We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing property & hospitality”
Review of Penleaze Farmhouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marhamchurch
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Penleaze Farmhouse
Hampshire, UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing property & hospitality”
Reviewed September 19, 2011

Having recently had a baby, we decided to spend a week relaxing in Cornwall but needed a property to house 2 sets of grandparents, aunties and uncles as well as a small baby. Penleaze Farmhouse was the perfect solution offering large bedrooms and 3 reception rooms all with large TVs, DVD player and one with Sky.
The hospitality offered when we arrived was outstanding and every need was met. Nothing was ever too much trouble.
The photos, although beautiful, can't begin to represent the friendly atmosphere of the hosts and the house. The 'welcome pack' and beautiful fresh flowers was a fabulous surprise and everything you need for a comfortable holiday seems to have been thought of. Penleaze really is a home from home! Although our home doesn't have a wonderful hot tub :-(

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marion J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penleaze-Farmhouse, Manager at Penleaze Farmhouse, responded to this review, September 27, 2011
Dear Marion,

Thank you so much for your lovely words. We do appreciate them a lot and also want to let you know what friendly and nice guests you were.

We really hope to see you again soon!

Kindest regards

Stefan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
6
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Norton Canes, Staffs, UK
1 review
Reviewed September 8, 2011

If you are looking for a property that can accommodate 2 families, 3 generations or a getaway for just the 2 of you, Penleaze Farmhouse is for you. The minute you step out of the car you are greeted with such a warm welcome it feels like you are returning to your own summer home. The photos show such grandeur which Penleaze is; however it is also very comfortable and homely that you don’t feel afraid to sit back, relax and enjoy the stunning views whilst the children enjoy playing in the garden. The personal touches that are all around the Farmhouse are a lovely surprise that we will not tell you about as we do not want to spoil it for you. Its cleanliness and presentation is to an excellent standard and the amount of room within the farmhouse does actually mean that even with 8 in the house you can feel like a million miles from anyone or just as nice you can all sit together very comfortably. It was a nice surprise to have ample supplies of the little things that you really do not want to buy in your holiday shopping such as washing powder, dishwasher tablets, washing up liquid, tin foil, sandwich bags the list could go on and on, it has been one of the best supplied holiday rentals that we have been to. At first we were a little surprised to see how close the owners were to the property, but this was not a problem at all as the owners offer an excellent customer service and makes you feel more like friends than people renting the property. Nothing is too much bother for them, and they never made us feel like we were imposing.
Penleaze is just a 5 minute car journey (10min if traffic is busy) from Bude which in itself is a haven again for all generations. Great beaches, stunning walks for all levels and lovely town with great shops. Each corner or cove makes you think you have found yet another hidden secret, normally we do not return to stay in the same place & property because there is so much of this lovely country to see; however we will definitely make an exception with Penleaze and Bude. The only thing to take into account is that Bude is quite hilly, but does have excellent paths that can accommodate pushchairs/wheelchairs.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penleaze-Farmhouse, Manager at Penleaze Farmhouse, responded to this review, September 9, 2011
Dear Debra M,

Thank you ever so much for your review. We do appreciate it very much. You were such lovely guests and we would love to see you again at Penleaze! And thank you as well for you generosity and leaving Penleaze so immaculate. We have had a very relaxed changover day besause of it (so happy!)

All the best for you!

Kindest regards

Stefan & Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 20, 2011

My family and myself have been visiting Cornwall for the past six years, staying in a different cottage each time. I can confidently say that, Penleaze is the most comfortable, elegant, spacious, luxurious and child friendly place we have ever had the pleasure to stay in. The bed rooms are all spacious and comfortable with fantastic traditional furniture. The two living rooms are perfect for families, with sky in one and play station in the other. A dining table large enough for ten was a fantastic touch, giving the opportunity for the family to gather for breakfast and evening meals together. I loved the Aga stove, the American style fridge/freezer, the antique radio, the multitude of cooking dishes, the massive amount of antique furniture and the entire feel of the house. Outside was a wonder. The hot tub was a saviour on cold days; the summer house was magical (I am going to be reproducing on for my garden in the near future); the bench swing was a perfect place to sip a glass of wine and at sun set, the decking was a perfect spot to relax and take in the sight. I will be booking a return visit as soon as possible, I can not wait to meet Sefan and Richard again as they are the most lovely hosts a holiday home could have.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank plainjayne79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penleaze-Farmhouse, Manager at Penleaze Farmhouse, responded to this review, August 23, 2011
....What can we say?...Thank you so much for your wonderful comments. It makes what we've hopefully tried to achieve here at Penleaze so worth while!
Thank you once again and we can't wait to welcome you here in the very near future!

Kindest regards

Stefan+Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 1, 2011

Penleaze is a home from home - very comfortable and beautifully furnished. The owners live next door and are pleasant, helpful and welcoming! The kitchen table was groaning under the plate of freshly baked scones, jam, clotted cream, fruit basket, local cider and biscuits and milk! We stayed there as a party of 10 - 6 adults and 4 children and were very satisfied with the facilities to keep us all occupied! The children loved the large enclosed (when we shut the gate!) garden with its playhouse and summerhouse. The inclusion of DVD players and satellite TV was a bonus - particularly on our only wet day!
The bedrooms were beautiful and comfortable in the main - but the antique beds took a little getting used to! A hairdryer and larger bath towels would have been welcome but are only tiny niggles in what was a fabulous weeks holiday! Oh and did I mention the hot tub?!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malteezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penleaze-Farmhouse, Manager at Penleaze Farmhouse, responded to this review, August 3, 2011
...Thank you very much for your lovely comments. We appreciate your feedback a lot.
And also thank you for the idea with the hair dryers. They are already ordered!

We enjoyed your company when you stayed with us at Penleaze and we would love to see you again in the future!

Kindest regards

Stefan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2011

This is not a b/b any more , now a holiday cottage. spent half term week here, with our son and daughter their partners and the five grandchildren. Great from first being met by very helpful owner to the final day of sad goodbye. Spent cold windy days building dams on the beach at Bude examining rock pools,fabulous lunch at " Life's a Beach" then back to log fires, and, once the children are in bed, a glass of wine in the hot tub, bliss. This house has so much going for it plenty of space for us all to spread out and relax and comfort even the summer house is luxurious.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank patkl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penleaze-Farmhouse, Manager at Penleaze Farmhouse, responded to this review, June 8, 2011
....Thank you very much for your lovely words. We appreciate them a lot!

We are really glad that you have enjoyed yourselves at Penleaze and hope to see you again.

Kind regards

Stefan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2010

A large group of us stayed at Penleaze, some of us had teens and some of us had young kids. With 2 reception rooms, a sun room, a huge garden and a hot tub there was something for everyone to enjoy and entertain us. This used to be a B&B but has now been converted into a gorgeous self catering house suitable for large groups (up to 10). When we arrived there was a bowl of fresh fruit and some bottles of cider waiting for us on the farmhouse table. The kitchen is a feast for the eyes with its working Aga range (as well as conventional stove), American fridge freezer and plenty of storage space plus a utility room with both washing machine and tumble dryer. The bedrooms are spacious and beautiful, each one is decorated in a Victorian style. Our kids enjoyed playing hide and seek in all the nooks and crannies! Our only personal downside was that we didn't realise that this house was located on the Cornwall/ Devon borders so it was an hour or so drive to the Northern Cornish beaches - but that was our fault! The local beaches at Bude were also very nice and closeby. Mr Taylor, the owner (who also farms the neighbouring sheep/ chicken farm) was incredibly helpful and always smiling. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CatherineCoulthard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penleaze-Farmhouse, Inhaber at Penleaze Farmhouse, responded to this review, June 8, 2011
......Thank you very much for your kind comments. We really appreciate them!

It was a pleasure to have you here at Penleaze and we hope to see you again!

Kind regards

Stefan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twyford
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2006

My partner and I spent a long weekend at Penleaze in March 2006. The room was lovely with an amazing panoramic view of the countryside and a very well decorated and homely feel.
The owners were very accomodating and helpful and the breakfast was by far the freshest and best cooked that i've ever had in any hotel.
The village of Marhamchurch is very small but it is easy to get a Taxi to nearby Bude. I would recommend this bed and breakfast to anyone that is lookong for a peceful and relaxing stay in a wonderful setting.

  • Stayed March 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Copey3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Penleaze Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penleaze Farmhouse

Property: Penleaze Farmhouse
Address: Penleaze Penleaze Penleaze, Marhamchurch, Bude EX23 0ET, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Bude-Stratton > Bude > Marhamchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Marhamchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 bedrooms with fabulous view of the garden, the idyllic landscape and the dramatic coast of North-Cornwall. 1 stunning double bedroom with amazing, handmade canopy bed with en-suite bathroom/WC. 2 more double rooms with en-suite bathroom/WC (one with free-standing Victorian bathtub). 1 double room and 1 bedroom with bunk beds with bathroom with corner tub and shower/WC. On the ground floor there is another spacious bathroom/WC. Tiled house floor and cosy lounge with open fireplace, SkyTV, Playstation², Wii and DVD. Large farmhouse kitchen with stove, oven, American fridge, dishwasher, microwave & a lot more. The dining room: a wonderful room with large table & open fireplace winter garden with couch,TV,DVD & PlayStation. utility room: Washing machine & dryer. Outside: Inner courtyard w/whirlpool, garden furniture & BBQ. Large garden with playground, sea view & parking spaces. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Penleaze Farmhouse Marhamchurch, United Kingdom - Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing