We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A peaceful holiday in the beautiful cornish countryside”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mawgan Porth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sun Haven Valley Country Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A peaceful holiday in the beautiful cornish countryside”
Reviewed August 4, 2012

well maintained and clean site. caravan we stayed in was fine for the four of us. very quiet site, perfect for families. i actually thought the emphasis on silence late at night made this a very enjoyable stay. good play park and free roaming ducks and guinea pigs made it a toddlers dream. 20 minute walk to Mawgan Porth beach with its restaurant, pub surf hire etc. would visit again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    24
    5
    3
    3
See reviews for
48
20
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Congleton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

A pleasant park with a range of caravans and well maintained lawns. The ducks and guinea pigs who roam freely are charming. The owners make you very well aware of their SILENCE after 1030pm policy, no talking, no TV, in fact no noise of any kind after 1030pm. This rule was tested by enjoying a board-game that accidentally finished after the deadline. Thankfully we were not escorted from the premises nor any other sanction.

I'm happy with the "science" rule, there are plenty of other parks available for those wishing for late night drinking etc.

However I was rudely awoken every morning by the owners "maintenance vehicle", an old peugeot estate in very poor condition with a failed exhaust. Whilst this isn't normally the sort of thing that would annoy me (I'm pretty tolerant), I was rather surprised that the same people who go to such lengths to enforce silence make so much unnecessary noise.

Also the "games room" was so bad as to be hilarious. Imagine the worst condition pool table you have ever seen some prehistoric computers (complete with CRT monitors) and a few 90s arcade machines / fruit machines all crammed into the smallest room possible.

Overall I really enjoyed my stay. We picked one of the newest vans, which was comfortable and well appointed. Some of the other vans were clearly a lot older so choose your van carefully and (as with most things in life) you get what you pay for.

BTW: It really matters to the owners of the park not only where you park but also the direction your car is pointed in when it is parked.

Room Tip: Choose one of the newer (more expensive) vans. The older ones looked much poorer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank KD_MINX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunHavenValley, General Manager at Sun Haven Valley Country Holiday Park, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
- my response to the review I thought I'd posted seems to be missing so let me repost it

The Pool Table works like this. Our games room is aimed at the children, not the adults. Every year in July a small boy will come and say "Mister - the white ball is missing" - so we give him another. An hour or so later it will happen again - but if you check the pool table there will now be three white balls.

What this means is that the five and six year olds can play their version of "pool" with the white balls - for free ( as these return to you without payment). It clearly works best when there are four white balls as that's how many the kids "wangle" each year - so that's what we leave down there for the summer season. It keeps the small kids (and their mums) happy; the children move off the table when a paying customer comes in and watch a real game - however you can imagine the state of the cues and table. We are sorry you wasted your 50p, but can recommend local facilities with professional tables at £3- £5 a go; perhaps as you say - you get what you pay for ? IF customers are looking for a really good games room, that's not us, I would recommend a local and nationally known holiday park in central Newquay - lines of video games, fruit machines in the bars and disco, late night pool tables - and lots of staff to look after them, who walk home noisily at 2am when they close down - absolutely excellent if that's what you want. We provide a small games room and a small TV room to keep the kids entertained for an hour or a few whilst mum makes tea - as well as newly refurbished ( & highly popular) playground adventure towers, a thirty foot play train and a "crooked house" for the toddlers - all pictured on the website.

My comments on vans are provided elsewhere - the older ones are clean, efficient and in at least one case are used by people who want to come to our park several times a year and not just the once for their money. Whilst I don't think you've seen inside them, I can tell you that if the intensity of the colours of the upholstery and having the latest fashion in wall coverings is important then these vans are not for you, you want one of the newer caravans (at a higher cost) -but if you want two weeks and not one, or plan to spend most of your holiday out walking, on the beach, travelling around on the bus that passes our gate, then these are a "good value" option. - We have pictures of the interiors of each and every van on our website so can see and select BEFORE you pay for your holiday

We apologise for the Peugeot exhaust - the problem with the ever-cracking weld has been cured - and the direction of parking is simply consideration for other people - on a one-way road, if everyone faces towards the gate when the children are impatient to get to the beach it's an easy exit. When someone decides they have to be "different" and needs to drive against the traffic flow to go to the turning bay, then the reversing, reparking and manouvering annoys all the other customers - and all for the sake of turning a vehicle around when you get home rather than delaying the 45 seconds effort.

Thank you for the 4 point/star rating. I hope that indicates that you enjoyed Cornwall and Sun Haven Valley despite our ,dare I suggest minor, faults
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

My partner any myself stayed here in early June, although the weather wasn't great we still had a fantastic time. It was just what we wanted, a nice and quiet break away from the noise and crowds. The site is equipped with everything we needed, they had a well stocked gas cage and were happy to change it for us even though it was out of hours. The walk down to the beach was a little longer than 15 minutes but we weren't in any rush. I loved the guinea pigs out on the lawn it was nice to see that they were allowed to roam the area rather than being stuck in a hutch or peg for people to look at, we adored the ducks as well. This site is more for young families and not aimed for teenagers, as there is no entertainment except a small TV room and games room, (we used neither). We'll be sure to visit again because we absolutely loved it.

Room Tip: Look on the site plan before you book
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harriett S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2012

We stayed here in 2010 in our own folding camper and wanted something situated just off the beaten track, within driving distance of other towns/villages and amenities but also within walking distance of a nice beech. We got all of this! We had an incident with our awning and were offered spare poles if required by the owner. One family had a broken extension cable and were able to hire one, but they were not happy at the fee. I don't recall what the fee was but at least it was an option available to allow them to have power to their caravan. The site does have a strict no-noise policy and we welcomed this under canvas. The toilet and shower facilities were very good. added extras such as freezers available for freezing cooler blocks and microwaves for a 20p fee were welcomed. Nice play area for the children and a little avery and pen full of guinea pigs!
There is a walk to the beech which is down a lane and is probably a 20 minute walk with children and beech bags. it is flat and shaded in areas so is a nice pleasant walk.
Would highly recommend this site for its location, some nice village pubs, japanese gardens and lovely walks on the door step make for a varied holiday what ever the british weather! it is also only a 30 minute drive to Padstow (peak times) which has a good sized Tesco on the outskirts (approx 20 minutes drive). There is also a lovely little farm shop next door to the campsite offering a variety of home grown and baked produce.
If you're wanting a relaxing, quiet off the beaten track holiday but still within a stones throw of all the main attractions this really is a great place to try.

Room Tip: Near to the toilet block/play area gets very noisy/busy but be assured that the 1030pm curfew makes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

I have stayed here twice now and cannot fault it.
Its great for all the family with play areas for the kids along with pet guinea pigs that roam about.
It is out of the way but still close enough to walk down to the beach with your family and far enough out of new quay to not spoil your holiday with the endless stag and hen do's you can get in the summer months.
The staff are really friendly and helpful.
This is a really great place for all the family with some really good walks around it with an amazing farm shop next door.
There are family bath facilities for those who don't want to use the showers which are really good if traveling with little ones.
I would recommend this holiday park for families who do not like the big over bearing commercial sites.
Great value for money

Room Tip: choose the right caravan size for your family as with most caravans you need enough room for you all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank newmum2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Level 6 Contributor
232 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2012

I have not reviewed this park in the past despite the fact we have been staying here (on and off) since 1992. In that time I've seen 3 different sets of owners but each has maintained the parks reputation for quality amenitites and guaranteed quiet nights (essential if you are camping with children). The current owners in particular are not resting on their laurels but are constantly upgrading parts of the park. We started off camping on the lower field but for the last few visits we have hired a static caravan. For those under canvas or in their own "van" the site has a flat well drained field with numerous clean modern toilets and showers to hand. Most pitches have electric hook-up should you require it. Their hire fleet is (by and large) modern ,clean and well maintained. The prices are not the cheapest but you get what you pay for and in my opinion its worth paying that little extra to be away from the Newquay pubs and clubs brigade. The site has a well advertised "no noise after 10.30" policy and there is a night patrol to ensure that this actually happens ( not the case on many other sites ). All in all, if you're in the market for a family holiday in this part of Cornwall this site takes a lot of beating, That we've stayed there 15 times over the last 20 years must prove something :-)

Room Tip: If you dont have children likely to use the play area get a ptich or caravan at the other end of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Andy63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay here generally. The park itself was beautiful and the location fantastic. Just a 10 minute walk to the beach and nice and quiet in the countryside. There were ducks and guinea pigs running round which was nice for kids. It was quiet and just what we needed to relax. However, when we arrived we were surprised to see such a mix of new and very old vans. We were put in an old van, must have been from the 80's very dated and worn out. It was also not overly clean, we had to wash all the cutlery when we got there as it was dirty and so were the insides of the cupboards where the plates and dishes were. We left all this feedback with the park when we left. Also as it was September, on an evening it was slightly chilly and we wanted to light the fire, however it didn't work. This was reported to reception twice and neither time was it dealt with so we just left it and went without. Overall a lovely park but I would make sure you a get a newer van.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank meeks2491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunHavenValley, Owner at Sun Haven Valley Country Holiday Park, responded to this review, December 27, 2011
Sun Haven Valley sits in manicured grounds, on the side of a hill overlooking the valley's countryside, and we see no reason to restrict the Parks' availability to only those with deep pockets. We therefore offer a range of accommodation , from residential quality bungalows with central heating and double glazing - or a three bedroom caravan (with c/h, d/g) in the parks prime position having a private terrace overlooking the park; - or you can simply take a standard holiday caravans,- OR - for the last time in September 2011 you could have saved £44 ( before discounts) on the weeks accommodation and selected one of our 1997 "value" caravans - (the 1997 caravans were replaced in November 2011 in a rolling upgrade program).

We note that we do not "allocate" caravans. Customers select the type of van they take based on price (12 categories available) but are also able to select their individual caravan from the interior pictures of each caravan posted on the internet, - so there is no need of "suprises" on arrival.

Our 1997 caravans were fully let for the 2011 season by the many people who prioritise the park and countryside above the patterns on the wallpaper and the intensity of colours in the upholstery, and these customers have taken them in the manner they were offered - as a "good-value" option. (Those who pre-booked the same caravans in advance for 2012 will be receiving upgrades f.o.c.) It seems perhaps unreasonable to take the cheapest van and then complain that it isn't as new as the others ?

We pride ourselves on the standard of cleanliness as it produces many repeat bookings. Of course every cleaner can have an off day - and when we are informed on arrival that a vans state of cleanliness needs attention, we will sort the problem out. We encourage feedback as we can identify and train the cleaning staff concerned , but clearly there is nothing we can do ( except apologise ) if we are only informed a week later . We note that the major complaint was dirty cutlery and not dirty kitchen/bathroom/lounge.

I was able to light the gas fire without a problem - as was my teenage daughter - and the only fault the gas plumber could diagnose was 'operator error'.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mawgan Porth
0.3 mi away
The Scarlet Hotel
The Scarlet Hotel
#1 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
1,550 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
1,178 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Seavista
Seavista
#1 of 7 in Mawgan Porth
420 reviews
0.8 mi away
Trevarrian Lodge
Trevarrian Lodge
#6 of 7 in Mawgan Porth
79 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Park, Cornwall
The Park, Cornwall
#2 of 5 in Mawgan Porth
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Haven Valley Country Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Haven Valley Country Holiday Park

Property: Sun Haven Valley Country Holiday Park
Address: Mawgan Porth | Near Padstow, Mawgan Porth TR8 4BQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mawgan Porth
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Mawgan Porth
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peaceful, relaxing, self-contained, self-catering bungalows (& holiday caravans) on a countryside park just 10 minutes woodland walk from a large sandy beach ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sun Haven Valley Country Holiday Park Mawgan Porth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing