We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for relaxing & romance”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marhamchurch
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wooldown Holiday Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff Wales
Level Contributor
108 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Perfect for relaxing & romance”
Reviewed July 30, 2009

As everyone has mentioned this is a great location, lovely views & close to Bude. We stayed in Wennas Well. We loved it & chose it as our grand kids & family were close by & we could walk to their cottages which were next door to Bullers Arms. Food at Bullers & service quite good.
Summerleaze Beach very close & food at restaurant there very good. Try Chilli/cheese special !!
Would most def go back.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KT182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    552
    19
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
36
474
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshirer
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 15, 2009

We stayed in the first week of June, in one of the 'couples for two' (cornkeep) and just had the most amazing time ever. Owners were lovely - accommodation was better than a 5* hotel. Amazing views, gorgeous interior and the most amazing bath i have ever been in. Would reccomond this place to anyone looking for a relaxing week away - or a good base to explore north cornwall. Will be booking our holiday for next year very soon!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lolly32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2009

We have just returned from a long weekend at Wooldown Farm and are both utterly relaxed and rested. We stayed in Pengenna Parlour, one of the 'view for two' properties. It is the only one of these conversions with another property above it which meant there was a bit of noise when the couple upstairs moved in but other than that we didn't see or hear another sole in the time we were there. It was absolutely tipping it down with 60mph winds outside but that made us stay in and appreciate the quality and care that has gone into converting these stunning buildings.

Pengenna Parlour has views to the sea and to the hills and fields and most importantly a bed to die for! It is quiet, peaceful and from the moment we drove up and met Susan Blewett, we felt at home. We used the 'Cornwall in your kitchen' service, where you can pre-order local meats, bakery goods, dairy products and groceries and it will be waiting for you in the fridge on your arrival. The guys who runs it was lovely and the food was amazing. I highly recommend the local lamb shanks! If you forget anything, the local Londis is just around the corner or Morrisons supermarket a mere 5 minute drive away.

The local area boasts stunning beaches and walks and it was so wonderful to come back to such an amazing cottage. The Blewetts have spent a lot of care developing these properties and it shows. The attention to detail and quality of Pengenna Parlour surpassed my expectations and I would HIGHLY RECOMMEND staying here!

We shall be going back later in the year and hopefully for longer! (if you do decide to go I would also recomend ordering the cheesecake from the farmhouse! It was amazing!)

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ToriaandSid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2009

Wooldown Farm is a peaceful location with outstanding views. The accommodation is first rate, very comfortable and well equipped.
The situation is a perfect base for exploring North Cornwall or for just relaxing and enjoying the surrounding scenery.
There is a pub within walking distance which does reasonable food but there are also several others within just a few miles. The Bush at Morwenstowe being one of the best.
I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this self-catering complex to couples or families. It really is five star !

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank witchazel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2009

We have just returned from a wonderful break staying in Dewdrop Dairy, we were welcomed very warmly by the owners who were very helpful during our stay,the fresh cream scones were a delight. The cottage was really beautiful and had breathtaking views of the countryside and coastline.
We shall definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger-Jennifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marhamchurch
2.4 mi away
An Mor
An Mor
#4 of 9 in Bude
182 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hebasca
Hebasca
#1 of 9 in Bude
607 reviews
21.1 mi away
Hoops Inn
Hoops Inn
#1 of 11 in Bideford
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Bude Holiday Resort
Bude Holiday Resort
#7 of 32 in Bude
696 reviews
2.4 mi away
Wooda Farm Holiday Park
Wooda Farm Holiday Park
#1 of 3 in Poughill
455 reviews
2.7 mi away
Broomhill Manor Country Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wooldown Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wooldown Holiday Cottages

Property: Wooldown Holiday Cottages
Address: Marhamchurch, Bude EX23 0HP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Bude-Stratton > Bude > Marhamchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Marhamchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Wooldown Holiday Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From cosy country cottages, to ultra-modern, apartment style barns that will be sure to take your breath away and make you say "WOW!" ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wooldown Holiday Cottages Marhamchurch, United Kingdom - Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing