We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“worth every penny” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Scarlet Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Scarlet Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mawgan Porth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Kenilwoth England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“worth every penny”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2010

Have just returned from a weekend break with friends and really can't express just how good this hotel come spa is.
As regular travellers to the far east we are used to perfection in both architecture and service and are usually resigned to the fact UK establishments just can't compete.
We need search no more as the Scarlet is at least an equal to the likes of the Datai (our other favourite destination) and indeed is only a three hour car journey from home.
We have already re-booked for November.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andycarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,162
    218
    71
    17
    12
See reviews for
69
1,171
39
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (452)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rutland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2010

I have been wanting to stay here since it opened and my husband booked it as a surprise for our wedding anniversary, it exceeded our expectations. Loved the decor and the sound of the Ocean. Great service, fabulous room (Generous style), super menu at all times with taste to match. I was anxious having read some earlier reviews but have to say we found nothing to be too much trouble to the staff, drinks were always delivered promptly to our room, Spa pool and treatments were fantastic and the best thing of all was no mobile phone coverage, making for a totally relaxing, peaceful time, Thank you all at Scarlet, we will visit you again

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PMS7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2010

We were lucky with the weather as the last of the Summer sunshine made all the difference to our stay at the Scarlet Hotel. Our stay was absolutely fantastic but it may have only been superb if we couldn't have enjoyed the outside spa area, our private garden patio and the beach.

Everything is done brilliantly here and you can tell that the owners, designers and architects did their research before creating the Scarlet Hotel. There is such attention to detail that sometimes you're tempted to poke your nose round the corner or open up a drawer just to see what they may have done next.

The only small criticism is that some of the staff may have soaked up a bit too much of the atmosphere and were a bit too chilled out. This led to some poor service on a few occasions at the bar and on the terrace for lunch.

We booked a spa package, which on the face of it, seemed expensive (about £1,200 for 3 nights). However, when we looked back over the 3 days we actually felt as if the package was great value. The spa treatment was the best and most thorough we had ever experienced. Dinner was exceptional and the breakfast outstanding (as well as interesting with the menu changing daily). Free coffee or tea twice a day was a nice touch as well.

We had a standard room at the lowest part of the hotel and the design of the room was very well thought out. We didn't once think that we had missed out by not choosing a more expensive room.

In short, I can't recommend the Scarlet Hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kegglesworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2010

We visited The Scarlet on our last trip to Cornwall and were most impressed with the food etc that we made a point of coming back again.
We just ordered drinks and bar food so that we could enjoy the sea views from the terrace. A pot of tea took nearly 30 mins to arrive. Our food which consisted of pate/toast x 2 and 2 tarts took an hour. Just as we were about to leave the food arrived with a very lame apology.
Unfortunately, when we tasted it it was extremely disappointing indeed. Everything was tasteless!
When one of our party went to pay the bill and complained about the length of time we had to wait he was met with a blank face and not a hint of an apology.
It’s lost our business and we shall not be returning for a long weekend spa break as we had all hoped to book in the near future.
The service is appalling and needs addressing ASAP!!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Emma*002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
97 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2010

We had very nice long Aug weekend at The Scarlet, having flown down to Newquay, since we couldn't face the 6-8hr drive from London. The hotel is located on a beautiful part of the north cornwall coast, only a short walk to the lovely Bedruthen Steps area & beyond. The location is superb, with coastal cliff and beach views hard to beat.

The hotel building is all new, designed, built and furnished to a very high standard. Everything has been finished with great attention to quality and detail - Sadly, very unusual in UK hotels. It must have been incredibly painful navigating UK building controls !

Like the rest of the hotel, our "spacious" bedroom was genuinely very spacious, had a great view, and was very much a great piece of contemporary design. Very modern, with very high quality furniture and fittings. Also very comfortable and luxurious, with a very comfortable bed, very good quality linen and a very nice modern wooden fitted wardrobe. Not too Pawson in design, but not for someone who likes Laura Ashley. All done to an excellent standard, including the nice big contemporary shower room and separate bath tub. Everything was very clean and extremely well maintained.

Our room also had a good sized terrace with table and chairs, with fantastic views of the beach and sea - perfect for watching all the non-surfing surfers standing around in their wet suits !

The hotel has excellent facilities, with the Spa inside pool and sauna, and the lovely but rather chilly natural outside pool. We didn't use them that much, but the different communal lounge and bar areas, plus different outside seating areas (for that rare warm dry day) were a very nice touch. Everything completed to the same high standard. Being adult only, it is also very calm and peaceful.

As to the weaknesses of this great new British hotel - We thought the food was a bit disappointing: Both the steak and duck we had on two different evenings simply lacked taste or flavour. All a bit bland. Very odd, because the basic ingredients seemed to be very good, and it was very tender. Resto service was very friendly and generally able, but was sometimes a bit slow or patchy. If sitting outside or in one of the bar or lounge areas, you needed to go to a bar to get service. Perhaps the hotel saving money in the wrong way ? Generally, it needs to be a bit more attentive at this price level. Smiles only go so far.

We paid about GBP 350 for DB&B inc breakfast, as a reduced Earlybird price. At this price the rooms and facilities were not cheap but were good value given the quality. However, the restaurant needs to be better, and service generally moved up a notch. We will certainly return and would strongly recommend a visit to anyone who hasn't yet experienced a very high quality contemporary hotel in Britain - which also happens be in a beautiful location. It must have been a very big investment for the owners. I wish them well.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gmbklm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2010

We decided to treat ourselves after a week of southcoast path walking and we not let down. The sea weed hot bath overlooking the sea is a delicious, decadent treat, followed by hot stone massgages that relaxed all the achey muscles. The hotel itself is gloriously perched in a cliff/ hillside, designed for breaktaking views and relaxing public rooms. We stayed in a 'just right' room and it really was, "just right". Large bed, great sea view and balcony, superb facilitaties and truly luxurious organic towels. The food deserves a mention as do the wines. But, overall, it is the very genuine and friendly staff that make this such a restful and special place.. To be greeted and taken around by the lovely Gemma, looked after by Juilette in the seaweed bath, tended by the well-trained spa staff or chatting with the excellent restaurant staff made this an outstanding hotel. When we first arrived, we offered tea & coffee twice a day. We asked instead for hot water and lmeon to be delivered to our room in the morning and indeed, a large tea pot of hot water, cups and several pieces of freshly sliced lemon arrived with a smile. Nothing is too much trouble here. This is definitely a place to come with someone special for a special reason, moment, occasion or; just 'because'.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ERGM75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2010

I am going to start this review by saying that I am not a rich man, just an average guy in an average job so after finding the Scarlet's impressive website and hearing some positive rumblings from friends back home in Cornwall, I almost fell off my seat when I saw the prices! However, this was a surprise treat for my girlfriend's 30th and I was planning well in advance so I got an early bird discount, saved up and hoped it would live up to expectations.

It did, incredible location, amazing sea views from everywhere (including our 'just right' room), attentive, friendly staff, great food and an amazing building! The standard of finish of this hotel is unbelievable, even in our 'basic' room we had contemporary bathroom fittings, designer lampshades and furniture and our own little outdoor space to watch the sun set from. I would describe the hotel as a playground for grown-ups, several lounge type spaces with different moods, impressive spa facilities with great little pool and steam room and great outdoor hot tubs.

Is it expensive, yes, but you can see where your money's going and I've never had such an opulent experience from a hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KernowBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mawgan Porth
0.1 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
5.1 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
Driftwood Hotel
Driftwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in Trewithian
5.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
22.1 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 25 in Falmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
21.4 mi away
The Idle Rocks
The Idle Rocks
#2 of 6 in St Mawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Scarlet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Scarlet Hotel

Property: The Scarlet Hotel
Address: Tredragon Road, Mawgan Porth TR8 4DQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mawgan Porth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mawgan Porth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Scarlet Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simply put, we are a beautiful 37 bedroom hotel built to the highest eco standards, boasting delicious locally sourced food and the best Ayurvedic inspired spa you can imagine.Discover an escape for grown-ups, to eat, dream and play in peace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Scarlet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Scarlet Hotel Mawgan Porth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing