We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thank you for a great weekend!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marhamchurch
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wooldown Holiday Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Thank you for a great weekend!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

We had a lovely stay at Wooldown. Stargazey was beautiful and had everything we needed. The owners were very helpful and friendly. Would recommend a stay here!
Watching the sheep dogs get the sheep in was lovely, the lambs were so cute!
Everything about it was wonderful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay498
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    544
    19
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
36
466
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Street, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

Wooldown provided a perfect retreat.We stayed in Shooting Star which was beautifully presented.The bathroom was amazing!It was so peaceful with stunning views across the countryside and to the coast.It was so warm and welcoming to return each day after our walks.
The Blewitt family were really friendly and welcoming and were helpful if needed.The cream tea and treats were much appreciated on arrival.It has been a real find since they have so many cottages for couples.We will certainly return.

Room Tip: Shooting Star had the advantage of having double aspect but Stargazey,Milky Way and Moonshine aso ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Along with an extremely well equipped cottage and very cosy underfloor heating, the stunning views from the Woolbarn is the abiding memory of our very enjoyable week at The Wooldown complex. The cream tea and sweets on arrival were part of a warm welcome from the owners, with Roger taking time to update us with the latest news from the village!

The only issue was the bedroom, which was slightly smaller than expected, with a metal-framed bed that squeaked at every turn, This one issue did not detract from the overall enjoyable experience.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MalcA54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

This was our second stay at The Wooldown and hard to believe it was even better.
All the personal touches, which are so lovely and unexpected for a self catering rental, make this an exceptional place to stay. ( I am being deliberately vague not to spoil the little extras for others ). Updates by text were a brilliant idea too.
We will be back - it's the perfect place to relax and recharge. Five star all the way - thank you !

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LiseHooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

My girlfriend and myself arrived at Wooldown, had a lovely greeting from the Blewett family.
We stayed in Stargazey, which was absolutely perfect. Very comfortable, amazing bath and a beautiful interior, as well as a great view. Rowan was a great host, very friendly and gave the impression that he was there to help with any queries, however we really liked the privacy the Blewett's gave. On arrival we also received scones and sponge cake which was a very nice touch along with rose petals scattered on the bed. We had the prefect stay, there wasn't a single fault to the place. Upon departure (valentines day) Rowan gave us a bottle of wine and a box of chocolates for the occasion, again a lovely touch. Myself and my girlfriend had a perfect stay. Thanks very much to the Blewett family for their hospitality, we would love to come again and would definitely recommend Wooldown over a hotel or any other self catered accommodation in the area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thenewfella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

Returned today after a throughly relaxing winter break in Stargazey. Plenty of contact and help from the owners before we travelled and excellent assistance once we arrived. The cottage was open plan, with underfloor heating which made it very cozy, the bed comfortable and all fittings were of a very high standard. Despite there being gale force winds during our stay there were no problems with draughts! The large copper bath was very welcome after a day of walking the coast path. The view was excellent and there was always something to see. We had a little look at some of the other cottages available and they all looked individual but all finished to the same high standard. The walk into Bude along the canal is suitable for most and apart from the final hill to the farm is flat and there are plenty of places for refreshment when you get to Bude.

Room Tip: All rooms have been individually completed to a very high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank I-blatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

My boyfriend and I have just spent a wonderful Christmas in the Woolbarn - one of the 'cosy cottages for two' available at Wooldown cottages.

We received contact from the owners in advance of our arrival and any queries that we had were answered immediately. Our arrival was made easy when we were greeted by one of the hosts and escorted to our cottage, which was exactly as we expected according to the photos and description available on the website.

All furniture, fittings and equipment was of a high standard rather than some of the basic/cheap things that can be found in some other self-catering accommodation - for example the tv was a large new flat screen with dvd, suitable cooking equipment was provided to enable proper meals to be cooked and all furniture was extremely comfortable. We also had the reassurance that should we find the need for anything additional, our hosts were likely to be able to lend it to us.

The views from the cottage were amazing and it really did give us a sense of being away from it all.

The additional personal touches that were provided such as tasteful Christmas decorations, clotted cream scones and a Christmas card, made us feel particuarly welcome and made our stay even more enjoyable.

If you're looking for somewhere special to cosy up or an excellent base to explore the area, we would highly recommend Woolbarn cottages - everything you could want and more.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GesTaunton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marhamchurch
2.5 mi away
Hebasca
Hebasca
#1 of 9 in Bude
4.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
2.2 mi away
Falcon Hotel
Falcon Hotel
#3 of 9 in Bude
4.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
24.1 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Camelot Castle Hotel
Camelot Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Tintagel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,172 reviews
2.8 mi away
Tommy Jacks Beach Hotel
2.6 mi away
Dylan's Bed and Breadfast - Bude, Cornwall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wooldown Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wooldown Holiday Cottages

Property: Wooldown Holiday Cottages
Address: Marhamchurch, Bude EX23 0HP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Bude-Stratton > Bude > Marhamchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Marhamchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Wooldown Holiday Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From cosy country cottages, to ultra-modern, apartment style barns that will be sure to take your breath away and make you say "WOW!" ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wooldown Holiday Cottages Marhamchurch, United Kingdom - Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing