We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dog friendly good food”
Review of Royal Oak Inn

Royal Oak Inn
Ranked #4 of 23 Restaurants in Lostwithiel
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
derby
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Dog friendly good food”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Always on the look out for dog friendly pubs we tried this one as the website says it has a jar of biscuits on the bar for dogs - it has and our dog got several! We had to sit in the very small bar to eat but it was very pleasant. The food is on the expensive side but well worth it. I had squid to start then red snapper on a bed of noodles & veg, both excellent and beautifully presented. Go visit, its great.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    79
    23
    9
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Everything you could ask for in one cosy package!”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Tasty, locally sourced food - simply but beautifully presented. Friendly and quick service (we are in cornwall let us not forget!!) and good value for money. A great atmosphere provided by cosy traditional decor and a pub garden covered by the biggest weeping willow I've ever seen! What more can you ask for this side of the tamar?!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SmilingSloth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A hidden gem! Can highly recommend this pub!”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

A cosy and traditional Inn with a great food (much better than your usual pub food) friendly staff, and local ales. Been a few times now, the last being a wine tasting evening with excellent Italian food and as many different wines as we could drink! A wine expert (from St Austell brewery) was at hand to guide an advise on the selection! The atmosphere was wonderful as always and the night was great value for money.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FoodGuru5111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“GREAT FOOD”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Ate here on a lovely warm late tuesday afternoon.
Although there weren't many diners at this time the pub had a lovely atmosphere.
The food was excellent and the chocolate brownies were fantastic with white chocolate and amaretto sauce.The staff were all very friendly and efficient.
We will definitely return for more when we are down this way again

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ANN R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcliff-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Bad Service”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

The food was ok, it was a bit hit and miss. The service I thought was very poor and the staff definitely needed some training on how to serve to the table. On the whole though it was an ok night.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Diane2012_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travexLondon, Owner at Royal Oak Inn, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review us on trip advisor and for your feedback regarding your experience. We are sorry that the service fell short of your expectations. Normally our team are very attentive and the feedback is usually good, please accept our apologies that this was not the case for your table.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Oak Inn also viewed

Lostwithiel, Cornwall
Lostwithiel, Cornwall
 
Lostwithiel, Cornwall
 

Been to Royal Oak Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing