We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lesley B. Rejuvenating break”
Review of The Scarlet Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Scarlet Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mawgan Porth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed March 29, 2013

It's all been said before ! Calm , relaxing hotel . No need to dress up if you don't want to -- a bonus when you want to travel light . The Spa is a very special place . Highly recommend the
" Spa Journey " , we were impressed by the standard of the therapists . The early morning classes are fun , try the Transformational Dance , it was a real workout ! We were expecting the food to be good but it was more than that -- no need to go to Padstow , the chef here really knows what he is doing . We plan to return ......

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lesley b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison B, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Thank you for your really kind review of your recent stay and I have just popped down to tell Tom (our head chef) how much you thought of his food. The kitchen were all very chuffed to hear!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,622)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,080 - 1,086 of 1,623 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2013

This hotel is just 'out of this world' and you receive an 'out of this world' experience yourself once you've visited this amazing place. The position of this hotel which overlooks the bay where all the rooms get a sea view is idyllic. The hotel design throughout is exquisite and very well maintained.
The Spa offers a wonderful array of treatments and 'journeys' for singles and couples wishing to indulge themselves in some lovely pampering time, including the hot tub that juts out on the rocks overlooking the sea!!
Relaxing and chilling is definitely the theme here and a super idea for birthdays, hen do's, anniversaries etc...
The staff are friendly, approachable and very helpful with nothing being too much trouble. The food and service in the restaurant is second to none; each day I couldn't wait to see the choice of this 'modern British' style cuisine offered on their menu. Once again the restaurant has views out towards the sea with an outside terrace for use in the warmer weather.
I defy anyone not to have a totally unforgettable experience here.This was our 2nd visit to this hotel and we intend to return later in the year...after all...we deserve a little 'us' time!!

Room Tip: There are 4 styles of rooms here, each one has a sea view with terrace although the smaller rooms ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison B, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Thank you so much for the fabulous review of your recent return trip and totally agree with you that we all need some 'me/us' time, & our spa certainly helps with the unwinding and recharging! We look forward to seeing you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

A fantastic stay. We booked through mr & mrs smith website and had a complimentary hot tub treatment. We stayed in the most expensive room and I have to say it was worth the money. The room was as beautiful as the views.

The service was fantastic. Everyone went the extra mile.

I would strongly recommend making use of the spa and the treatments they were excellent. However best of all was the food. Make sure you eat in the restaurant. The dessert we had was the best we'd ever had. The 3 course breakfast was fantastic too.

It is expensive but not pretentious. Well worth it and I couldn't recommend it enough

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 7RossD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison B, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Thank you for your really kind review of your stay and so glad you had such a good and relaxing time with us and that you will be back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

As soon as we stepped into the reception area, we immediately felt at home. It was very obvious a lot of thought had been put into making The Scarlet Spa Hotel a very special place to be. We loved the fresh uncluttered modern design & furnishing. The architect & its owners took full advantage of the lie of the land & our “spacious” bedroom looks out onto uninterrupted stunning view of the cove, beach & the Atlantic Ocean beyond. Our bed was sooooo..... comfortable that we had a struggle to get out of bed in the morning! The food was fresh & locally sourced and quite scrumptious with excellent service. We experienced “the journey” spa & a must when visiting. An inviting sea weed bath in a hot tub heated by biomass wood chips situated discreetly in the beautiful garden looking out to sea sipping champagne (my husband) & herb tea (for me) was simply exquisite. Sadly 4 nights was not quite enough & we will be back......... Thank you Debbie, Rachael & Emma & all the staff for providing this wonderful experience which will stay with us for a long time.

Room Tip: "Spacious" room was excellent with plenty of room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marciaballard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison B, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

It was so lovely to read your review of your magical stay with us - and I have passed on your really kind comments to the teams you mention. Hope to see you here again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We have just had such a wonderful break at this hotel with friends.
From the welcome to the farewell, it was just so very special. All the staff seem to genuinely care about their guests and are friendly but professional.

The hotel is in such a beautiful location , high on the cliff overlooking the sea, and it was lovely hearing the sound of the waves. Easy for walking along the cliff path too. The layout of the building seems to make the most of the location and the views.

The food is excellent, as is the wine list and the service from the staff superb.

We really enjoyed the hot tub and the indoor swimming pool which is not chlorinated. The hotel is very eco conscious which gives an added dimension to being there.

The toiletries are lovely and so are the rooms. My only regret is that the bed , although extremely comfortable was a double bed, and we are used to sleeping in a king sized one, but this did not mar our stay and we will certainly be going back there.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seggiesmoggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison B, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

How kind of you to write such a lovely review of your stay with us and your particular comments about our staff are very much appreciated and I have passed them on to the teams.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed at The Scarlet for 5 nights from 17 March. It is in a beautiful location with excellent coastal walks and scenery - you can even borrow the hotel dog to take with you on a walk. We were in a "just right" room which was very comfortable with lovely views over the beach. The bath and bedroom are one room with the wc and shower screened off. You can lie in bed and watch the surfers on the beach or sit on your private balcony and look out to sea. There are no tea making facilities in the rooms but you can order two complimentary tea/coffee servings each day. Fresh bottled water is provided in the room each day. The restaurant is excellent as is the bar food. There is an extensive vegetarian menu as well as a meaty one. The hot chocolate is scrummy. The spa area has a great chlorine-free pool which looks out to sea as well as a steam room and relaxation room with beds and beanbags and hanging pods. We did the outdoor seaweed hottub experience which was half an hour in a warm tub on the deck looking out over the beach. The hottub host brings robes, towels and drinks to you during your hot tub session - it's great. We tried out the Wild Cafe at the sister hotel Bedruthan nearby, which whilst was the food was nice was full of young families, in fact we were the only diners there without a baby. The Scarlet is great in that it's for adults only. There is no mobile phone signal at the Scarlet but it comes back when you go down to the beach. There is free wifi in the hotel and a computer for guest use in the lounge. The staff are great - very helpful and friendly. We had a very relaxing week here and will be returning sometime soon.

Room Tip: The garden view "just right" rooms look out over the garden to the beach and are very quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thebotleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison B, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

What a lovely review of your getaway to stay with us for a week - it sounds like you totally relaxed and enjoyed yourselves - which is exactly what we want!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We've been lucky enough to visit the Scarlet for the 3rd time and once again it doesn't disappoint by way of setting and style.
Its a beautiful hotel with lovely rooms and views. its a great place to get away from it all. My only slight critic would be the food, I just don't love it but I'm sure lots of people do. The menu never hits the mark for me, but its OK. I must say the tart for sharing for pud is delicious.
We tried a hot tub this time on the cliff edge which was wonderful and relaxing.
We also went to Jamie Olivers on one night which was wonderful. The risotto was amazing and the service wonderful.
We would recommend and be going to the Scarlett again.

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful and so very different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ErmerP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison B, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Thank you for your really kind review of your third stay with us and it was so good to read that you are coming back to stay again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mawgan Porth
0.1 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
1,254 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
5.1 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 24 in Falmouth
216 reviews
15.8 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,622 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Scarlet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Scarlet Hotel

Address: Tredragon Road, Mawgan Porth TR8 4DQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mawgan Porth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mawgan Porth
Price Range: $276 - $444 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Scarlet Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simply put, we are a beautiful 37 bedroom hotel built to the highest eco standards, boasting delicious locally sourced food and the best Ayurvedic inspired spa you can imagine.Discover an escape for grown-ups, to eat, dream and play in peace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, MrandMrsSmith, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Scarlet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Scarlet Hotel Mawgan Porth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing