We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious Hen Party”
Review of The Scarlet Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Scarlet Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mawgan Porth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
cornwall
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Luxurious Hen Party”
Reviewed March 25, 2010

We have just thoroughly enjoyed a Saturday night stay at this amazing hotel. Four good friends, a celebration, spa treatments and fantastic scenery. We really couldnt fault anything. Anyone wishing to indulge their senses surrounded by Cornish seas should not hesitate to book.
I Recommend the seaweed spa bath outside its incredible.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fringegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,210
    235
    74
    17
    14
See reviews for
72
1,231
40
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (470)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gloucestershire, UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2010

What a stunning weekend we have just had and what a perfect hotel the Scarlet is. It is set in an amazing location above a long stretch of sand and beautiful cliffs that is Mawgan Porth bay. The hotel opened 6 months ago and was a new build on the site of an old hotel. The whole ethos of the hotel is relaxation for grown ups and I don't think I've been anywhere where I felt quite so chilled out. The hotel has been built on eco principles and the decor is stylish and minimal with plenty of impressive pieces of local art. There are a number of places to relax with a book etc. and look out on what I would have to rate as the best coastal view in the UK. The bedroom was fantastic. Crispy white linen beds, huge shower heads, open plan area with sofa, bed and bath/sink with separate toilet. No tea/coffee making facilities or fridge as you get 2 teas/coffees per day included in the rate and they want to bring you fresh, proper tasting stuff. Restaurant was superb- flavoursome and stylish with a menu where you actually fancy every dish. Lovely bar on the mezzanine floor- designed so you can people watch your fellow guests. Staff superb- nice balance of friendly and professional. Looks like a great spa which we look forward to trying on our next trip and lots of people spoke really highly of the hot tubs perched on top of the cliff. Had a great walk to Watergate Bay (about an hour there and an hour back) and enjoyed some beach walks too. There's plenty to do in the local area but why would you bother driving out when you can just relax from the stresses of life in the beautiful surroundings of the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lucy_haighway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthWest UK
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2010

My fiancee and I spent a long weekend at The Scarlet as a celebration treat. We're lucky enough to stay in some fabulous places fairly regularly, so appreciated the promise of a purpose built couples only hotel with a spa on offer at The Scarlet.
Quite simply, the location, setting, design and gadgets are reminiscent of a Bond Movie - everything is glass, shiney, designer-made, and even the lighting design changes throughout the day in the building - fabulous! The views of the beach from the main hotel are amazing. We stayed in a 'unique' room, which we thought was a little oddly named as it was one of a handful of rooms exactly the same. The design of the room was a bit magnolia but also quirky, we liked it, but the pod room was a bit of a disappointment because the view was mainly of the roof.
We ate breakfast daily and had two meals in the restaurant. Unfortunately this is where we feel service is really important and we were let down. The Scarlet wants to be informal, "like you're visiting a friends house" - on the literature. When my friends come to stay, they don't get the same food menu every day, they get a drink in their hands as soon as possible (with regular refills often) and don't have to wait, ask, wait and ask, and wait and ask some more. We're chilled out people normally (honestly!), but we had to make a joke of the service in the end - that the food was being cooked on solar panels and summoned through the magic of dance - in line with the eco-credentials. One of the members of staff even wore slippers! We love unobtrusive, not invisible service. We also spent time in the lounges of the hotel and although there are motion sensors to help staff know where you are (very like a Q gadget) no sign of anyone - we'd have easily fancied more wine/ cream tea etc. if we'd have had the opportunity.
The spa was lovely, treatments were fine - again staff were absent and empties were randomly placed about the lounges, which almost served to prove mockingly that someone somewhere was about to help. We'd recommend that you book your treatments and a hot tub slot at the time you make your hotel reservation. The times are very limited so you have to be well organised in advance, and can't just turn up like the laid back guest you long to be.
All-in-all, it's definitely NOT a 'Dr No' - we'd urge you to go and visit and see for yourself what a fabulous location and building has been achieved, but bear in mind that you have to be patient- please eat elsewhere at least once (we'd v. highly recommend Thirteen) and give the local pub a go. You only live twice!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GBAGIL1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2010

We were lucky enough to spend a weekend at the Scarlet, taking over the whole hotel for my brothers' civil partnership. We had VERY high expectations but the Scarlet not only delivered on every single count, but surpassed themselves on everything!

What makes this hotel sooo special and magical is the attitude of all of the staff. Every single one of them were happy to help with anything we asked for, and always did everything with a 'can do' attitude - I never had to ask for something more than once. They were also all very obviously happy to work there too! Congratulations on getting such an amazing team of people together.

The Manager, Nikki Broom, needs special recognition for all of her help in organising our weekend - always so patient and calm - THANK YOU for making it so extra special for our families and friends.

Ben and his team did a fab job for all of our meals at the Scarlet - steak cooked to perfection, desserts that were simply DIVINE, really helpful and friendly waiting staff, and every single thing we ate there was just delicious! Ben even delayed his paternity leave (congrats to his family) to make sure that he was there for our weekend!

The spa is glorious, the reception has stunning views and definitely has the wow factor as you first walk in, I didn't manage to have a cliff top hot tub, but everyone who had one said it was lovely. Every space within the hotel is really well thought through and very peaceful, relaxing and calm.

We saw all of the bedrooms and they are all really well thought through and really comfy. The beds are massive and cosy and the views are stunning. I was lucky enough to stay in an indulgent room - gorgeous decor, massive room, amazing view, really well thought through space too!

There is plenty to do around the area (if you REALLY want to go out!) - gorgeous cliff walks, surfing/water sports, spa, spa treatments, horse riding, swimming, relaxing!

My only complaint is that we had to leave - I could happily have stayed forever.

The Scarlet is a perfect relaxing haven of gorgeousness. I cannot recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smanth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2010

I arrived at the Scarlet on March 5 along with 40 other friends and family who invited to the civil partnership weekend of two dear friends. First impressions are always highly significant, so get this - as I stepped into the lobby I was struck by the airy, bright and colourful setting. The view through the broad glass windows across to the sea was incredible. As the various traunches of guests arrived, dumping luggage randomly to greet others, the staff of the hotel were immediately at hand to greet us, sort the luggage into neat, ordered groups and so the 'check-in' kind of happened without us really noticing. From that point on the staff continued to be subtle in their approach to going about their business but very obviously helpful when individual requests were made for drinks, service, shoe cleaning, spa treatments, help with advice on the best beach walks to take and so on. Nothing but smiley faces and friendly things to say!

I won't go on and on about everything that was wonderful about the hotel: accommodation (wet room showers), food, tranquility......but I must mention the spa. Wow! Emma, you rock! I had the sea weed facial. Every part of the hour's experience was amazing, relaxing, refreshing (I had a hangover!) and personable. The tented rooms, the soothing music and colours of the spa made it a place that I did not want to leave and am still longing for!

How any of the reviews above could have been anything less than a 5 star review astounds me! Were these people really at the Scarlet????

Well done to Nikki and her 'Scarlet team' - I have now discovered a new piece of the world to which I will be returning!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonFlash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2010

I stay in a lot of good hotels through my job. Many are 4 or 5 star but very often the star rating aligns itself with how far up themsleves these places are.
The Scarlet Hotel is as good as any 5 star hotel but without the arrogance or the pomp. Its a very relaxed place where the attention to detail is amazing and the service excellent.
I stayed in a Just Right room which was far more than that. I also saw the other rooms and enjoyed almost all the facilities at this hotel.
The food is exceptional, I think the chef had a Michelin Star when he was working in London.
The spa treatments are very good. Its not all about manicures here, if you ask for a physical massage, thats what you get (ouch).
The setting on the hillside and views are wonderful and best enjoyed from the hot tub overlooking the bay.
Above all i think it is the staff at The Scarlet that make the place what it is. They are so obviously pleased to be there, remember your name, go our of their way to help. And there is no black trousers/white shirt brigade here - the staff are as cool as the place.
What more can I say - save up and go. And if youre brave enough, go surfing with the surf shack school next door - brilliant and quite bracing in March I can tell you.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aus10p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2010

We stayed at the Scarlet for 3 nights just after Valentine's day in an indulgent room which has to be the best contemporary hotel room that we have ever experienced and we have travelled a lot.
On arrival, we were greeted by Penny, who is a real treasure, shown to our room and then given a tour of the hotel which really made us feel welcome.
As there is no formal reception area, there is the feeling that you are more of a house guest and this is something very different from the norm.
The location is very special, overlooking a lovely small bay.
Our room was so spacious that we didn't want to leave it but we did venture into Padstow and walked to Watergate Bay.
Breakfasts were wonderful, the one evening meal that we ate in the restaurant was extremely good but the highlight was our gastronomic picnic from the anywhere/anytime menu which was delivered on two large trays to our room one evening.
In our opinion what makes the Scarlet special and stand out is:
The complimentary tea and coffee brought to you anywhere in the hotel
The stunning views from every window
The calming effect of the relaxation room in the spa area
The vibrant colours throughout the hotel
The quietness in the room, including the mood lighting
The non hotel feel
The friendly staff
The many lounge areas
Bearing in mind this was the first week of the re-opening, the service was a bit slower than we expected and the hot tub was not that hot! The staff uniform doesn't do the hotel justice it is just a little too casual.
Having no mobile signal and internet only available in your room may seem a negative for such a modern hotel, this couldn't be further from the truth as it just goes to show once inside the Scarlet you do not want outside interference.
We will definitely go back and cannot recommend highly enough

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EnglishLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mawgan Porth
0.1 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
1,178 reviews
5.1 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
4.4 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
Driftwood Hotel
Driftwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in Trewithian
481 reviews
15.8 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,548 reviews
8.4 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Scarlet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Scarlet Hotel

Property: The Scarlet Hotel
Address: Tredragon Road, Mawgan Porth TR8 4DQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mawgan Porth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mawgan Porth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Scarlet Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simply put, we are a beautiful 37 bedroom hotel built to the highest eco standards, boasting delicious locally sourced food and the best Ayurvedic inspired spa you can imagine.Discover an escape for grown-ups, to eat, dream and play in peace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Scarlet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Scarlet Hotel Mawgan Porth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing