We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable, peaceful, casually fabulous and just beautiful”
Review of The Scarlet Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Scarlet Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mawgan Porth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
London
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“comfortable, peaceful, casually fabulous and just beautiful”
Reviewed July 20, 2011

This is an 'eco' hotel but don't be put off by that - there are no festival type toilets or dirty hippes knocking around!

The design of the place is very chic and modern, but comfortable and cosy. The rooms have no aircon but big floor to ceiling sliding doors onto balconies looking out to sea, so you're never short of a cooling sea breeze.

The food is lovely, they make you cups of tea and coffee whenever you want, lovely bathrobes, towels and nice toiletries including handmade natural soaps which they provide a bag for you to take home.

The spa is gorgeous with indoor and outdoor pools. There were quite a few honeymooners here, and I'd highly recommend it for romantic escapes.

Also, there's virtually no mobile phone reception, so for frazzled professionals wanting a proper escape from emails and calls, this is heavenly.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WilliamsLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanviewCornwall, General Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2011
Thank you for posting this lovely review. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope you to see you again the next time you feel the need to escape or just have a romantic break.

Best wishes

Nikki Broom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,221
    237
    74
    17
    14
See reviews for
74
1,238
41
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (472)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2011

There has been a lot of thought and planning poured into the design of this interesting new hotel. There are many ways that it can demonstrate it's Eco credentials. From the reed filtered outside pool ( a lovely way to cool off after a spot of sunbathing or an hour in the hot tub), through the (now pretty standard) 'please re-use your towels but leave in the bath when you need fresh ones', to the use of off cuts of copper for signage and old tyres for the 'do not disturb' notices and spa sandals, not to mention the biomass boiler fueled with FSC wood, the LACK of air con (just open the french doors onto the balcony for the fresh air, sea view (and sound) and a rocking chair in the sun. Also in the deconstruction of the old previous hotel materials were recycled and reptiles re-homed. Two of the owners who envisaged The Scarlet still run the Bedruthan Steps just above in the village, so they have not 'moved on' as alleged in another review. The building has the least visual impact of any building in Mawgan Porth when viewed from the cliff path. It looks to belong there and has obviously been built to 'fit in'.
We were welcomed brilliantly, bags taken care of, showed around and then to our room which was light and airy, and felt very private. In the bathroom area there was a slab of beautifully smelling organic soap and some moisturising lotion from the spa and in the shower ares were small bottles of wash gel, shampoo and conditioner. In the showers in the Spa changing rooms were larger bottles of the same. We stayed a full week and did not use up the whole of the smaller bottles between two, although we DID use the Spa shower rooms a couple of times. I am sure that had we run out these would have been replaced, as would the soap.
The staff were very helpful and always seemed content and happy to go the extra mile, including bringing drinks and food to wherever we were in the hotel or grounds (and no 'room service' supplement).
The food was at all times of a very high standard, not surprising when it is known that the chef has previously obtained and maintained a Michelin Star. Service at table was not rushed and felt just right as we drank in the beautiful view from the dining room. This is a hotel that does not use its location to justify a shoddy service but uses good service and food to enhance its positioning.
The Artwork displayed (much of it done by local artists) was inspiring and uplifting and the Spa rooms were peaceful and restful. Never had a problem obtaining a sun lounger outside and as has been remarked upon despite the hotel being full for the first few nights there was never a sense of 'busyness'.
We experienced an amazing sating of all the senses. The smells of the bathrobes and the Spa, the tasty food, the visual impact of the building and it's outlook, the sound of the sea and the touch of crisp white sheets thru to soft robes and lovely fleecy blankets to snuggle under on the terrace when watching the sunset over the sea.

Room Tip: The just right rooms seem perfectly adeqaute and many (if not all) have a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank neal_jolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanviewCornwall, General Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write this detailed review of your stay at the Scarlet. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay so much. I do hope we will see you at the Scarlet again sometime soon.

Best wishes

Nikki Broom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 16, 2011

Stayed here with friends for three days - so chilled we added another day on! The area is beautiful and the hotel just seems to slot in. Staff were lovely - not in your face just there when needed and food very enjoyable. Atmospher is very relaxed but professional and what you would hope from a coast hotel - some how stuffy county house just don't suit the beach scene . Enjoyed our stay and will be back.....pennies permitting.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evamayjohns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanviewCornwall, General Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review the Sacrlet on trip advisor we really apreciate our guests taking the time to tell the rest of the world about our hotel. I do hope we will see you here the next time you feel the need to chill out for a few days.

Best wishes

Nikki Broom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, UK
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2011

Starting at the end; yes, we recommend it and would go again. Food excellent and good value (especially if you book the all-in package). One always feels a bit churlish criticising a very good establishment...but some niggles: the owners promote the place as an ECO-wotsit hotel, which is fine up to a point. You may not like the outside pool which is edged and lined by rocks and plants; not sure what you are treading on! And it's cold. Whereas in the indoor pool you could poach an egg; far too hot.Odd for an ECO-wotsit hotel. Why do (most) hotels believe that 4 pairs of sun loungers is sufficient when you have 37 rooms; there is loads of room for more. Spend some money please. Room is good but spartan; bed, bedding and pillows 10/10 but one piece of soap the size of an After Eight Mint to share around between your basin, shower and bath; and they give you a bag to take it home in if there is any left.Ha! They won't change your towels or sheets without a specific request; so don't stay for a month! The 'blurb' in the room takes half a page of text telling you why they are NOT giving you a coffee/tea tray in your room; having said that they have an 'any time, any place' service for drinks and snacks which works really well. The food is interesting and good and the menu changes substantially every day which is good if you are staying a while. However the eating experience is slightly spoiled by two things. There is no-one 'in charge' in the restaurant. Their relaxed approach is fine if it works (all the staff are bright and pleasant) but you can be asked by three different staff if you are ready to order and you can wait an age for drinks to arrive from the bar. No real system, it appears. Also the chef will not be rushed; it says so on your menu! Particularly at breakfast; if you need to eat in less than an hour and a half you will need to make a fuss. Don't be content with a table in the middle of the restaurant; the floor bounces (the structural engineer was mean with the steel) and this could really put you off your meal; stick to round the edges. All-in-all a good place and relaxed atmosphere; the ECO-wotsit thing is fine for getting planning consent (done) and for the owners (somewhere else by now?) but is a bit overplayed, especially when you look at the posh cars outside which have each probably put 200+ Kilograms of CO2 into the air just getting there and back. Not as bad as I make it sound. Try it.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanviewCornwall, General Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Scarlet. I would like to assure you and other readers of our genuine commitment to the environment which is inspired by the owners Debbie, Emma & Rebecca and is delivered by our team all of whom do their bit.

For further information please visit http://scarlethotel.co.uk/environment.asp

We are a Luxury Hotel and as such we often have some very luxurious cars in the car park, but we do offer guests who arrive by public transport, on foot or by bicycle a 10% discount off their 1st night.

Thank you for your comments on your dining experience. We have recently made some changes to how we run breakfast and feel sure our guests will see the difference.

If you would like to discuss your stay further please do not hesitate to contact me nikki.broom@scarlethotel.co.uk

Kind regards


Nikki Broom
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2011

We went for lunch - but go for anything - you just want to sit on one of these ridiculously big rattan chairs and look out over the natural pool to one of Cornwall's most beautiful beaches. Sip a cocktail while watching beautiful people sit in giant red tea cup shaped Jacuzzis by the side of the pool. I found it on the recommended list on Nathan Outlaw's site and it is quite hard to find under restaurants, its main thrust is as a spa/hotel. It is designed to the nth degree and great fun for posing. I particularly liked the offer of a friendly dog to accompany you on your walks, just ask at reception, now that is a spa first as far as I know and a real treat. The food is ok - lunch is set £16 - £19 and represents good value for the opportunity to be part of The Scarlet for a few hours. it is not really a foodie destination, although the staff are lovely and the tables have stunning views, the food is fairly pedestrian, if it ever gets its food to match its views look out Padstow you won't get a look in. Waxlyrical Oxford

Room Tip: Quieter further away from the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OxfordWaxlyrical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanviewCornwall, General Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts following a visit to the Scarlet. We hope to see you again in the future.

Best wishes

Nikki Broom
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltash, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2011

The Scarlet is a fantastic hotel which offer the combination of luxury and environmental awareness. Although not cheap it is a must for those with children who want a retreat for themselves from the hum drum of every day life.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redltcdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanviewCornwall, General Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review the Scarlet. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay.

I just wanted to avoid any confusion over this review. The Scarlet is a hotel for grown up's only and I think this reviewer is suggesting it is a good place to Escape to without the children and have a break away.

Best wishes

Nikki Broom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2011

We had read a review of the Scarlet shortly after it opened so decided to stay here for our 10th Wedding Anniversary.
We stayed in a Just Right room which was lovely, once we got used to the (very) open plan bathroom! The view of the sea, and the sound of the waves through the window were incredible, helped by the best weather we have ever experienced in Cornwall.
We ate at the hotel both nights and the food was amazing, although the service on Saturday night and Sunday morning, although friendly and welcoming, was a little slow. (I think possibly they were training new staff?)
According to the member of staff who showed us to our room the outdoor pool is rarely used, but we would encourage it as it was fabulous when we got used to the unheated temperature.
The layout of the hotel leads to the feeling that it is almost empty - despite the number of guests staying it never felt crowded or too busy.
Overall we had a great time, didn't want to leave, and will be back (when we have saved up!)
The website is a little difficult to use - prices were wrong when we tried to book, and there was a bit of a mix up so I would advise calling them as they were very helpful on the phone.

Room Tip: Call and speak to someone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katethevet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanviewCornwall, General Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2011
Thank you for reviwing the Scarlet. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay. I am sorry to hear that you experienced problems with the website. We always prefer to talk to people about their booking our rooms are all different and guests generally benefit from a conversation with us.

We look forward to seeing you again soon

Best wishes

Nikki Broom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mawgan Porth
0.1 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
1,188 reviews
5.1 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
4.4 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
15.8 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,563 reviews
22.2 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 24 in Falmouth
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Scarlet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Scarlet Hotel

Property: The Scarlet Hotel
Address: Tredragon Road, Mawgan Porth TR8 4DQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mawgan Porth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mawgan Porth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Scarlet Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simply put, we are a beautiful 37 bedroom hotel built to the highest eco standards, boasting delicious locally sourced food and the best Ayurvedic inspired spa you can imagine.Discover an escape for grown-ups, to eat, dream and play in peace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your The Scarlet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Scarlet Hotel Mawgan Porth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing