We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you only read one review....”
Review of The Scarlet Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Scarlet Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mawgan Porth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed December 10, 2013

I hardly ever write reviews, but feel compelled to do so following my visit last week. This hotel is exceptional. I consider my standards to be very high, but this hotel excelled. I'll try to keep it simple. The quality of the food was something else. To the point that both myself and my wife decided you could pick anything from the menu (even things you previously felt you didn't like) and it would taste sensational. The chef should be applauded, as should the speed and efficiency of the dining room. Truly first class. The hotel is beautifully arranged, with lovely art work, and cosy communal spaces (most with amazing views). The staff could not do enough to help and the quality of the rooms was well above expectations. I cannot wait for my next visit.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrMommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison B, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

Thanks ever so much for finding the time to post such a nice review. It's wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay and particularly our restaurant so much, and I will enjoy reading your comments out to our Head Chef and his team this evening.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,645)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

911 - 917 of 1,645 reviews

Reviewed December 10, 2013

We mistakenly managed to book in-to The Scarlet as a rather large family group ( all adults) although the IT system must of failed the hotel as this is not supposed to happen. The management were very good in honouring our booking although it quickly became apparent that this is most definitely a couples hotel! Children are not allowed and I can see why; the emphasis is on grown up adults having a very splendid time and this they do extremely well. The hotel prides itself on it's high eco credentials and the architecture is intriguing and quietly radical. We entered Mawgan Porth via Newquay- do not do this, Newquay is in the book'Crap towns of Britain' for reason and any encounter with it will spoil the ambiance of The Scarlet. Mawgan Porth is a very ordinary cluster of bungalows but the coast is a big Wow; the sand is fine and gorgeous white and the cliffs and sea view are spectacular. If you want pretty Cornish seaside town take a short trip from The Scarlet to Padstow. The food at The Scarlet was quite brilliant; imaginative and beautifully executed I can not fault it. Breakfast takes time so take down your newspaper or book or be content to look out the window. The Spa is amazing; no attention to detail has been missed and again the view- you won't get much better. The hotel has invested heavily in original and contemporary art and this is quite a joy; spend some time appreciating it and some is also for sale.The bedrooms are rather design conscious if on the little self conscious side; not so sure about the open plan bathrooms. The toilets are not exactly open plan but make sure you know your bed partner well- privacy is limited when nature calls! There are no tea/coffee making facilities in the rooms but a system of dialing for free room service. It certainly works and as ever polite and cheerful member of staff will turn up at any time of day. My only criticisms are that they need to put more tea in the tea pot-( it was always a bit weedy) and the rooms are quite hot even with-out heating it felt a bit airless. The staff are truly brilliant though- staff training been implemented at the very highest level as they were all following the same code of perfect behavior.Overall a wonderful hotel which stands out among the the so called Boutique crowd; Cornwall is extremely lucky to have it.

Room Tip: All rooms have sea views but the rooms are hot. If you are on the ground floor the only way to get e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shaunastanton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison B, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely, detailed review, and yes the coastal walks close to us are stunning! It was really good to read that you enjoyed yourself so much and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Spent three nights at the Scarlet, being pampered and eating and drinking - spa was lovely, treatments great and very very relaxing. The staff are attentive and copious whenever you wanted something someone was there to help, whenever you wanted a hot drink delivered it was only moments away. Views of our favourite cornish bay are wonderful. Didn't want to leave!

Room Tip: all rooms are great with sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EnglandComfortseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison B, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post such a lovely review! We are so pleased that you had a wonderful time, and I will pass your kind comments on to the teams.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Only here for one night on this trip but was as good as we remembered. Got to use the Hot Tub on a cold and windy night, but it was perfect, highly recommend you try them. Everything was great, staff, food and room. A very slight niggle with the light from the thermostat shinning in my eyes all night, but I am hopeful they will come up with a solution in the rooms where this could be a problem before we stay again. Not to be missed particularly off season when quieter and cheaper.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnthonyPit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison B, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

I'm so glad that your return to us was as good as your last visit, and what a lovely evening, relaxing in the hot tub listening to the waves crashing beneath you! . I have passed your comments on to our maintenance team for them to look into the light issue. We do hope to see you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

This was my first time in the hotel my daughter's second. It lived up to all expectations. The views are fantastic, food incredible and our room was immaculate. The artwork on display is amazing. Spa was so good loved the pods. The staff were helpful but not intrusive, At lunch a member of the team came to speak to my daughter, he remembered from her previous visit her food intolerances and amended the menu to suit her both at lunch and dinner. Only problem with the stay it came to an end too quickly!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 940Diane_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison B, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

How kind of you to write such a lovely review of your stay here with your daughter and it was great that you had such a relaxing time in the spa and enjoyed the restaurant so much. I hope you will come back with your daughter again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

This was our second time in the hotel. You will never feel more welcome and like at home in any other hotels. Rediscover Each Other Journey in SPA - Definitely worth a try. It was fantastic birthday treat for us. Watching sunset from hot tube with glass of champagne - just perfect and very relaxing.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monika Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison B, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

It was really lovely to read your review of your stay with us and to hear how wonderful the Rediscover Spa Journey was for you both .... and the bubbles in the hot tub at sundown seemed to top it all off nicely! Hope to see you here again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Stayed at the Scarlett a couple of weekends ago in one of the Ground Floor rooms. Fabulous, wife loved it. Very blissed out, didn't want to leave. The rooms was great (OK it was an open bathroom arrangement which may not suit couple who are new to each other, but it was our 15th anniversary), very clean and freshly painted (slight smell of paint as you entered the room makes you realise what the Queen must think all rooms smell like), and all services worked, with exception to the phone that was connected incorrectly (impeccable service put this right).

Super breakfast (best porridge in the south), lunch there is perfect. Amazing views, spa is terrific. Very, very quiet and long may it remain so.

Looking forward to returning sooner rather than later.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beedied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison B, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Wow! What a really lovely review of your recent stay with us and so glad you both completely chiled out - I have passed on your kind comments to the teams and they look forward to your return next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mawgan Porth
0.1 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
1,285 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
5.1 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 24 in Falmouth
222 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
21.4 mi away
The Idle Rocks
The Idle Rocks
#1 of 5 in St Mawes
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Scarlet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Scarlet Hotel

Address: Tredragon Road, Mawgan Porth TR8 4DQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mawgan Porth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mawgan Porth
Price Range: $331 - $423 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Scarlet Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simply put, we are a beautiful 37 bedroom hotel built to the highest eco standards, boasting delicious locally sourced food and the best Ayurvedic inspired spa you can imagine.Discover an escape for grown-ups, to eat, dream and play in peace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Scarlet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Scarlet Hotel Mawgan Porth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing