We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Anniversary Break”
Review of The Scarlet Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Scarlet Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mawgan Porth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed July 9, 2011

We had read a review of the Scarlet shortly after it opened so decided to stay here for our 10th Wedding Anniversary.
We stayed in a Just Right room which was lovely, once we got used to the (very) open plan bathroom! The view of the sea, and the sound of the waves through the window were incredible, helped by the best weather we have ever experienced in Cornwall.
We ate at the hotel both nights and the food was amazing, although the service on Saturday night and Sunday morning, although friendly and welcoming, was a little slow. (I think possibly they were training new staff?)
According to the member of staff who showed us to our room the outdoor pool is rarely used, but we would encourage it as it was fabulous when we got used to the unheated temperature.
The layout of the hotel leads to the feeling that it is almost empty - despite the number of guests staying it never felt crowded or too busy.
Overall we had a great time, didn't want to leave, and will be back (when we have saved up!)
The website is a little difficult to use - prices were wrong when we tried to book, and there was a bit of a mix up so I would advise calling them as they were very helpful on the phone.

Room Tip: Call and speak to someone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katethevet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanviewCornwall, General Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2011

Thank you for reviwing the Scarlet. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay. I am sorry to hear that you experienced problems with the website. We always prefer to talk to people about their booking our rooms are all different and guests generally benefit from a conversation with us.

We look forward to seeing you again soon

Best wishes

Nikki Broom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,622)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,443 - 1,449 of 1,622 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2011

Stayed here last December. Only just managed to find time to write this review thus giving an idea of how busy and hectic our life is!! This hotel is amazing, the staff wonderful and the rooms incredibly comfortable. We had an indulgent room which was huge! Our friends had arranged a few treats and goodies for us on our arrival and they were all in place in the room the moment we walked in. We completely embraced the ethos of the place and slowed right down and enjoyed the peaceful and relaxed atmosphere. The service was exemplary from all the staff and we had nothing but service with a smile. Food was lovely. The spa was just right, dont think Ive ever spent so much time just enjoying being in water. Hot tubs are best enjoyed at night under the stars, great experience. All in all cannot wait to return to this great hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank weenaWestMids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2011

We dropped in uninvited and without reservations to The Scarlet on our way from Padstow to St Ives. Hungry as we were, we were disappointed to hear that they had just finished serving lunch. (It was 2.35pm after all ) However we were informed they had an all day menu we could order from and so we did just that. We sat outside on the balcony overlooking the pool and hot tubs and down towards the beach. A vista you could not fault.The selection of food on offer from their ''all day menu'' was varied and flavoursome. The service from our Hungarian born waitress was impeccable even though we were not guests at the hotel. Everyone we encountered had a smile on their face and radiated hospitality with a capital H. Our two regrets were that we had to leave, and that we were not staying overnight. We have earmarked it as a definite '' must go and stay there''.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank nw05250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2011

We turned up late on the Friday night - gone 11 and were met by extremley freindly and helpfull staff who had stayed and waited for us - We had a unique room and I have to say was worth every penny. The views were spectacular and we had a couple of stormy days, so walks down to the beach and up along the cliffs were truely amazing. The hotel pictures and descriptions do not do it justice - both my wife and I were complete relaxed and rejuvinated after our time there. We had dinner at the hotel the first night and it was superb. Service etc was fautless. Breakfast was pretty good too!.We had dinner at Rick Stiens in Padstow the second night. I really wouldn't waste your money.The food at the hotel was so much better. All in all, we had a brillant few days and completely unwound. We will definately be back, as I have not found anywhere else that even comes close to this place. Finally have to say that the staff play a huge role in making this such a great hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dingo1Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanviewCornwall, General Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review the Scarlet, it is always great to hear from guests about their stay however they choose to let us know.

So glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with and that you are planning to come back, we look forward to welcoming you soon.

Best wishes


Nikki Broom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2011

Loved the hotel. Facilities were great. Room one of best we have stayed in - a good mixture of contemporary design but also comfort. Don't miss out on the hot tubs and Phil who talks you through them - having a glass of champagne overlooking the becah is something else.
However, we had some of the worse service ever. Our bags went to the wrong room, we requested a sea view table at dinner and didn't get one (were seated right at back) we were ignored in the bar for ten minutes despite there being 3 staff on. Our food went to the wrong table, our wine came late. Put all this ina feedback note and sort of expected a call or explanation recognising our comments. Had nothing, which I think says something about the service. So despite loving it not sure would stay again and my advice woudl be stay there just eat and drink elsewhere.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank COC062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanviewCornwall, General Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review the Scarlet. I am so sorry to hear you had such a bad stay, certainly not up to our usual standard. I have managed to track down your feedback form which had been put to one side for my attention. WIth this in mind I will endevour to make contact with you to discuss your stay further.

Best wishes

Nikki Broom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2011

A wonderful place to stay. Staff have the perfect balance between falling over them selves to help and not being in your face. Exactly what I look for in a hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xxxplymjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanviewCornwall, General Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2011

How lovely of you to describe your stay as perfection, especially as our mantra this year has been that "we will continually strive for perfection whilst realising as humans
we will never get there".

I hope we will see you again soon

Best wishes

Nikki Broom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2011

Generally it was very good. Maybe just a tad on the expensive side. However the staff were very friendly & helpful. The spa was excellent, try The Journey, it involves sitting in a giant miso soup bowel on the hillside......fab!
But the food was out of this world. Although there has been slot of grumbling about lack of service at breakfast, we has no complaints.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caileannbeag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanviewCornwall, General Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2011

Thank you for reviewing the Scarlet . I love your descrpition of our hot tubs.

I do hope your positive experience at breakfast will reassure readers that we can and do get it right. Breakfast does present some management issues mainly as a result of us not wanting to dictate to guests what time they should eat and occasionally having everyone arrive at breakfast together.

We hope to see you again in the future

Best wishes

Nikki Broom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mawgan Porth
0.1 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
1,254 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
5.1 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 24 in Falmouth
216 reviews
15.8 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,621 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Scarlet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Scarlet Hotel

Address: Tredragon Road, Mawgan Porth TR8 4DQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mawgan Porth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mawgan Porth
Price Range: $276 - $444 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Scarlet Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simply put, we are a beautiful 37 bedroom hotel built to the highest eco standards, boasting delicious locally sourced food and the best Ayurvedic inspired spa you can imagine.Discover an escape for grown-ups, to eat, dream and play in peace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, MrandMrsSmith, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Scarlet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Scarlet Hotel Mawgan Porth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing