We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Scarlet Christmas is Wonderful!”
Review of The Scarlet Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Scarlet Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mawgan Porth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“The Scarlet Christmas is Wonderful!”
Reviewed December 28, 2011

We'd nearly been put off booking originally as friends felt sure it was a hotel for the 'uber-trendy', and we're definitely not in that age group. Not to be deterred, we stayed in October, and decided to go again for four nights over Christmas - we couldn't have chosen to go anywhere we'd have enjoyed more!

We want to take this opportunity to thank Nikki Broom, the General Manager, for not only taking great care of the guests of all ages (NO children!), but for encouraging a really splendid and charming team, for whom nothing is too much trouble.

Yes, as reviews comment, the hot tubs outside overlooking the sea are wonderful, definitely not to be missed, even for my 80 year old husband, but do try the hammam, not to be confused with the usual Turkish experience of a pillow case of Fairy Liquid in your eyes, but a really relaxing experience, leaving one with new babe skin.

After a Just Right room last time, which we found extremely well planned and comfortable, we upgraded to a Generous room as a Christmas treat (no real need to, please note!), you should know tea and coffee are served any time free of charge in the rooms, although you will pay for your morning paper.

Christmas had been planned beautifully, lots to do but no pressure to do anything - singing and dancing lessons, photography, Yoga/Pilates, wet suits provided on Christmas morning for those brave enough to swim in the sea, but hot chocolate served for us all on the beach - a couple of meals on group tables, but the rest in individual parties - we're not generally 'joining in' people, but we couldn't have enjoyed it more - everyone joined in, was interesting and charming and nothing other than a smiling face anywhere. Some drinks were included, which were well chosen - Bucks Fizz on Christmas morning with breakfast, La Gitana Manzanilla before lunch, and even a wine tasting.

The chef did a brilliant job of planning the varied and interesting menus from apple juice, through smoked haddock fishcakes with a poached egg at breakfast to dinners equal as a delight to the eye as to the taste, as much locally sourced as possible, and clean plates in every direction. If you should also be lucky enough to stay for Christmas, don't miss on the scones for tea - with home made jam and clotted cream - they beat any before. If you have problems with gluten, or dairy, don't worry, just ask, and they also have decaffeinated tea too - the whole team couldn't have tried harder to give us a more memorable holiday.

Recovering from a major op, I couldn't drive from London this trip, but the train was fine to Bodmin Parkway and the hotel organised a local taxi - an easy journey!

Home to diet and work up to the next trip to the Scarlet - very many thanks to all the team - you deserve every one of the good reports you receive. Happy and successful year, keep up this high standard and you can't fail to do well!.

Room Tip: They all overlook the sea and all with balconies, just ask if you require one nearer reception or th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carringtoncraggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanviewCornwall, General Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post this detailed and informative review. A great deal of time and effort goes in to planning our Christmas package and it is really wonderful to hear how much you enjoyed it. I hope we will see you again next Christmas if not before.

WIth my very best wishes

Nikki Broom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,197
    231
    73
    17
    14
See reviews for
71
1,216
39
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (463)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2011

Love this place. Will save our pennies and be back.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bettybooLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanviewCornwall, General Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post this brief, but positive review. I hope we will see you again soon.

Best wishes

Nikki Broom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2011

We stayed for a long weekend and loved every moment. The food is excellent (dinner was better than Rick Stein's or Fifteen, we thought). We enjoyed 45 minutes in a cliff-top hot tub (a must do), a 4 hour couples' spa experience (very romantic, and useful: we learned massage and after the hammam I discovered layers of skin unseen since circa 1986), and a long beach walk (a dog kept running up to us so we could throw her ball, but she insisted we take turns). The indoor pool is spectacular. The hotel has numerous nooks and crannies, a fire place here, a pool table there, a cool bar area. The service was uniformly excellent and charming. We enjoyed our 'generous' room with its wonderful view.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michaelcosm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanviewCornwall, General Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this review, December 28, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post this lovely review and picture. What a dramatic sky! Are you sure the dog was not Jasper thats just the sort of thing he does!

Best wishes

Nikki Broom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camborne, Cornwall, united kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2011

we stayed here for a weekend with our two dogs. The building is stunning and the art work gorgous and you did'nt need to now the artists life story to enjoy or understand their work.
The food and wine was truely top draw and delicious. But what made our stay so special was the staff, the were helpful , polite, joyful and chatty all in the the right amounts and they genuinely want you to enjoy your stay. I can not speak highly enough of this hotel and you can see why it has won awards and may they win many more and be recognised for their stunning service and atmosphere with the lovely building which is cleverly designed well done to the architect.

Room Tip: all rooms were good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank merrynrogers63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanviewCornwall, General Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this review, December 28, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post the lovely review. We will share your thoughts with our friends at Harrison Sutton Partnership (Totnes).

Hope to have the pleasure of your company again.

Best wishes

Nikki Broom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2011

The Scarlet is like a haven by the coast. The views are absolutely stunning and if you're a fan of luxury and sustainability then it's definitely worth the price. The art around the place is amazing and the attention to detail on comfort and design is great.

We stayed for 2 nights at the end of November and it was quiet, which we loved. No idea how busy Mawgan Porth gets in the summer but there doesn't yet seem to be anything else in walking distance that's remotely up to the standard of The Scarlet - so be prepared to travel if you want to eat elsewhere (Fifteen is only 2 miles away), or just stay put and enjoy everything The Scarlet has to offer.

We also stayed at St Moritz, which is good too, but more conventional and feels less exclusive. We would recommend both - as well as Salt House at St Ives.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tunbridgewells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanviewCornwall, General Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this review, December 28, 2011
Thank yo for taking the time to post this review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay, November is a wonderful time to visit when the beaches and coast paths are much quieter and all in all very relaxing.

I hope we will see you here again.

Best wishes

Nikki Broom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorleywood
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2011

After extensive research my wife and I decided The Scarlet Hotel would be an ideal location for a relaxing October break in the UK as we have a baby due late in December so flying is not an option.

We were very pleased on arrival as the hotel lives up to the impressive online gallery, lovely decor and amazing views all around. There is no reception desk as such and we were greeted as soon as we arrived in a relaxed lobby area given a brief tour and shown to our room. We chose a standard room which was more like a junior suite. The room was lovely, spacious open plan with a bath easily big enough for two with a great shower and a balcony with an amazing view. The furnishings are lovely; I particularly liked the bedside furniture and coffee table and wished I'd asked where I could buy them.

I like to swim and the indoor pool with its high glass walls was fantastic as is the adjacent steam room, unlike some (but not for long) I didn't brave the outside pool!

We both enjoyed a journey in the spa which was absolutely lovely, quite expensive but worth it, the therapists had genuinely listened during our consultations and we both had a great massage, we had expected to have our treatments together, so if you want this I would make it very clear when you book.

A great option is to take Jasper the hotel dog for a walk on the beach; unfortunately we didn't manage this as he is very popular and gets booked up in advance!

We returned to The Scarlet again in December and this time stayed in a unique room which was fantastic, I can't fault the just right rooms but in you're in two minds I'd go for the unique room option.

All in all The Scarlet is a lovely hotel with a relaxed atmosphere and a wonderful spa with lovely staff; it's also ideally located for visiting Padstow and Watergate Bay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmmcakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanviewCornwall, General Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this review, December 28, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post this review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and do hope we see you again. You may want to stay at our Sister hotel Bedruthan Steps with the baby and pop down to us for lunch or to use the Spa.

Best wishes

Nikki Broom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
95 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2011

We stayed here for two nights on a Spa package. Getting to the hotel is fine, Sat Nav helps and I guess if you are going to stay on the Cornwall Coast you shouldn't expect it to be too straight forward.

Once at the hotel there is reasonable parking and the reception immediately makes to feel relaxed welcomed. There is a circular bar with couples seating areas around the side. A games / lounge area and then a really nice restaurant area, split on two levels. All very nicely done and giving you an intimate experience.

We stayed in one of the rooms with a turret, ie a small seated area up some stairs that enable you too look out too sea. This was a nice touch, though we didn't use it. The room was spacious, a nice bed and a shower that was open on the room, something i have always liked. The bath was standalone in the room too. There was a small outside area, which would be great in summer, though we found it good too.

The staff were all very friendly, making you feel always relaxed and welcome, the food was good, with great choices.

On our last day we did the spam including the outside tubs, which you must do if you are staying there, it's a wonderful view. The spa treatment itself was very good, relaxing as it should be, i personally could have done with out the new age speech at the beginning ... it was all very earnest.

What else? Well it is a very short walk down the beach which at sunset in winter is lovely, you have it to yourself with the odd surfer and i loved it.

So why no 5* ? Well only because while we were there I only saw one person laugh / smile and that was the member of staff who helped us to the outside hot tubs. Otherwise it all seem seemed very earnest and serious. Maybe that's the Eco thing i don't know, but it all seemed to be just a little bit too serious. Maybe that's just me though. I am sure there are loads of people who will love it completely! I loved all of it too, just more smiles and more seaside fun !

Room Tip: Make sure you book the outdoor hot tubs !
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zenman1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanviewCornwall, General Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this review, December 28, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I was really surprised to read you felt the team all seemed too serious and not smiling enough as I generally receive feedback to the contrary. Hopefully we will have an oportunity to demonstate this to you on another occasion.

Best wishes

Nikki Broom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mawgan Porth
0.1 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
1,159 reviews
5.1 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
4.4 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
Driftwood Hotel
Driftwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in Trewithian
473 reviews
15.8 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,518 reviews
22.2 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 23 in Falmouth
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Scarlet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Scarlet Hotel

Property: The Scarlet Hotel
Address: Tredragon Road, Mawgan Porth TR8 4DQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mawgan Porth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mawgan Porth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Scarlet Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simply put, we are a beautiful 37 bedroom hotel built to the highest eco standards, boasting delicious locally sourced food and the best Ayurvedic inspired spa you can imagine.Discover an escape for grown-ups, to eat, dream and play in peace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Scarlet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Scarlet Hotel Mawgan Porth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing