We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow the perfect honeymoon!!”
Review of The Scarlet Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Scarlet Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mawgan Porth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed November 16, 2013

The scarlet hotel is an absolute gem!

We booked 3 nights for our honeymoon after a recommendation from a friend. This hotel surpassed all expectations and was an oasis of calm after a hectic year of wedding planning.

The staff are so accommodating and nothing is too much trouble. You can order a pot of tea at anytime from anywhere in the hotel and within a couple of minutes it arrives - a lovely touch.

I must recommend the hot tub on the cliff tops; we went at 8pm and even though it was raining it was the perfect way to finish our break with a glass of bubbly.

Can't wait to come again

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolineLJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison B, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2013

Congratulations! So good to read you had a lovely honeymoon here at The Scarlet - and braving the hot tub in the rain - sounded amazing - especially with the bubbly!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,581)
There are newer reviews for The Scarlet Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

862 - 868 of 1,581 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2013

This is a lovely hotel with fabulous views, nicely situated rooms with great vistas over the bay. Food excellent and interesting choices of wines, spirits, beers etc., not all the usual brands. Pool is amazing if a little small, great views over the ocean, and good steam room and relaxation room to unwind in. Hot tubs on the cliff top are an unusual feature and great at sunset, even when it's chilly out! Friendly and helpful staff, including when the fresh tea and coffee is brought to your room in the morning (at no extra charge!). Highly recommended, would definitely stop there again. Pure escapism.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison B, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a kind review of your recent stay with us and it was good to read you will be coming back to stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

The staff are exceptional. From walking through the door to the room service, the spa and the restaurant they seem to genuinely want you to have the most special time possible.

We really don't normally go back to places as we enjoy new experiences and new locations. Scarlet is the exception, we just feel at home, and at peace.

Everything about the place is just so "right" and yes I do look for "wrong" (check out my other reviews!) but can never find it.

We hope to enjoy many more visits over the coming years.

Room Tip: All rooms are amazing... the views are just to die for...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xxxplymjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison B, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

I was very relieved, after reading your review, to see that we are still delivering to your high standards! We are very much looking forward to seeing you here again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We had a fantastic 4 day spa break which surpassed everything you see on line. The photos don't do it justice . From the moment you arrive in the lobby ( no reception, they just know you're there !) to the fantastic view of the sea and the artwork around the hotel. The room was the best we've stayed in, the only complaint was we couldn't cool it down quickly, but that will be an advantage during winter !
we had a couples spa experience which was the best we've had and the Hammam was hilarious... try it and see :) you've also got to try the hot tub on the cliff, it was raining but so what, the water was 40 degrees - lovely.....
we didn't enjoy the food as much as other people seemed to - perhaps we were there at a bad time ? it certainly won't put us off going again

Room Tip: Indulgent is the one but any with a seaview will do it !
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank florence88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison B, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

It was really lovely to read your review of your stay and it sounded great fun in the spa! I hope you can come and stay with us again and I have passed your comments onto the kitchen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We didn't know quite what to expect but from the minute we walked in through the door till we left we enjoyed every single minute. The attention to detail and the courteous staff meant we didn't want to leave. The staff are worthy of particular mention because nothing was too much trouble. There was a relaxed feel to the whole place with lots of areas that you could sit, relax and have a drink.
The food in the Restauarant was first class and our room had a great view and a small balcony to sit and enjoy it from.
Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison B, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a kind review of your recent stay - and I will let the teams know you were well looked after, and that you will be back to stay again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

Simply the best venue, service and food we have experienced in a very long time. This place raises the bar for other hotel restaurants. The location is simply stunning and the staff are incredibly attentive. We went with another couple of friends for lunch and felt like we could've stayed for a couple of days. The place is so relaxed and tranquil. We will definitely be going back for a short break to enjoy all the facilities.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank ggm_devon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison B, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

I am so glad you had such a good lunch here with your friends and that you are coming back to stay with us for a short break soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

I dont really know where to start! WOW says it all!
From the moment you arrive you are welcomed by friendly attentive staff. A calm tour around the hotel and you already start to feel at home, meeting staff on the way. Although we arrived early we did not feel in the way and could enjoy the facilities whilst we waited.
Our room was then ready and it was fab! Great sea view and very stylish. The bed was amazing, wish we could have taken it Home!! :-)
Spa - wow, I have never felt so calm and relaxed.
Food - amazing!! You can clearly tell care, attention to detail and time has gone into putting these dishes together. Every dish is perfect.
Wish we could have stayed longer. We will be back! Thanks everyone at the Scarlet!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Rosemary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison B, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

We loved reading your review - thank you for taking the time post it - and it sounds like you enjoyed all that Scarlet has to offer, it will be great to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mawgan Porth
0.1 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
1,206 reviews
5.1 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
4.4 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
15.8 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,577 reviews
22.2 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 24 in Falmouth
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Scarlet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Scarlet Hotel

Address: Tredragon Road, Mawgan Porth TR8 4DQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mawgan Porth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mawgan Porth
Price Range: $307 - $451 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Scarlet Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simply put, we are a beautiful 37 bedroom hotel built to the highest eco standards, boasting delicious locally sourced food and the best Ayurvedic inspired spa you can imagine.Discover an escape for grown-ups, to eat, dream and play in peace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Scarlet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Scarlet Hotel Mawgan Porth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing