We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Relaxing Break”
Review of The Scarlet Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Scarlet Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mawgan Porth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed November 15, 2009

We spent a lovely four days at the Scarlet in October. The views were amazing. On arrival we were greeted by a friendly member of staff and given a tour of the hotel before being taken to our room.
Our room was a "Just Right" room comfortably furnished. We could sit in bed and see the sea.
We both used the Spa and can fully recommend it.-having short journeys. the therapists were very good and went out of their way to tailor the treatments to suit our needs. I also had a lovely pedicure in the room.
The restaurant was superb. I especially enjoyed the breakfasts which were cooked to order and any additional requests sorted if possible.
The quiet places in the hotel were lovely-just to relax and read.
We would thoroughly recommend the Scarlet for an away from it all break with dedicated staff who just want to please.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CharlieElizabethAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,623)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,586 - 1,592 of 1,623 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2009

Whilst I agree that the hotel is a good piece of architecture, we found our experience of it as a hotel to be disapointing. The hotel is on a cliff top overlooking a beach, but apart from that beach there is nothing to do in the immediate area, and the weather whilst we were there was terrible, leaving us to use the spa only. The spa is very nice but we found that a number of the treatments advertised were not actually on offer. We were a little irritated that this place seems to want to be different, but for no real reason, eg no manned reception, staff "multiskilled" so the cleaner in the morning can also be the sommelier at night, all spun to seem very chic, but in terms of actual service delivered really a case of "emperors new clothes". Look behind the greenwash and the hype and you have a good looking boutique hotel in an average location, with average service and a few weird gimmicks. We found the staff very pleasant but very vague. We would probably return but only when its on an offer, otherwise although the design is excellent, the product just doesnt warrant the expense.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank babolio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2009

My Husband and I decided to treat ourselves to a weekend in Cornwall and chose The Scarlet for its difference. I liked the idea of staying in luxury eco.
Overall experience was great - wanting somewhere to chill out and enjoy the local scenery. You can, however, notice that this hotel has only just opened as there were little things missing.
Walking into the hotel you are greeted with the most amazing view of Mawgan Porth beach but not by hotel staff. If you're going for the relaxed informal hotel reception that's great but your staff need to be there to greet their guests when they arrive.
The deco is cool and funky in the day but becomes warm and cosy by night. We had a 'Just Right' room (standard) and it was comfy but I question if its worth the price. You need to feel 'close' to who you're sharing the room with as the only thing separating the loo from the bedroom is a glass panel. View from the room has to be one of the best I've seen - just a shame that we couldn't open the patio doors due to the parcel tape stopping the wind from blowing in.
Spa is great and the staff were fab. Our hot tub host, Dom, needs a medal for standing out in the wind and rain while we experienced the hot tub on the cliff. (although it was more of a luke warm tub)
If you've got a bit of cash to spare and fancy a bit of eco luxury then The Scarlet is worth a visit. The surrounding area is lovely for cliff top walks and you can walk into Watergate Bay and enjoy a meal at Fifteen or the Beach Hut.
I'm sure all the little things that aren't quite finished will soon be sorted and will make for a fabulous hotel and spa.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamEm09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2009

We stayed for 2 nights and found everything to our liking, The hotel is contemporary and a little bit different from most hotels, not at all formal or stuffy, but friendly comfortable and original. Its very stylish, and I loved all the furnishings and very quirky art. The staff were very helpful and friendly and there were always plenty around whenever we needed something.

The food is excellent, and it was really nice to have something different on the menu for breakfast, none of the usual help yourself buffet tables, or the usual big fry up, but a lovely fresh menu, which included fresh fruit compote, granola, and fresh cooked mackeral. Its also really nice to be able to order a complimentary fresh pot of real tea a couple of times a day.

Our room was one of the "generous" ones, with a nice 6ft bed, and plenty of storage and room to move around. The bath and basin were in the room, but we had a huge wet room style shower and toilet behind an opaque glass door. The rooms are very stylish and the only fault we could find was that it was lacking a couple of robe hooks for the complimentary towelling robes.

The view of the beach and sea is just the best, and it was great to open the curtains and patio doors in the morning and lie in bed just watching and listening to the sea.

We used the spa facilities and the indoor pool and steam room are lovely. I had a "short journey" spa treatment which consisted of a consultation followed by a wonderful massage. My therapist Tamarin was fantastic and really tailored the treatment to suit my needs.

We took advantage of one of the special offers and hope that these continue throughout the year. We had a great time and look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beachlovers103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2009

We stayed for 4 nights at the Scarlet in Oct 09. There is no doubt that the location of this hotel is great but our welcome was very poor - in fact off putting and throughout our stay the service was bad - waiting long periods to get served breakfast and dinner (on two occasions just giving up) and bedrooms not getting cleaned until very late in the day. It all felt that guests have to fit around the hotel staff rather than the other way around. The Scarlet should spend less on marketing and promotion and get the basics right first so that they give people the experience they deserve.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LondonWise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2009

My wife and I spent a few days at The Scarlet on a minimoon. The hotel's architecture wowed us with its contemporary styling and airy open spaces. The views were spectacular from the various relaxation rooms and the balcony of our room. The staff within the hotel were very helpful and welcoming. The breakfast menu was absolutely stunning but dont fill up on the toast as the main dish is worth the wait. On the second evening we ate at the hotel restaurant. The food was typical of fine dining and showed off the local produce in the best light. My wife felt completely relaxed from her time in the spa.

The only issue is cost, but if you are looking for something special, this is the hotel for you.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David75Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2009

Architecturally this Hotel is stunning, the location is idylic and the facilities and rooms luxurious. However on our arrival we were greated nicely enough shown our room but nothing else. not even where the way to the restaurant. We gradually found out for ourselves all the things that the hotel had to offer, but when my wife tried to book atreatment, the person on the desk in the spa was having a very in depth telephone conversation with a pal, so we had to wait for her for five minutes or so only to find out they'd lost the keys to the cabinet with all the oils and unguents necessary for any treatments. "How annoying is that ?" she said cheerfully.

The food at dinner and breakfast was excellent although again the service a little odd. At breakfast we had to wait a good fifteen minutes for granola and then a further half an hour for a cooked breakfast. No explanations - I think because the staff didn't really seem to know what was happening. A congealed egg eventually arrived but having waited so long I didn't have the will to send it back.

That evening after our meal we decided to have coffe sent up to our room, no problem we were told. But they forgot about it completely !

This was the main problem , for a hotel in this price range
you'd expect a lot more from the staff. They're all very friendly but the service was more like you'd expect in a Pizza Express rather than a five star hotel.We didn't mind being called "guys" rather than "sir & madam", but the old boy in mustard cords at the next table looked apoplectic. Its clear who the intended target audience is, but when we were there the average age seemed a lot higher.

I think our stay was within about four weeks of the hotel opening so maybe these were teething troubles.

The whole experience was typified by our experience on checking out. I mentioned that the hotel was lovely and we'd enjoyed our stay but we'd had a few probl;ems with service. "Yeah it is a bit sketchy" he grinned with no hint of an apology.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Monstroon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mawgan Porth
0.1 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
1,255 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
5.1 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 24 in Falmouth
216 reviews
15.8 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,623 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Scarlet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Scarlet Hotel

Address: Tredragon Road, Mawgan Porth TR8 4DQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mawgan Porth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mawgan Porth
Price Range: $276 - $445 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Scarlet Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simply put, we are a beautiful 37 bedroom hotel built to the highest eco standards, boasting delicious locally sourced food and the best Ayurvedic inspired spa you can imagine.Discover an escape for grown-ups, to eat, dream and play in peace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MrandMrsSmith, Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Scarlet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Scarlet Hotel Mawgan Porth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing