We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, shame about the service”
Review of The Scarlet Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Scarlet Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mawgan Porth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Somerset
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, shame about the service”
Reviewed July 10, 2010

The breath taking view as you walk into the hotel was just beautiful, and so was the hotel it's self, with lovely designed areas to sit, relax, drink and eat. The beach a short walk from the hotel is perfect for surfer watching, and bird watching which can also be viewed from the resturant, making breakfast a particulary great experince.
Unfortunately the down side was the room, it felt like sleeping in a bathroom, as the bath was incredibly close to the bed, (the picture on the website showed the bed in a different place). We had the Unique room with our own garden, which was over looked by seven balconies, some so close we could easily see into their rooms. The pod was a lovely place to sit, but had very little views of the sea, unless you stand on the very stylish log table. But the big let down was the very poor service, we asked for extra pillows twice, and never got them. Myself along with four other guess's waited for service in the non manned reception area for a large amount of time, with no sign of any member of staff , I gave up along with most of the other guess's, this happened on two other occasions. A hotel of this class should be perfect, to be honest we have had better service in a travel lodge. We were so disappionted with our stay and after spending so much money it left a bitter taste.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaisyBSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,197
    231
    73
    17
    14
See reviews for
71
1,216
39
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (463)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2010

Beautiful hotel and spa. The facilities of the spa are second to none, beautiful treatment rooms, stunning indoor pool and pretty outdoor natural pool - for cool water lovers only! The hotel rooms are furnished in a very modern and contemporary style with wonderful sea views. The restaurant was very good with an exccellent choice of dishes and pretty good wine list. Attentive young staff, not sure if the lack of a formal reception really works, nice idea but a bit hit and miss. Nothing was too much trouble, If flying to Newquay for a break a car not necessary as so close, we got a taxi to Jamie Oliver's 15 one night. The seaweed hot tubs are unmissable - the complimentary studio classes may be an aquired taste - best if you are a very holistic type! All in all a very good experience and wil return sooner rather than later.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonPug2black
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2010

stayed only one night but these people know how to look after you . Nothing was too much trouble and so relaxing. Food brilliant and the room was light, spacious and heard nothing from other rooms (very unusual). Natural outdoor swimming pool, hot tubs overlooking the bay plus indoor pool for all you softies.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mosieDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2010

Just returned from a 3 night break, we stayed in Room 11 'Indulgence'. We had a wonderful visit, the staff (all seem to be local Cornish) are very helpful and always take time to chat. The room was larger than i had imagined & has a somewhat unique open plan layout that we found very refreshing having stayed in so many generic hotel rooms. Sound proofing from rooms above & below was very good, with no noise at all. Breakfast menu changed each day with some great choices. We ate in the the restaurant on one evening & found the food & service to be top quality. The wine list was a bit different as they seem to sourcing more 'organic' wines than the typical hotel wine list would have. On the whole the eco-nature of the hotel is done very well & certainly didn't detract from our holiday experience, i'm sure there will be many more eco-travellers than i, that would appreciate much that the hotel offers.
The setting of the hotel above the bay gave some terrific views from our room & the 'retreat terrace & lounge'. The hotel was fully booked whist we were there, but it never felt particularly busy or crowded, one morning when leaving breakfast there seemed to be a small late rush, but essentially there were always plenty of staff to manage the situation.
The Scarlet Hotel is without doubt the best UK seaside hotel i have stayed in. All this comes at a price but i think they have raised the bar on the standards that can be delivered in hotels in Britain.
I fully intend to return again & again !!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BournePlace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2010

Location amazing
Rooms stunning
Staff helpfull and friendly
Outdoor pool / hottub highlight
Food quality
Service stoggy and a little grumpy at breakfast and dinner - but gets there in the end
Spa wouldnt rebook journey but pool etc is lovely

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tben03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south west
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2010

We stayed at the scarlet in June and had a fantastic 4 days. The location is beautiful-views of the sea and the coast. With easy access to the beach/ surfing/ walking. The hotel feels luxurious and we felt very pampered by the staff. Food is fresh , creative and dietary needs are well catered for. It's a modern hotel, well thought through, with a great outdoor pool and beautiful spa. I would recommend it. Just make sure your room has a sea view/ balcony - some rooms in more expensive range don't seem so special.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TahlulaSouthWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gloucestershire
Level Contributor
65 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2010

What can i say this place is amazing you have to experiance the scarlet to understand why we went for a romantic weekend for our wedding anniversary and wasn't dissapointed the rooms ,the food and the service is second to none if your thinking of going book it i recommend it wonderful place.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dipsey52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mawgan Porth
0.1 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
1,159 reviews
5.1 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
4.4 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
Driftwood Hotel
Driftwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in Trewithian
473 reviews
15.8 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,518 reviews
22.2 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 23 in Falmouth
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Scarlet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Scarlet Hotel

Property: The Scarlet Hotel
Address: Tredragon Road, Mawgan Porth TR8 4DQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mawgan Porth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mawgan Porth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Scarlet Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simply put, we are a beautiful 37 bedroom hotel built to the highest eco standards, boasting delicious locally sourced food and the best Ayurvedic inspired spa you can imagine.Discover an escape for grown-ups, to eat, dream and play in peace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Scarlet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Scarlet Hotel Mawgan Porth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing