We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Proper Old Cornish Pub”
Review of Royal Oak Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Oak Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lostwithiel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Stayed at The Royal Oak overnight whilst attending a wedding nearby. Had my whole family with me, taking up four rooms. From start to finish, the staff were warm and friendly and couldn't help enough whilst not being over attending. The pub itself is full of history, with plenty of character. The rooms were spotless, all with en-suites, tea/coffee, etc. and certainly adequate in size for overnight stays with extremely comfortable beds. But breakfast is something else, freshly cooked and lovely with plenty of options. All in all, an excellent stay and of great value. A definite recommend. Proper job.

Room Tip: Room 2 is the largest room but all are quite okay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Roddy999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vicky c, Owner at Royal Oak Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2014

Thank you so much for your glowing review. The whole team at the Oak will be appreciative of your kind comments.
Now you have found us hopefully you will return and we look forward to meeting any one of your family again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (206)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 206 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2014

we had one nights stay here this time as my husband was cycling to John O'Groats. Nice friendly welcome with safe storage for his bike.Our room was large and comfortable, good size bathroom. Breakfast lovely, served by the chief with a sense of humor!! Thank you.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank outonourbikes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vicky c, Owner at Royal Oak Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Your review is a recognition of just what we aim to provide and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
Happy cycling and we hope you visit us again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

The staff were friendly and the food excellent.
The only down side was the room (6). It was a small room with a bathroom that was barely adequate. It was so small we had to go into the bedroom to get dried after a shower.
We were fortunate to have excellent weather. Unfortunately we opened the window to cool down the room but outside the window is the kitchen extractor fan. This was noisy and because the ducting did not go high enough the smell of fried food filled the room.

Room Tip: Try and book a particular room number, I just booked a double room and got room six which is to be a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vicky c, Owner at Royal Oak Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay overall. Delighted that you thought the food excellent and the service good. What a shame you did not tell us you were unhappy with your room ;.if at all possible we try and make our guests satisfied .Obviously with the building being so old the room sizes vary and we would have upgraded you to a superior room at the front if we were not fully booked. They cost just a little more than the standard budget rooms and are at the front of the building.
Make sure to book room 2 or 3 next time you visit to have all the space you prefer.
We hope to see you again and thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Typical English pub in very pretty village, nice room, some peeling paint but very clean with good extras (tea/coffee, hairdryer, bottled water), very comfy bed, tasty breakfast (best bacon ever), rattler on draft = nice stay

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4_Lovely_Ladies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vicky c, Owner at Royal Oak Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

Thank you "lovely Lady" for recognizing just what we aim to be --a typical Cornish pub. So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated the food ,all home cooked and bacon locally sourced.
As for the bit of peeling paint--you are right and this is to be fixed after horrendous storm damage which left us with a badly leaking roof. All repaired now thank goodness.
Hope you come again as you know just what to expect from a small country inn and you are just the appreciative guest we love to welcome.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Went in for food but they had stopped serving at 3pm. Menu was still on the table and looked very inviting. Will visit again when back down that way, as really want to try the food. Very friendly staff.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Tracey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vicky c, Owner at Royal Oak Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

We are sorry you missed our food service so do come and see us again. We serve food from11am until 3pm and 6pm until 9.30pm.
We appreciate that you reviewed us favourably on the strength of our friendly staff and being dog and people friendly. Thank you so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014

The accommodations were good; the atmosphere even better; and, the breakfasts prepared by Lewis were good and personally, pleasantly served. He even prepared a breakfast-to-go so that we could eat it on the train back to London

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aejb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vicky c, Owner at Royal Oak Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Thank you gentlemen .We remember meeting you in the carpark and admiring your retro car.
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and I know Cristie our manager/chef and Lewis the breakfast chef were very happy to serve you well and found you such appreciative customers.

We do hope you will visit our little inn again as everyone (staff and customers) enjoyed meeting you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

great hotel in a small village great for visiting all of south Cornwall. nice pubs in village and a nice village to walk around. room was great ,staff all good,breakfast was good, free parking at hotel. this place is fantastic for a long weekend.good food served at hotel.will return.

Room Tip: don't think they have a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trevor m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vicky c, Owner at Royal Oak Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to say how much you enjoyed your stay in Lostwithiel and with us in our friendly inn.
We are even more delighted to think you will come again and all the staff will be looking forward to welcoming you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lostwithiel
0.1 mi away
Best Western Fowey Valley
Best Western Fowey Valley
#1 of 3 in Lostwithiel
515 reviews
7.2 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#5 of 9 in St Austell
384 reviews
7.5 mi away
Travelodge St Austell Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
St Benet's Abbey
St Benet's Abbey
#1 of 1 in Lanivet
311 reviews
7.8 mi away
Tredethy House
Tredethy House
#1 of 1 in Tredethy
202 reviews
3.4 mi away
Lanhydrock Hotel and Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Oak Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Oak Inn

Address: 5 Duke Street, Lostwithiel PL22 0AG, England (Formerly The Royal Oak)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Lostwithiel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lostwithiel
Price Range: $94 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Oak Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
13Th Century Inn with original features; Listed stained glass windows and also a tunnel link to nearby Restormel Castle. Lostwithiel has a fascinating history & is a bustling, popular town on the River Fowey. Near to Lanhydrock House & Garden, The Eden Project, Heligan Gardens etc and south coast; Fowey, Looe, Charlestown and Mevagissey. The Royal Oak has newly refurbished, comfortable & spacious rooms, all en suite, together with a great pub restaurant & bar, popular with local & visitors alike. The chefs offer traditional pub food using fresh local produce. During the summer, you can enjoy the extensive, patio area in the dappled shade of a lovely willow tree. For cooler weather, there are 2 cosy wood burners providing a great comforting atmosphere in the bar, snug lounge and restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Royal Oak Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Oak Hotel Lostwithiel
Royal Oak Lostwithiel
Royal Oak Inn Lostwithiel, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing