We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could of done with one more day” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Scarlet Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Scarlet Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mawgan Porth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Could of done with one more day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2011

We were given the stay at the Scarlet for Xmas and were very excited about our stay at the hotel. From enquiring about the rooms and spa the reception desk couldn't of been more helpful and friendly.
We arrived to a lovely room, we had room 2 Spacious and loved it. The open plan room and views were amazing. We were both very happy and chilled on the balcony. As there are no tea facilities in the room we rang down and a tray appeared a while later - I liked this.
We also booked in for evening meals and enjoyed he bar and atmosphere before we were escorted to our table. We found all of the staff friendly but not intrusive. The hotels public rooms are gorgeous, lovely decor, modern and comfortable.
The evening meals were OK I can't say absolutely great but a good standard. It was probably my choice on the menu that made the meal not as great as it could of been.

Breakfast - lots of choice and lovely local apple juice.
We booked a spa treatment - hot poltice massage and while nice for the money just wasn't worth it. What I really wanted was a good deep tissue massage and nothing fancy. The massage wasn't good value for the £95 each it cost. However the rooms, pool and especially the hanging pod room was amazing. After the massage you are taken to a dark room with hanging tents, you pop inside and wrap your self in a fleecy blanket and I was asleep in minutes for over an hour. Heavenly.
No mobile reception but wifi in the public areas and internet access in each room. My ipad could get wifi in our room after obtaining a code from reception.
The last day we had booked for complimentary head massages but for some reason only one of us got the treatment (head & foot) and my husband missed out. I should of mentioned it at the time, but I thought I'd made a mistake, it wasn't until we got home and checked our email - we should of had a treatment each. I enjoyed both to myself though, LOL. He'll get one next time. I loved it, felt relaxed and the weather was glorious. We just wished we had an extra day to truly chill out.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ErmerP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,162
    218
    71
    17
    12
See reviews for
69
1,171
39
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (452)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2011

Decided on the Scarlet to celebrate our anniversary and drove 5 hours on a Friday afternoon in pursuit of total relaxation, good food, wonderful spa etc. In the end, the weekend was a disappointment for 3 reasons: spa and hot tub both seriously below temperature so we got cold in the hot tub on the cliff top and didn't go in the steam room (one of the reasons we picked the Scarlet in the first place); food ok for dinner but breakfasts seemed to cater best for those looking for 'full English' which is a bit of a surprise for an eco hotel .... eggs tasted microwaved and very little fruit available (we had to ask for a fruit salad which was pretty basic); if you do go into the spa, make sure you tag your bathrobe somehow as they are all identical .. someone walked off with mine with the room key in the pocket .. not great ...

The hotel manager contacted me to discuss and offered us a free night in the hotel so they could show us the best of the Scarlet ..... sadly, we won't be making the 10-hour round trip to take up the offer.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank halesbernicecrystal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bideford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2011

We first visited the Scarlet a year a go and were bowled over by not only the location but also the standard of the hotel.. This time, bearing in mind that the hotel had been closed for the whole of Januay ( spring clean time?) we found our hotel room grubby and tierd. There were bad marks on the wall and several of the floor tiles were broken and sharp. The staff last time were impeccable.... this time, lacking in tidy dress and it was a case of " Oh sorry I forgot...." we ordered tea in our room and it was half and hour before we went down to reception to find out they had forgotton.. Certain items which should have been on our evening meal plate... "Ooops Chef forgot" . Breafast on the Sunday morning was VERY slow...
Hotel needs to get into gear and tighten up.
We did bring the matter to the Hotel's Management and they were extremely apologetic.. and - in fairness, have given us a one night B&B hoping they can recompense our disappointment. The Jury is out at moment!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jwjoydays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2011

Located on its cliff top location over looking the beach at Mawgan Porth, this eco-friendly hotel is simply the best hotel experience we have ever had. So much so we are going back for a third time in March!

As you approach Mawgan Porth you see the hotel for the first time, built on top of the cliffs edge overlooking the Atlantic, the Scarlet looks like a successful project from the TV series Grand Designs! blending into the environment, this angular, multil-level white building blends in nicely to its environment.

As you enter the hotel you are greeted by a calm open plan area with no reception (a deliberate ploy to make you feel relaxed) art from local artists fill spaces on the wall, while the floor to ceiling windows add to the ambience, bringing the outside in, with stunning views of the coastal path, the sandy beach and wild crashing waves of the Atlantic ocean below.

Within minutes we were greeted by a lovely member of staff called Penny, who appeared from behind a door where the hidden reception is located!

After taking our details Penny took us on a tour of the hotel. Almost every room we went into overlooked the beach and surrounding area, by the time we reached our room we had explored the spa, with its relaxation spaces and tented dark ambient treatment rooms specialising in Ayurvedic "journeys, the indoor swimming pool with floor to ceiling windows which overlooked the outdoor natural 'reedbed' pool.

Below the outdoor pool, we were taken down the sloping landscaped garden, with its hidden relaxation spaces, to the two bright red wood-fired hot tubs, where you can relax with a glass of something while taking in the magical views all around.

We were then shown the roof terrace, the library complete with pool table, the bar area,the amazing restaurant, headed up by Michelin star chef Ben Tuncliffe, and last but not least the hotel dog which you can take for walks along the wind swept beach or along the coastal path!!

We stayed in one of the spacious rooms. It was a large calming space, open plan, with freestanding bath, shower, king size bed and sliding window doors to a large balcony with spectacular views. Peering directly down the flat roofs of the rooms below are covered in sea thrift, rocks and reclaimed groynes, which create an extension to the cliff top and beach below, simply amazing.

The staff mostley dressed in baggy hemp or linen outfits seem to be as chilled out as The hotel itself. Whether it be the spa, restaurant, reception or bar, the staff are always professional, helpful and informative, and most importantly always smiling!! they really do help add to the experience.

This place is unique, laid back but indulgent at the same time, The Scarlet is an extension to its environment outside.

Yes its not cheap, but its worth every penny!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A_Kiss_Before_I_Go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2011

We went to the hotel as a special treat as I am recovering from an illness. Was hoping to be able to chill out and enjoy good food. The hotel itself is stunning as shown in the photos. But I don't think the hotel has any understaning /insight into the fact that people who are stressed and want to relax may have issues with the fact that you have to negotiate for everyting. BUT they have a policy that you have to order room service - any time of the day or night if you want a cup of tea or coffee. My husband likes to drink a lot of coffee but didn't feel comfortable asking. Every time you want to have a drink you have to ring reception, place your order, get dressed / out of the bath etc to answer the door. The coffee is usually served with cold milk so unless you ask specifically you will end up with a tepid drink. Trere was no fridge either so had to keep asking for ice to have a cold drink. Info stated that a fridge would be noisy but the air vent in the bathroom was noisy anyway so it might have drowed it out. We thought it would be nice to chill out in the hot tub that you had to pay extra for -lovely setting over looking the sea - would have been relaxing if only the staff hadn't spend the whole time we were there recounding her life history! The food was not what I'd expect - mostly bland / tasteless - eg no horseraddish in the sauce with the mackrel, artichoke tasted bland (not sure how you can manage that!) greasy potatoes with main course, puddings ok - must have just pudding chef! If you are stressed and have problems with your jaw you will have a problem eating as all the bread is home made and is mostly crust and when toasted for breakfast is rock hard. No alternatives available - asked for muffin/crumpet/potato cake/ pikelet/soft roll - none available. Also room service breakfast a number of things were missed off, and no fresh orange availble. The only bit of food I would compliment would be the hollandaise sauce that I had with the egg florantine but the flavour was drowned out by the ammount of vinager the chef must have put in the water when poaching the egg. Also when asked, staff thought this dish contained smoked salmon! The last night was an event - wanted a drink at 2am and spent an hour ringing and searching hotel for someone -(had to get dressed in the middle of the night) no sign of life anywhere except for meeting another guest who was also looking for help to turn the heating down in his room! To be fair they did refund the last night cost but I left feeling more stressed and with an aching jaw! Had a much more relaxed time on a stopover at a premier inn where tea and coffee supplied and resturant next door provided a tasty meal for less than a tenner! Go for the day and enjoy the facilities but don't bother staying.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suzanne_kapur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2011

We stayed here for 3 days before our wedding (sort of honeymoon - the wrong way round) in May 2010. Due to time constraints I'll be brief.

There is nothing negative to say about The Scarlet Hotel whatsoever. It may seem pricey to some but it's worth every penny. It's immaculately clean, totally comfortable and the best "battery recharging zone" we can think of.

If you're looking for somewhere to chill out and recharge your batteries then you must stay at The Scarlet Hotel. The hotel is fantastic as is but the surrounding scenery and its location right on the North Cornish coast makes it even more special. Many thanks

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy and Petra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Grinstead
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2011

My wife and I stayed in this amazing hotel as part of a year of celebrating our 25the wedding anniversary and I can only describe the entire experience as sublime. Our room was amazing, the pool is fab, the staff brilliant and the service superb. my wife has a few dietary issues including a severe wheat intolerance which we let the hotel know about in advance - the pastry chef didn't just make her some wheat free bread - he created lots of different types including a brioche for her breakfast - these were so good I still want the recipes!
Thank you The Scarlet we shall be back - this will replace our 'bolthole hotel' in Turkey which has been surpassed in spade.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M1keB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mawgan Porth
0.1 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
5.1 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
Driftwood Hotel
Driftwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in Trewithian
5.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
22.1 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 25 in Falmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
21.4 mi away
The Idle Rocks
The Idle Rocks
#1 of 6 in St Mawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Scarlet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Scarlet Hotel

Property: The Scarlet Hotel
Address: Tredragon Road, Mawgan Porth TR8 4DQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mawgan Porth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mawgan Porth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Scarlet Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simply put, we are a beautiful 37 bedroom hotel built to the highest eco standards, boasting delicious locally sourced food and the best Ayurvedic inspired spa you can imagine.Discover an escape for grown-ups, to eat, dream and play in peace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Scarlet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Scarlet Hotel Mawgan Porth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing