We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Break”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marhamchurch
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wooldown Holiday Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 5, 2012

Just returned from a fantastic mid week break at these luxury cottages, couldn't have asked for any more, location and quality of the cottage were excellent and everyone was very welcoming.....can't wait to return.
Perfect place to recharge your batteries and relax in complete luxury.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank salsagirl71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (608)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

508 - 514 of 608 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2012

Amazinig value, wish we could of stayed longer. Up on arriving we was taken to our little cottage and from the moment we parked it was perfect. The Views were endless, couldn't hear any traffic just quiet. The outside of the cottages were clean and tidy. They all had interesting little features with the partially exposed brick work the blue uplighters and lovely water feature. Once inside I could see the attention given to every detail. The combination of the old world look oak doors, beams and furniture. To the new crisp lights, shower and kitchen area. We were shown around and talked through the welcome pack by Rowen who was more then happy to help. Only being two miles from bude gave good access to supermarket or better still the local shops. We was also only 10 minute walk from a lovely local pub in the shape of The Bullers Arm. The whole time we was there just was a great experience and already planning to go back and for longer. I am also going to recommend to all.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulvbentley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Have recently returned from a return visit to Wenna's Well. We had a thoroughly relaxing week as we had done before. If your batteries need a gentle recharging then I can't think of a better place to do it. On this occasion we were welcomed with an additional valentine gift as well. Thank you for that.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ilovecountryside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

I booked this for my husband for his Birthday at the end of January. It surpassed all my expectations. We had a lovely welcome with homemade cakes waiting for us in our cottage.
It is so well placed for exploring the area and the walks into Bude and across to Widemouth bay
are lovely. Underfloor heating made the cottage so cosy and we took advantage of the DVD library available. The copper bath in our room was a talking piece. Overall a very relaxed and chilled out weekend and the best night's sleep away from home we have ever had. We will be back!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LiseHooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

Belated Wedding Anniversary celebration. Stayed in Buttermilk Barn. Fantastic place to stay, very relaxing and fabulous views to Widemouth Bay. Loved the cakes, bottle of wine and chocolates that greeted us on arrival. Great National Trust places to visit nearby and their food is wonderful. We will be back sometime for a 'charge your batteries weekend' soon.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexandra U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2012

Perfect for a weekend, friendly welcome on arrival, beautiful barn with lovely attention to detail throughout. The cream tea was great thank you! A great base for exploring the north cornish coast and further afield if you wish with great local pubs and restaurants. We very much enjoyed our weekend, a lovely break - living on the south coast in cornwall we fancied a weekend to explore the north coast. Wooldown was a great discovery, good value and beautiful setting to sit with a glass of wine and watch the sunset! Dewdrop Dairy, very comfortable, beautiful furnishings and relaxing atmosphere, thank you Sue and Roger, will certainly be recommending.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeckyTreneer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2012

I booked this for my husband for a Chrsitmas present for the weekend, from start to finish we had the most amazing time, it was recommeded to me via a friend that had been before with some of the service users I support. After my visit I have already recommended it to others that are looking to book a break away. The Copper Spa bath is absolute luxuary and in the space of 2 days I had five baths!!! Ive never played on a WII before and so enjoyed winning countless games against my husband :) The lounge area was lovely the sofas big enough for two. The kitchen facilities were first class and the attention to detail didnt go unnoticed. The bed was so comfortable and was great as TV could be watched from the sofa or bed. We took some DVD's to watch on the blue ray player. I enjoyed the scones and cakes that were their on our arrival along with the fresh lillys that smelt amazing. The views were breath taking, we will certainly be returning to Wooldown thankyou for an enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Any of the barn conversions we stayed in Stargazey
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rebecca c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marhamchurch
2.5 mi away
Hebasca
Hebasca
#1 of 9 in Bude
651 reviews
2.8 mi away
Tommy Jacks Beach Hotel
2.2 mi away
Falcon Hotel
Falcon Hotel
#2 of 9 in Bude
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
An Mor
An Mor
#4 of 9 in Bude
223 reviews
14.0 mi away
Camelot Castle Hotel
Camelot Castle Hotel
#3 of 6 in Tintagel
1,314 reviews
2.1 mi away
Broomhill Manor Country Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wooldown Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wooldown Holiday Cottages

Address: Marhamchurch, Bude EX23 0HP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Bude-Stratton > Bude > Marhamchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Marhamchurch
Price Range: $46 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wooldown Holiday Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From cosy country cottages, to ultra-modern, apartment style barns that will be sure to take your breath away and make you say "WOW!" ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wooldown Holiday Cottages Marhamchurch, United Kingdom - Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing