We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Campsite”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mawgan Porth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sun Haven Valley Country Holiday Park
Norfolk
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Campsite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

We have just returned from 10 nights camping. We travelled with our 2 girls aged 9 and 11. We have been coming for 2 years now. We keep returning because we love everything about it. You get to know the same families which return the same time of year.
The staff are very friendly. Our children played out every night and made lots of new friends. They love using the site shop which is well stocked. The noise policy is great knowing you wont get disturbed and the children return to there accommodation at the same time. Very relaxing.
The shower block is clean and we often booked the family bathroom for £2 which is great. Great facilities.
Nice walk to the Falcon Inn for a lovely meal and lovely tea room nearly opposite campsite for breakfast and lunches.
We have booked to go back at the end of August. Children love it and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paula R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunHavenValley, Manager at Sun Haven Valley Country Holiday Park, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
What a lovely review, thank you very much!

We hope your second visit was as enjoyable at the first, and will endeavour to maintain everything to the standard you experienced during your stay.

Thanks again for taking the time to write a review for us, we hope you can return soon!

Kind Regards

Nina
Sun Haven Valley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    23
    5
    3
    3
See reviews for
48
18
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed here for one week in a static caravan, we came to spend a week with our family who come here camping a few times a year. The site was very well maintained and tidy, our caravan was well equipped and clean, the rubbish bins were emptied several times a day, there was never any rubbish laying about round them. The play area was well away from our caravan, the children staying on the site were all very well behaved, the site is very strict about no noise after 10-30 at night. The shop on site was small but seemed to stock anything we needed, and the prices were not over the top like some parks charge. All in all it is nice for families but also nice and quiet for older people as well. Dogs are allowed but not on the grass areas where the children are playing.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mazrat69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Just returned after a weeks stay in our motorhome. On our arrival the staff were very helpful and enforced the 10.30pm silence policy.......A pleasant site, our two children 12 and 9 really enjoyed the holiday and met lots of friends. My only gripe was our pitch unfortunately.... it was right next to the gate to the footpath that leads to the beach. It is a shame that the 10.30 silence policy that is so strictly enforced to everyone didn't apply to the people walking through the gate and letting the steel gate fastener drop loudly each time...I lost count to the number of times I was woken up by such inconsiderate people. People generally started walking dogs from 6.30am so not so much as a holiday lay in for me. One night I was woken at 12.30am by the dreaded gate!!!
My suggestion would be to replace the steel fastener with a piece of rope. Also the pitch is next to the recycling bins which again meant no peace. One considerate camper decided to dispose of her recyclables at 7am on the Sunday morning!! but then on two occasions a site worker emptied the bins at 8am!! Maybe an early morning no noise until policy should be introduced too.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunHavenValley, Manager at Sun Haven Valley Country Holiday Park, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for the constructive review - you have some good ideas which we will implement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

We have jut been to this site for a 5 night stay in our tent. We chose the site for its location but also for the fact that it was described as 5star and that dogs were welcome. I was also enticed by the lovely photos online of a tent pitched next to a stream.

However when we arrived, this was no the case. We were greeted at reception by 2 lovely, helpful ladies who checked us in and gave us all the site info. I put all this to one side and proceeded to our pitch. We actually drove past the pitch once because we couldn't see an area that looked big enough for the tent!! Couldn't believe it when second time round we noticed the pitch number and this tiny little area was our pitch. The tent fitted, as I had to give the dimensions before we booked but we were literally in the pockets if next doors tent. The lovely stream as pictured online may as well not have been there. we couldnt see it, let alone get to it as it was down in a sort of ditch and overgrown with long grass and weeds. (And we paid extra for a stream side pitch!!)

Once pitched I got to reading the "info" I was given at reception. I understand that there need to be rules and most sites give out info on them, but this was ridiculous. The wording of the part that was about dogs made me want to go home. Basically dogs are "allowed" but not at all welcome as stated on the website. I understand that they have to be kept on a lead but a whole paragraph about how they MUST ABSOLUTELY NOT GO ON THE GRASS etc etc made me feel unwelcome as a dog owner.

Nevertheless we had a nice time. The walk down to the beach and nearest bars/shops was ideal and felt like being abroad (the great weather helped). There are loads of places nearby to visit and the shop on site is adequate. My favourite thing was the man who came on Wednesday night selling creeps..... DELICIOUS!!

Toilets/showers were ok, but could have been cleaner..... I never actually saw a cleaner in 5 days which I know could be a coincidence but you generally do usually see the facilities being cleaned at some point.

Overall, not the site isn't bad, I just think it is "talked up" too much online. If it were more realistic online a d the price more reflected what it actually is, it wouldn't lead to disappointment. Definitely more like a 3 star than a 5. Although the kids play park looked great there was absolutely no space at all for kids to play by the tent.

I wouldn't go there again for that price

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Vicki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunHavenValley, Manager at Sun Haven Valley Country Holiday Park, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
The toilets and showers are cleaned daily by two cleaners who take 3 - 4 hours to do so . For cleaning we close off the blocks in turn, and closures are timed so that most of the customers are off the park. You would only meet a cleaner if you were showering between about 11am and 2pm or on some days 1pm to 4pm.
The blocks, by the way, are also "looked over" at 7am, periodically during the day and about 11pm for any obvious faults to be remedied. We receive far more unrequested compliments on the toilets blocks than we do complaints

Many parks have banned dogs because of the small percentage of bad mannered dog owners who believe that children’s play areas, such as our lawns, and other peoples pitches, are simply oversized dog toilets. We allow dogs, but attempt to curb the bad manners of the minority by asking that they be kept on leads and by banning dogs from the lawns. We note that all the reasonable dog owners understand why and have no objections. Our only other option is to also ban dogs totally, which is what many would have us do.

Our back gate sits on the junction of 3 footpaths which can be used for dog exercising with a wide variety of circular walks of up to eleven miles.

Popular campsites in Cornwall are full in August. We state our pitch sizes on the internet so that there are no surprises and we help select a pitch for the size of tent that you say you are bringing. Clearly if you are not able to keep the gaps that we stipulate between tents , then yours is probably one of the tents that we get every year that appear to have "grown" between booking and arrival. Out of season we will happily provide you with a double sized pitch for no extra charge, but in season, as you discovered, tent size is important.

Most of the children play on the communal lawns, in the playground, cycling around the campsites roads and in amongst their tents and many of the groups of children playing together have in fact never met each other before they came to the park. Playing around the tent only usually becomes a problem if you have not given us the correct tent size
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

This is a very nice holiday park with really good caravans and a good capping area.the staff were really helpful and kind and it was a short walk to the beach which was great for bodyboarding. The silence after 10:30 is great. I love this place book now.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

just come back from a weeks stay at this site , stayed in static caravan , not the newest but very nice and clean , 2 adults , 2 12yr girls and 2 boys 9 , 7 ... felt very safe with them playing out and thay made lots of friends , having the no noise policy was great as the park was closed at 10 and the kids came bk to caravan , older 1s were alowed to sit and chat on grass after this as long as thay were resonably quiet , this was brilliant thay were on first name turms with night wardens ,so not as scary as some people are making out, it was nice to sit and relax in the quiet , site was spotless and had everything you could ask for and a little bit more , good little park and tv and games room ,very good information room, nice walk to beach 15 min with kids , loverly beach ...kids have asked to go bk nxt year and im sure we will ....i am a fussy git but to me this site was perfect...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paul s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

just returned from a week stay in our caravan, what a lovely site. The staff and owners were very friendly and helpful. Wondered if it was a little pricey for what we were getting, but its well worth it and we will probably book again. The walk to the beach was lovely and flat so not too taxing after a day body boarding. Great wetsuit room, really helpful. Alot to do locally if you dont mind a drive. Our youngest (9)loved the animals and playpark, never used the games room and used the tv room a few times. Our teens couldnt use their tech gadgets(no signal, there is wifi but they didnt bother) so they actually went out and socialised!!! As for the site, it was very well maintained, plenty of recycling bins and water points. Felt the lovely shower block could have been a bit cleaner in places(seat hinges, door stops, pipework, joining strips etc) but the essentials were very clean. Was concerned about the 10.30 noise curfew, but it works. It was lovely and peaceful. I do think it should be extended at the weekends to 11.30. Didnt find the lack of a clubhouse a problem, we got to know our fellow campers over the fence.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dixiepink761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mawgan Porth
0.3 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,120 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Scarlet Hotel
The Scarlet Hotel
#1 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,500 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Park, Cornwall
The Park, Cornwall
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Merrymoor Inn
The Merrymoor Inn
#2 of 7 in Mawgan Porth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.4 mi away
Seavista
Seavista
#1 of 7 in Mawgan Porth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
3.6 mi away
Atlantic Bays Holiday Park
Atlantic Bays Holiday Park
#7 of 12 in St Merryn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Haven Valley Country Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Haven Valley Country Holiday Park

Property: Sun Haven Valley Country Holiday Park
Address: Mawgan Porth | Near Padstow, Mawgan Porth TR8 4BQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mawgan Porth
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Mawgan Porth
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peaceful, relaxing, self-contained, self-catering bungalows (& holiday caravans) on a countryside park just 10 minutes woodland walk from a large sandy beach ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sun Haven Valley Country Holiday Park Mawgan Porth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing