kind words, it's most appreciated. Hope to see you again.
Best wishes, Rebecca & Garry.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

my husband and i stayed at the Thorncliff Hotel mawgan porth for three wonderful days.
we visit cornwall at least twice a year and have stayed in many hotels and b&b's over the years but the Thorncliff is by far the best we have stayed in, fantastic room, great views and gary and rebecca the owners, made us feel so welcome and at home.
Thorncliff is a luxury b&b, and we have recommend it to our family and friends, we plan to return in july or september and are really looking forward to another relaxed, stress free stay at the Thorncliff, can't wait.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

Mawgan Porth is a well loved holiday destination for my husband and I but this was our first visit to Thorncliff and what a lucky find it was. We received a warm welcome from Rebecca and Gary and really enjoyed meeting them and sharing experiences. Our room (Room 2) overlooked the beach and was spacious, clean and comfortable with a large ensuite with a corner bath. Tea, coffee (decaf sachets next time please!),fresh milk, biscuits and bottles of water provided in the room each day. Breakfast was delicious - selection of cereals, yogurts, fresh fruit and croissants followed by an exceptional cooked breakfast using local produce.Thank you Rebecca and Gary, we will definitely return.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anmab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca B, Owner at Thorncliff, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2012

Hi Ann & David,
many thanks for taking the time to review us.
Decaf now available in the rooms - apologies for overlooking this during your stay.
Really glad you enjoyed your stay & look forward to seeing you again.
Best Wishes
Rebecca & Garry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012 via mobile

Welcome exceptional, very large clean room with incredible views of ocean was outstanding. Breakfast was scrumptious with amusing/interesting conversation to boot from owners and other guests. Only criticism is how to actually locate, however constant mobile contact with owners alleviates any problems finding this B & B. Numerous restaurants in vicinity help in making your stay so easy. We would have loved to stay longer as there is so much to see and do in the area. Would definitely recommend and hope to come back again in the near future.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barrsalona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca B, Owner at Thorncliff, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2012

Hi Vicki & Ken,
many thanks for your kind words, really glad you enjoyed your stay.
Hope the rest of your trip is as memorable.
Look forward to seeing you again - on either side of the globe!
Best wishes
Rebecca & Garry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews