We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful honeymoon”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marhamchurch
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wooldown Holiday Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Exeter, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful honeymoon”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed in Shooting Star for our honeymoon, and we loved it. The views from the cottage are absolutely stunning, it was hard to stop looking out of the window! The cottage has everything you could want, I particularly miss the amazing shower and bath. We were greeted with a tour by the friendly Rowan, and cake and scones. Perfect, in a word.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsKP69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    547
    19
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
36
469
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Northamptonshire
Level Contributor
93 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

It has all been said before, we stayed in one of the new conversions, with a fantastic copper bath. The fit out and quality of fittings is exceptional for a self catering property, all of the finer details have been thought of, including lovely toiletries.
I am reluctant to say any more as you really do need to experience it for yourself to appreciate how good it is.
Will we be going back?................. Most definatley.
Thanks to Wooldown for the wonderful cream tea on arrival.

Room Tip: If you are looking for romance go for one of the new conversions, stargaze is recommended!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We had a thoroughly enjoyable time from start to finish. We were greeted by a very friendly Rowan and shown our immaculate high spec room. The location is ideal to see all different parts of Cornwall. We will definitely be visiting again as the value for money, service and accommodation is outstanding.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We had a wonderful time at wooldown farm. We stayed in the birds nest. It was just what we wanted. A single room with all the mod cons. When we arrived we were pleasently surprised to find a cream tea and slices of cake! What a wonderful touch. Wooldown has a great freindly family welcome. it was also nice when we left we were given something for the journey home

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jandy444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Fabulous accommodation, the units are built and furnished to a very high quality standard, the views are incredible - who would have thought we'd be having breakfast on the terrace in the sunshine at the end of October?! The hosts are incredibly warm and hospitable, we were met by the helpful and friendly Rowan and greeted with freshly baked scones with cream and jam and homemade sponge - very yummy!

The village is ok as a base, but we found that once we'd done the canal walk to Bude (6 miles round trip - nice walk) and some of the SW coastal path, we had to travel quite far in the car to see more that was of interest (Padstow, Tintagel) - but this could just be our preference.

Ate twice at the Bay View Inn - can't recommend it highly enough - simple food done incredibly well, great prices, great service...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sasha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtownards, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Can't complain, from the warmth of the welcome to the comfortable accomodation, couldn't fault this place at all. I sent one email enquiry beforehand about a cafetiere and when we arrived they'd provided a filter coffee maker. Nothing was too much trouble and I can't recommend this place highly enough. The only downside is that the local village pub, the Bullers Arms Hotel, has now closed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We have just got back from our second stay this year at Wooldown and as usual it was faultless. Every small detail has been thought of from the well equipped kitchen to the welcome plate of cake and scones. We will certainly be going again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marhamchurch
2.5 mi away
Hebasca
Hebasca
#1 of 9 in Bude
4.5 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
2.2 mi away
Falcon Hotel
Falcon Hotel
#3 of 9 in Bude
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
24.1 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Camelot Castle Hotel
Camelot Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Tintagel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,195 reviews
2.8 mi away
Tommy Jacks Beach Hotel
2.6 mi away
Dylan's Bed and Breadfast - Bude, Cornwall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wooldown Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wooldown Holiday Cottages

Property: Wooldown Holiday Cottages
Address: Marhamchurch, Bude EX23 0HP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Bude-Stratton > Bude > Marhamchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Marhamchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Wooldown Holiday Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From cosy country cottages, to ultra-modern, apartment style barns that will be sure to take your breath away and make you say "WOW!" ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wooldown Holiday Cottages Marhamchurch, United Kingdom - Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing