We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A magnificent place for a holiday”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marhamchurch
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wooldown Holiday Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Mels
1 review
“A magnificent place for a holiday”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Wooldown farmhouse is a very well equipped house with plenty of room. The views out of the windows and especially the lovely bay-windows are magnificent. The sunsets are overwhelming. We were very excited about the huge garden and enjoyed playing on the lawn. It was remarkably quiet and nice to here the birds singing. The owners were vey kind and helpful. The nearby town of Bude offers a wide variety of sports facilities and lovely flat sandy beaches. There are also nice restaurants in the area. A highlight was the coastal path between Bude and Widemouth. We would certainly love to come back!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mirjam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    567
    19
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
36
486
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stevenage, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 25, 2012

This was our fourth time at Wooldown, although the first in the Wagoners. It is a beautiful house, very spacious and well equipped. We love the special teas provided on arrival, a truly welcome treat after a long journey. This is one of our favourite locations in the UK and we are sure to return!!

Room Tip: We've stayed at three locations and all have their own charm. Check out the web site for more in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GandEH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wareham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Fabulous cottage in a very quiet village location. Brilliant scones and cakes on arrival with Swan towels and rose petals on the bed to make our wedding anniversary perfect. Short walk to the canal towpath with a leisurely walk into Bude. The cottages are excellent with a warm friendly welcome.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShaunBradley82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This is our second visit, and we loved it every bit as much as before, a great relaxing luxury holiday. If you want to be relaxed with lovely views in first class accomadation, Wooldown barns is the place to go, we will be going back for our third visit soon.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Fantastic view, facilities, hospitality, value....
There wasn't a single thing I could fault with our cottage (Moonshine).
The spa bath helped ease the pain after my woeful attempt at surfing & the exceptionally equipped stylish kitchen improved my cooking skills! PLUS scones & cake on arrival!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeeB00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ewhurst
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We have just returned from our 3rd visit to Wooldown. This amazing location offers you a place to relax and chill. We very much feel it's home from home. There is always a warm welcome from Rowan and nothing is too much trouble. Shooting star is equipped to a very high standard and the fantanstic views over Widemouth Bay compliment this luxurious cottage. Again we walked sections of the north Cornwall costal paths, and with the canal walk into Bude we just feel no where can beat this holiday accommodation and location. A real foodie treat is the afternoon tea at the award winning Mowenstow rectory tea shop! We are already checking out holiday dates for our return To Wooldown next year.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Whelton1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Having had the privilege to stay in many Hotels in Cornwall over the last few years, expensive one's, you know the sort that charge over £100 per person per night, we thought we would try self catering and the flex that this type of holiday offers. With our fussy exacting standards ( sorry we are not snobs just we like quality) we were unsure if this would be for us.
Well what can you say. These apartments are top class, far better than any overpriced hotel room on offer anywhere. Very private area with outstanding views with some lovely walks along the river. The cream tea at Weir's Cafe on the entrance to the village of Marhamchurch is the best we have had. You could just go on and on with superlatives. The only down side to these review's are that people will want to stay here once its discovered making it harder to book in future, so we have sorted early for next year. Thanks also to Rowan for looking after us, see you next year...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mercmanY8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marhamchurch
2.5 mi away
Hebasca
Hebasca
#1 of 9 in Bude
634 reviews
2.4 mi away
An Mor
An Mor
#4 of 9 in Bude
198 reviews
2.8 mi away
Tommy Jacks Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Surf Haven Guest House
5.1 mi away
East Thorne-Cornwall Yurts and Cottages
14.0 mi away
Newmoor Park
Newmoor Park
#1 of 24 in Launceston
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wooldown Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wooldown Holiday Cottages

Property: Wooldown Holiday Cottages
Address: Marhamchurch, Bude EX23 0HP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Bude-Stratton > Bude > Marhamchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Marhamchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Wooldown Holiday Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From cosy country cottages, to ultra-modern, apartment style barns that will be sure to take your breath away and make you say "WOW!" ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wooldown Holiday Cottages Marhamchurch, United Kingdom - Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing