We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay in Shooting Star.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marhamchurch
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wooldown Holiday Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We have just returned from a 3 night stay in the Shooting Star cottage and it really was the perfect location for our minimoon.

We arrived after a long journey to a very helpful Rowan who went above and beyond to check we had everything that we needed. The cake and scones are a great little touch. We also had our bed decorated and chocolates and wine to celebrate the fact we were newly married. It was an amazing start to the break and we knew then we would enjoy our stay.

The cottage is perfect....stunning views, the comfiest bed I have slept in for a long time, modern and easy to use kitchen and an incredible bathroom! The jacuzzi bath is the best way to unwind after a day exploring the local surroundings. The surroundings are so peaceful and it was lovely to relax on the terrace to the sound of nothing but the lambs!

I couldn't recommend this place more highly and their attention to detail makes for a perfect stay. We were even given a little bag upon departure filled with goodies for the way home.

Definitely on our list of places to revisit! :)

If you do head this way, we would highly recommend a visit to Padstow - lovely little harbour with the most amazing food and a beautiful beach!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (599)
There are newer reviews for Wooldown Holiday Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

352 - 358 of 599 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2013

Having been to Cornwall in the past on many family holidays it was lovely to return and remember what I enjoyed about it and Wooldown only added to the lovely holiday. We stayed in Pengenna Parlour for a week at the start of August and found the cottage to be well equipped, clean and extremely comfortable. We were given a warm welcome when we arrived and then were left to it which was just what we wanted. The cakes and tea and coffee provided were a perfect way to start our week. The toiletries in the bathroom were fabulous, so much so that I found were they were made and went to buy some to take home. We ate out one evening at Element restaurant in Widemouth bay. I had booked a table and were not disappointed as when we arrived we were given a table with an excellent view of the sun setting. The food, wine and service were excellent but I would recommend booking in the summer season as it does seem to be quite popular. The only negative of the holiday was a trip on the Bodmin steam railway. We were trying to find something to do on the only rainy day and thought this might be quite nice, however it turned out to be a trip to nowhere looking into the back gardens of the residents of a Bodmin housing estate. A place we would recommend though is the tea rooms in Morwenstow, this is a very pretty farm house which served amazing food, the ploughmans was a joy. When we went to hand the key back we were given a little bag containing snacks and drinks for the way home which was such a nice touch and came in very useful about an hour into our journey. Overall a brilliant holiday, we will be returning.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ems768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We have just reluctantly returned from a fantastic week at Wooldown Farm. My partner and I stayed in the beautiful 'Shooting Star'. We arrived earlier in Cornwall than expected and received a text message from Rowan to let us know our accomodaton was ready early. The property is first class in every way, the huge super king size bed was beautiful, and so comfortable after a day out. The dual aspect windows boasting both countryside and sea views were a sight to behold!

Imagine after a seven hour drive being met by a lovely young man who offers to help unload your luggage from your car and then brings you a fabulous cream tea and home made cakes. Thank you Rowan.

The spa bath was the ideal way to end a day of sightseeing and although there are four properties situated next to one another, they are completely private and we never heard our neighbours. All we heard was the sheep saying goodnight or good morning with their gentle baas.

Nothing seemed too much trouble to Rowan as he was a mine of information. It was more like staying with your favourite relatives in fantastic accomodation, with the added bonus of a delightful bag of goodies for the journey home.

There is so much more we want to comment on, but the only way to experience it is to go there. We will definitely be going back and would highly recommend Wooldown Farm to all of our friends.

From Jayne and Reg

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reg G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Just spent a week staying in the beautiful Milky Way cottage at Wooldown Farm. Absolutely fantastic place to stay, lots of luxurious touches. Loved the spa bath, all mod cons in the kitchen, fluffy towels (to refer to an earlier review, they do indeed have new fluffy towels!!), the views of the countryside were stunning and the whole atmosphere was peaceful and relaxing. I'm really missing being able to see the sheep outside my windows at home! Just the kind of place to take a break from the stresses of everyday life.

It was very handy to get to places around the Cornwall/Devon area and we even managed to do a trip down into Devon to see Agatha Christie's holiday home (which being a big Christie fan was a treat for me!) which although was a longish drive ( 1 3/4 hours drive each way), it was through some lovely scenery so wasn't a problem for us.

I woud thoroughly recommend Wooldown to anyone wanting to just get away from it all and likes a bit of comfort at the same time. Hopefully we will be back again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Librarywitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed in the Stargazey cottage for 6 nights. It was everything the website prmoised.
We received a text from Rowan to tell us the cottage was ready ahead of check in time.
It looked like all the cottages were booked (by number of cars) but we only saw one other guest so plenty of privacy with the only noise being from the sheep!
Great location within easy reach of Bude, excellent facilities and a warm welcome from the Blewett family.
Would definatley recommend this cottage.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tasha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Stayed at the Dewdrop Dairy..

Best holiday cottage we have ever stayed in, that's why we keep going back.This was our third visit, all the fittings are to a high standard, fantastic 180 degree views, so relaxing and the service provided by the Blewett family was excellent,we even got a goody bag of food and drinks for the long car ride home

Room Tip: choose one that you can see the sea, for the sun sets
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnY6723SJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I stayed here with my Partner for two nights from 22nd July for a birthday treat. I had already read the reviews which was my reason for booking with Wooldown. We stayed in Buttermilk Barn and we were very much impressed. The views were fantastic, and the interior of the barn was modern yet beautifully done. With it only being a 5 mins drive from Bude town centre it was a perfect location. We had a wonderful stay and the communication with Rowan and his family was brilliant, so thank you! We will be back!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carls247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marhamchurch
2.5 mi away
Hebasca
Hebasca
#1 of 9 in Bude
645 reviews
2.8 mi away
Tommy Jacks Beach Hotel
2.4 mi away
An Mor
An Mor
#4 of 9 in Bude
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Falcon Hotel
Falcon Hotel
#3 of 9 in Bude
559 reviews
3.2 mi away
Bude Holiday Resort
Bude Holiday Resort
#11 of 35 in Bude
741 reviews
2.6 mi away
Surf Haven Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wooldown Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wooldown Holiday Cottages

Address: Marhamchurch, Bude EX23 0HP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Bude-Stratton > Bude > Marhamchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Marhamchurch
Price Range: $47 - $298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wooldown Holiday Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From cosy country cottages, to ultra-modern, apartment style barns that will be sure to take your breath away and make you say "WOW!" ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wooldown Holiday Cottages Marhamchurch, United Kingdom - Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing