We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brunch time”

Trewithen Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 23 Restaurants in Lostwithiel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $29
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Trewithen Restaurant is one of the most renowned restaurants in Cornwall. Its reputation is founded on two key ingredients - great food and first class friendly service. Trewithen is open throughout the year, serving a varied seasonal menu to both a loyal customer base and visitors to the area. Located in Lostwithiel, Trewithen is easily accessible for all parts of Cornwall. The restaurant also has a private dining room that can be hired for functions or meetings and a walled garden for sheltered al fresco dining in the summer months.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Brunch time”
Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

Popped in for impromptu brunch with Breakfast rosti, mushrooms, tomato, local bacon and poached egg- very much enjoyed - excellent service too

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    377
    32
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
264 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“The best meal you'll ever have in someone's front room!”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

This is the sweetest restaurant in a converted, terraced cottage. The menu is creative and executed to perfection and the wine list is unexpectedly sophisticated. What makes this all come together in the most charming and delightful way is the service. By the end of the meal you feel like you've eaten at a friend's house only the food is much better than any of your friends could ever cook! You must book as they are super busy and only small. Enjoy.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lovestravel65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent service and food”
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Despite having not booked and restaurant already busy, we were welcomed, seated and served without fuss and with a smile.
A sensibly priced menu with a sensible number of choices that focused on local and seasonal. Between the 3 of us, we ate the mussels, liver parfait with brioche, side salads - green and tomato and red onion. Delicious. The in- house baked bread was the best bread I have eaten in any restaurant.

The 2 young men serving are an asset to the restaurant - A* for both of them. One of them made the bread!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wow! What an amazing meal!”
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Just spent Valentine's evening at Trewithen. Not my first visit, I have to add. I am never ever disappointed.
Fabulous choice. Friendly service and a great atmosphere. I would recommend to anyone to have a meal here.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerran P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“First class in everyway”
Reviewed February 8, 2014

A warm friendly atmosphere, very professional staff with a superb menu and wine list. The food quality was excellent and we very much enjoyed our anniversary dinner, so much so we returned to dine three times during our weeks stay at Restormel Manor

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jesse H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trewithen Restaurant also viewed

Lostwithiel, Cornwall
Lostwithiel, Cornwall
 
Lostwithiel, Cornwall
Lostwithiel, Cornwall
 

Been to Trewithen Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing