We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Penleaze Lodge

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Marhamchurch, Bude, Bude-Stratton, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kirsty B
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed January 17, 2018 for a stay in December 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We booked this for a weekend away with friends (4 adults and 1 toddler). It was the perfect space for us all to relax. The decor is immaculate and everything felt so new and clean. It's been designed and finished at the top end scale so felt very luxurious and the industrial - esque design is very up our street! The owners very kindly left a cake and bottle of something in the fridge on arrival which we thought was lovely.

Very tranquil and never felt the presence of the Owners being close by/overlooking *not that it would be a problem if they were! :)

Had a problem with temperature on the hot tub on arrival but Stefan was very quick to come to site the moment we reported this.

With a toddler asleep in one of the bedrooms, we found the upstairs snug the perfect place to hide away, play cards and drink a glass of wine without disturbing her.

Would definitely recommend this and will be looking to stay again.

Thanks Stefan and family!

Kirsty

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 18, 2018
Dear Kirsty,

Than you so much for your wonderful feedback. It makes us happy to hear that you've had such a good time at Penleaze!
Hopefully see you again soon.

All the best, Stefan X
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gregtheeg...
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfection!”
Reviewed February 26, 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This place is perfection! Not only is the lodge really stylish and cosy, there are plenty of nice little touches which make it extra special. Ensuite bathrooms fab, log burner fab, hot tub fab, views fab.... You get the picture ... Would definitely stay here again. Thank you Stefan and Richard, amazing hosts.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 28, 2017
Dear Greg,

Thank you so much for your fantastic review. It makes us very happy to hear you've had such a fantastic time at Penleaze!
Hopefully see you again one day in the future.

All the best, Stefan & Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vesperxc6...
1 review
“Beautiful Place and Beautiful owners!!!”
Reviewed September 10, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Just had a wonderful stay in the Lodge for 7 nights with our 2 year old son. What can we say??? The Lodge is perfect, you want for nothing, they've thought of things you don't!!! Decorated to the highest of standards with views to die for and an amazing hot tub.
The owners are also wonderful however and cannot do enough for you during your stay. Generous to a fault and more than happy to spend time giving recommendations or helping in any way they can.
The salon is a lovely addition to the stay and makes it possible to indulge and relax that little bit more.
Cannot praise this place and the owners enough...you would not regret booking it is truly Beautiful.
Thanks again Stefan and Richard. Xx

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 13, 2016
We have to THANK YOU! You were fantastic guests and it makes us very happy to hear you've had such a lovely time at Penleaze. It would be amazing to have you back again one day!
All the best, Richard & StefanX
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackcats...
Weston-s-Mare
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“You won't want to leave!”
Reviewed May 19, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Just spent a week here with family for my birthday. The lodge is just perfect. It is very modern with up to the minute furnishings and fittings. All you need to stay here is food and yourself, everything is catered for. The kitchen is very well equipped, with all mod cons. Each of the three bedrooms have an en-suite plus a further WC, great for a larger party. There is a mezzanine which houses a great 'snug' area with day bed and seating. The hosts Stefan and Richard knew it was my birthday and left a lovely birthday cake (complete with candles) and a bottle of prosecco. There were fresh flowers everywhere, very nice little touches which make this place so special. Please, please visit The Salon if you stay here, it is to die for. I can certainly recommend Penleaze Lodge to anyone, you will not be disappointed. Did I mention the hot tub, no, well there is one of those as well. Lots of space outside for children to run around and the place is so peaceful, I guarantee you will sleep well. The views are fantastic, you can see for miles. All in all a massive thumbs up for Penleaze and it's lovely hosts. Well done guys. Julie, Kelly and family.xxxx

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Having to leave
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 13, 2016
Dear Julie,
Thank you so much for your lovely review! We're so glad you've had such a great time with us and we can't wait to have you and your gorgeous family back again end of this year.
All the best and see you in December! Stefan Xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vladimira...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed March 29, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

From the arrival to the leaving date- absolute perfection!

Thank you Stefan & Richard, we had a great Easter wknd. The house is stunning, the service was great.

We will be back for sure. The small touches like a proseco in the fridge, carrot cake, fresh flowers-wow!

The facilities- more then 5* Hotel...

Superb!!!

Vladka, Michal, Tatiana, Antonis, Nuno & Tito( a big special thank you from him :)...) xxx

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything was great
Liked least: there was nothing not to like
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 29, 2016
Dear Vladka,

Thank you so much for your lovely review! it was an absolute pleasure to have you and your friends/family stay at Penleaze. You were 5 star guests, we couldn't have wished for better ones!

It would be amazing to have you back again at Penleaze in the future!!!

All the best and thank you once again! StefanXx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maz1993
Poole, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What an amazing place to be!”
Reviewed March 1, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We stayed at penleaze from the 25th-29th Feb. I travelled with my partner and his family also came. From the moment we arrived it was just 'WOW', the prosseco, real flowers and cake is such a lovely touch. This place is absolutely amazing, beautiful views, beautiful setting and the lodge is such an great place to be and relax. The hot tub is an added bonus, and its so nice to chill in the hot tub an take in the breath taking views. The lodge is very well designed and the mezzanine is a lovely chill out area, A lot of time was spent up here by everyone chilling, reading and taking a cheeky nap. I would highly recommend the salon also, I had a massage here and it was the best massage I have ever had. I will definitely be returning to the lodge. This place is incredible and I would highly recommend it. Thank you Stefan and Richard for letting us share this hidden gem in Bude,

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 2, 2016
Thank you ever so much for your lovely words! It was so nice to have you here at Penleaze and we can't wait to have you back again! All the best for you!
Thank you once again, StefanX
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jat_Hansp...
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb Lodge, Superb Location, Superb Hosts. Looking forward to a return visit”
Reviewed November 17, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

The Lodge is a superb property that really does have a high end luxury feel, backed up with outstanding service from hosts Stefan and Richard. The photos of the interior only tell part of the story, the exterior is just as good, and the views are stunning. Location wise, it is only a few minutes drive to the coast in Bude. We were there at the end of August into first week of September, and the weather was very good to be honest. We loved the Lodge and Bude so much we extended the stay for an extra night and cancelled other plans we had made. It was well worth it.

We travelled as a family, 2 adults and 3 young infants (4, 2 and 1). We found the facilities amongst the best for self catering rentals that we have ever had. Which is very nice, as you have a high end holiday that you deserve - why slum it when you taking a much needed break!

We also made use of the Salon for a massage, and Sandra was superb.

Stefan was a great host and really made us feel welcome and looked after. You get all the privacy you need along with the benefit of the hosts being close by in case of any need.

We look forward to a return visit in the near future, thanks for such an amazing break.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 18, 2015
Dear Jat,

Thank you ever so much for your amazing feedback. You were such a lovely family, it was great having you here and it makes us happy to hear that you've had such a wonderful time at Penleaze!

We look forward to your return!

Kindest regards, Stefan & Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing