We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home from home”
The 16th century farmhouse and private garden, with Pear Tree cottage in the background.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The 16th century farmhouse and private garden, with Pear Tree cottage in the background.
Our heated outdoor swimming pool is open from Easter to the end of September. Looking out over the fields to the sea. Great views from the tennis court too.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
72 reviews
The 16th century farmhouse and private garden, with Pear Tree cottage in the background.
Our heated outdoor swimming pool is open from Easter to the end of September.
Looking out over the fields to the sea. Great views from the tennis court too.
Our hot tub, open all year round.
Spectacular views from the South West coastal path
Black Rock beach - a walk over the fields or 10 minutes in the car.
Our all-weather tennis court.
Early winter mornings
Amazing sunset over the sea
Farm house main bedroom
Farm House second en-suite
Farm house third double
Farm house kitchen
Farm house dining room
Double room Primrose
The kitchen and dining area in Swallow's Nest, one of the barn conversions overlooking the pool
Pound Cottage
Games room
Games room
Manor Cottage
Parsons cottage
Parsons en-suite
Stable double
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 11
Marhamchurch, Bude, Bude-Stratton, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 72 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
johnandal...
Basingstoke
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home from home”
Reviewed December 18, 2011 for a stay in August 2011
1
person found this review helpful

So pleased we found The Hilton. The owners Ian and Fiona are not only very welcoming, they are always very friendly and helpful too. The site is close enough to town and all local amenities, but far enough away also to get some true peace. Our family recently stayed in the Farmhouse with some friends and it was a magical experience. The Farmhouse is beautifully decorated and extremely well equipped with plenty of space to escape for kids and adults alike.The interior and decor remains authentic to its original use but has many modern upgrades tastefully installed to enhance the experience even more. It is so homely, you don’t just feel like a guest in a holiday house, it’s like being invited to someone else’s home, but without the uncomfortableness that normally goes with that. Its spacious, clean, comfortable and most of all cosy, with a capital C. Couple that with the relaxing pool, outdoor Jacuzzi, ample play area and a menagerie of animals that adopt you at a blink, it’s a great experience all round. And when the littluns have grown up, you can pick and choose from plenty of other cottages to match the size of your wallet and family. Highly reccommended :) We've returned for Christmas, tucked away in Nook for a more intimate experience and we'll definitely return next summer to catch the 'mazin Bude vibe again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul O
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“10 out of 10 Hilton Farm”
Reviewed November 17, 2011 for a stay in October 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Hilton Farm more than exceeded our expectations. The setting offers fantastic views over countryside and sea, whilst offering a tranquil location with easy access to local beaches and the south coast path. Hilton Farm is ideal for families with children, offering a lovely play area and various farm animals. Our cottage "Pound" was clean, spacious, well decorated with lovely furnishings and accessories. Mr and Mrs Goodman and thier Son are lovely people and could not do enough to ensure that our stay was a happy one, offering good advice on local dining and attractions. We were so impressed that we have already booked to return next year. 10 out of 10 Hilton Farm.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Family
Your age range 35-49
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
primocat
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Lovely Place”
Reviewed September 24, 2011 for a stay in September 2011
3
people found this review helpful

We recently stayed at Hilton Farm Cottages in Swallow's Nest (1 double + sep bunkbeds room). We were just 1 couple and 2 dogs.

The place was really rather nice and actually seemed nicer than the photos which I think must be a little old given that the decor seems to have been updated.

Marhamchurch itself is tiny, but we did find a little house literally around the corner with a very chatty couple selling potatoes and apples and another farm at the end of the main road where they sold all manner of things, and from where we got really lovely eggs. Other than that, there is a largish Morrisons in Bude which was open til fairly late every day (normal 4pm shut on Sunday) and quite a few restaurants which I am told are nice.

We did not try the "Buller's Arms" which was close by, so we can't comment on how friendly or nice it was. The chatty potato couple said it was good and gave us lots of recommendations, one of which was "Inn On The Green" in Bude, where we went for their Friday fish and chips with glass of wine special (£6.95) - this was a really large portion and light and tasty, which might sound odd given that it was battered. Evidently it is popular as the table seated after us didn't manage to get theirs as it had run out and moaned a lot! Best go before 8.30pm to avoid the disappointment!

This was our first time in Cornwall and we were not sure what we would make of the locals, but everyone we came across in Cornwall was really friendly. I thought they might be a bit resentful of us out-of-towners, but not at all!

I did read the negative comments left by a couple of other people, and have to say that we did not have a bad experience in the slightest. Not to say that everything was perfect, but where there were small problems, they were actually sorted out really very fast, and when we enquired where the nearest shop was so that we could buy some foil, Fiona appeared shortly after with some of hers for us, which was super. Yes internet is not great, but it does work, though a little slower than we are used to at home.

There are lots of sheep in a nearby field, a horse and a chicken that flits from place to place plus 2 dogs that welcomed ours and showed them around the farm. I don't know if there is a "pet's corner" per se, but the owners are a very friendly pair and I imagine if you had little ones, they could sort that out. I did see a family with young kids petting the horse.

We did try out the pool and jacuzzi, and it was clean and warm and we had a lovely moonlight dip in the jacuzzi on one of the nights we were there.

Bude is a very good location to use as a stopping point, we found trips to Tintagel, Padstow,Newquay, Morwellham Quay (you need to make a whole day of it, see all the talks and do the mine experience to get the best from it - but do not take dogs on the mine experience as we did - too scary for them) and surrounding areas, very accessible. We stayed in September and despite the weather not being the best (we caught the tail end of both hurricanes Irene and Katya) there were plenty non-swimming in the sea activities and places to visit. On the really horrible days, the cottages are cosy and warm, and there is a the tv, dvd and on-site games (tennis, table-tennis and pool table) to keep you occupied.

We would definitely recommend Hilton Farm Cottages!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jimmythef...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not good enough”
Reviewed September 5, 2011 for a stay in July 2011
1
person found this review helpful

I would totally reiterate the comments by Geminilj and find some of the others which rate this accommodation highly as surprising.
We stayed in the Farmhouse and it was far from clean, really not good enough for any accommodation let alone accommodation that cost almost 2,500 for a week.
All I can say to Geminilj is that we stayed two weeks before you and we had to wipe the dirt from some of the inside windows. It may have been better for you thanks to us!
Bunk bed had to be changed as unsafe, washing machine which we used after two days was broken. When finally opened it stank. Apparently must have broken just before we arrived!
Spoke to another guy staying and he said the same, unclean.
Not good enough, would not recommend or go back.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teamspenc...
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“We loved it and are booking for next year”
Reviewed September 4, 2011 for a stay in August 2011

Hilton Farm Cottages is a wonderful place, set in a beautiful part of Cornwall. We spent a very relaxing week in Badger Cottage which was clean, light and very airy. The children loved the fact that they could go for a swim in the warm outdoor pool before breakfast, whilst we relaxed in the Jacuzzi. The children loved the friendly animals, the play area and the open space. Ian and Fiona were very helpful and welcoming. They were always available to answer any questions. This is one of the few holidays when we didn't want to leave.

Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Family
Your age range 35-49
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gary h
Tipperary, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a beautiful place”
Reviewed September 2, 2011 for a stay in June 2011

We came here with my husbands family and stayed in the beautiful 16th century farmhouse which was just as you would expect, a lovely country house. When we arrived we were greeted by the lovely owners Fiona and Ian who made us feel so welcome, the house was clean, warm and inviting. We were not stuck for anything throughout the week and the children loved all the facilities there were to offer including the games room which was great for when the weather wasn't so good although we were lucky with the weather that week. All the animals are friendly and kept well and Ian allowed the children to feed the lambs which was a wonderful experience for them. All round it was a brilliant peaceful relaxing holiday in a lovely setting and we will definitely be back and recommending it to friends and family.

Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter N
Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Another great holidy at Hilton”
Reviewed August 29, 2011 for a stay in August 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Hilton Farm truly is an amazing place to spend some time. We have been holidaying here for the past fourteen years, often coming twice a year. It really is a wonderfully relaxing venue and a great base from which to explore the many delights of Cornwall.

The owners, Ian & Fiona Goodman go out of their way to make everyone feel welcome and do their utmost to ensure the time spent at Hilton is of the highest quality. Nothing is too much trouble.

Over the years I think we have stayed in most of the cottages and have always founf that they have more than met our needs and expectations.

I am not normally one for writing endorsements and then only when one is richly deserved. Many thanks Ian & Fiona for helping to make our holidays times to remember.

Value Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Your age range 50-64
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing