We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect stay for our Silver Wedding” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Scarlet Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Scarlet Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mawgan Porth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect stay for our Silver Wedding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

We stayed at The Scarlet for 3 nights for our Silver Wedding Anniversary and it was perfect. Our room was great with a fantastic view, the food was amazing, the spa was lovely and nothing was too much trouble for the staff who were all really friendly, helpful and attentive. The hot tub on the cliff was an amazing experience even with the wind and hailstones!!! We will definitely go back and have lovely memories of our celebration. Thanks to you all for an amazing experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jules140360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erica L, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Happy silver wedding anniversary! It's always such a pleasure welcoming guests celebrating such a lovely special occasion, and it's lovely to hear that you had an amazing time with us and have taken home many wonderful memories. I agree, the hot tubs are fabulous in any weather! Thank you ever so much for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,162
    218
    71
    17
    13
See reviews for
70
1,171
39
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (452)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

This is probably the best spa experience I've ever had and at a reasonable price, especially as it included a very delicious lunch.

I had the hammam and a head massage. The relaxation areas were so comfy, I fell asleep! I 'think' it was quite busy but with the space in the spa and the very discreet management of treatments, it never felt busy. Perfectly relaxed.

The big chains such as the Champneys of this world could learn a thing or two from the Scarlet Spa! Certianly more than you'd expect from a hotel spa. Fabulous.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Spaceraider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erica L, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Thank you ever so much for sharing your experience, and also for leaving such kind feedback for the Scarlet Spa, I really enjoyed passing it on to them. The spa team are truly fabulous, and spending the day with them really is a wonderful way to relax, pamper and 'just be'. I am so glad that you had a wonderful time and that we provided the best spa experience you've ever had. Hopefully it won't be too long before we welcome you again for more of the same.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, England
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

Having visited The Scarlet in high season last year for a family celebration, my husband and I were determined to take a winter break here - and what a great decision that turned out to be! Every minute of our stay really was perfect. This was maximised no doubt by one most beautiful February day - it was warm and sunny, we walked without coats, ate lunch on the rooftop terrace, and had a celebratory drink in the hot tub before our siesta.

Walking on the beach and over the cliff tops towards both Watergate Bay and Bedruthan Steps (if you do this one make sure you take a pit stop at the fabulous little National Trust cafe) are bracing and rejuvenating experiences not to be missed, especially if (like us) you are not really spa people.

The food was great, too. Breakfasts offer a three course "menu" - I loved my pear and creme fraiche option - seated in front of the wonderful views that are the hotel's main feature. We also had lunches and dinners, too, and enjoyed them all tremendously. We unashamedly enjoy good food, and are prepared to pay for it, and were very pleased that we had taken the inclusive DB&B package. Some reviewers have sounded disappointed with the food, but we were the opposite - and our appetites were certainly sharpened by relaxation and the wonderful sea air!

The service was, as everyone agrees, excellent - friendly and efficient without being obsequious. We especially enjoyed the complimentary tea and coffee trays brought to us whenever we wanted them. Our room was one of the "Just Right" ones, and it was just that - just right (for us). It had uninterrupted sea views, felt completely private and had everything we needed.

We will most certainly go back, and have many happy memories of this short but perfect stay. Thanks to all who helped to make it so.

Room Tip: We thought that the Just Right really was just right. We booked direct with the hotel and if you tal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SueMason27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erica L, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Thank you ever so much for taking the time to write such a kind review of your recent stay. I'm glad that everything was perfect, and I'm so pleased that you had a lovely, sunny day to make the most of the cliff walks as well. I definitely agree that a brisk walk with the wonderful sea air definitely sets one's appetite up for dinner (and for my own personal favourite, an afternoon Scarlet Cornish tea overlooking the sea, with a glass of fizz for extra indulgence!). I will really enjoy passing your lovely comments on to the team here (with a special word to the kitchen) and we look forward to helping you both create many more happy memories again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

We had a superb stay at The Scarlet this weekend. Whilst most of Cornwall was under the water, Newquay was beaming with clear skies and sun. we absolutely loved our stay, our hot tub experience under the stars was unbeatable. The Rassoul treatment was a unique offering from the spa as we had our own private steam room. Staff were friendly. The only let down was our arabiata pasta - the cherry tomatoes were too sweet! We would recommend a table tennis area.

We will definitely be visiting again during the summer with our bicycles!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChickpeaIsOut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erica L, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Star gazing from our hot tub with a glass of fizz is, I agree, unbeatable! I'm really pleased that you also tried our rhassoul experience as well, such a wonderful treatment for a couple to enjoy together, especially over Valentines. Thank you for your review, and also for your feedback. I will raise your points to the relevant teams here. We hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
130 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

My husband and I arrived here on Valentine's Day with my sister & brother-in-law after experiencing the most challenging landing ever into Newquay Airport, due to (yet another) exceptional storm hitting the south-west coast of England.
However as soon as we had checked in this was long forgotten as The Scarlet has a wonderful way of allowing you to completely switch off, as you're both mesmerised by the stunning coastal views and the outstanding surroundings of the hotel & spa.
Dinner on Valentine's evening was outstanding. Our spa experience on the Saturday afternoon was the best we have had and perfect after a lazy stroll on the sunny but windy Mawgan Porth beach below the hotel. Book a hot tub as you will enjoy this experience regardless of the weather - rain, wind, sun - who knows with our crazy weather at the moment! Luckily we enjoyed a glorious afternoon hot tub after a swim & steam in the spa.
The young staff were superb in their professionalism and attention to detail, delivering faultless service every time. A special mention goes to Aimee who gave me a fantastic hot poultice massage in the spa..... it's a shame you are based so far away as I would be tempted to make this a regular indulgence after a long week at work.
All in all, chose The Scarlet as you will not be disappointed. We hope to return, but might look into visiting their sister hotel the Bedruthen, with our daughter, as this is their family-friendly hotel in the area.
Thank you to everyone at The Scarlet who made our stay so enjoyable and memorable.

Room Tip: Room 8 has lovely views across the beach (as would all rooms in the hotel) and is situated with leve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsALove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erica L, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
I am so pleased that you had a wonderful Valentine stay with us and that the storm didn't detract from your stay or our lovely coastline. I completely agree that our hot poultice massage is absolutely divine and will pass your compliments on to Aimee as well as the rest of the team. Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review, and we hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paignton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014

This is the best hotel we have ever stayed at. The whole experience was absolutely amazing, they upgraded our room as it was our honeymoon and the room itself was really modern very nicely decorated and the views were incredible. The staff were so friendly and attentive which really added to the whole stay. We don't think we could have stayed at a better hotel, the facilities were superb including the spa and hot tub. We ate predominately at the hotel and the food was amazing and we could get room service for no extra charge which was lovely. Overall an amazing honeymoon and we couldn't recommend the hotel highly enough!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erica L, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Thank you ever so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review, and congratulations again, to the both of you. A honeymoon is such a special celebration, creating memories that last a lifetime, so it's lovely to hear that you cannot recommend us high enough! Such kind words that I will really take pleasure in passing on to the team.

Best wishes to you both on your new chapter together and we hope to welcome you again soon (perhaps a nostalgic anniversary visit in the future?)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014

We have just returned from our stay at The Scarlet to celebrate my birthday, valentines day, and our anniversary. From start to finish it was another amazing stay. Once again the staff were friendly and helpful and went the extra mile to make sure we always had whatever we wanted.

Our room was incredible, and had gorgeous views that I could never get tired of! I had a lovely birthday card addressed to me from the staff which was a special touch, and it's personal things like this that make the difference.

We enjoyed 2 cliff-top hot tub sessions. One in the daytime, and one at night. A very romantic experience - for £15, everybody should do this at LEAST once during your stay. It was windy and stormy and cold, but we were warm in there! Absolutely lovely.

We ordered lots of complimentary tea, played pool, swam in the pool, relaxed in the steam room, had wine in the hot-tubs, and even borrowed a couple of chick flicks from reception to watch in our room. With rooms are as luxurious as this, we didn't feel much like venturing out!

Although it was stormy and cold, the sun came out for us for 1 day, and we made the most of it with a long walk on the beach, which is also stunning!

All in all, another incredible holiday at The Scarlet and we have already decided we are going to return for each anniversary to come in the future! Looking forward to it already - Thank you!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EmilieWright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erica L, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
I am so glad that your return visit to us was as incredible as the first, and we made it special enough for a triple celebration! I completely agree that our hot tub experience is absolutely a must for any couple - nothing more romantic than watching the waves together from them, especially with a glass of fizz. It's also lovely to hear that the sun did make an appearance for you as well so you could go for a wander. I'm perhaps a little bias but I do think we have some of the prettiest coastline in the whole of Cornwall.

Thank you ever so much for taking the time to share your experience, and it's wonderful news that you're planning to return next anniversary. We look forward to welcoming you back then, if not sooner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mawgan Porth
0.1 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,108 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
5.1 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
Driftwood Hotel
Driftwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in Trewithian
5.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
22.1 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 25 in Falmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
21.4 mi away
The Idle Rocks
The Idle Rocks
#2 of 6 in St Mawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Scarlet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Scarlet Hotel

Property: The Scarlet Hotel
Address: Tredragon Road, Mawgan Porth TR8 4DQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mawgan Porth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mawgan Porth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Scarlet Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simply put, we are a beautiful 37 bedroom hotel built to the highest eco standards, boasting delicious locally sourced food and the best Ayurvedic inspired spa you can imagine.Discover an escape for grown-ups, to eat, dream and play in peace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Scarlet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Scarlet Hotel Mawgan Porth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing