We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pub Comfort in Lostwithiel”
Review of Royal Oak Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Oak Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lostwithiel
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Pub Comfort in Lostwithiel”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Our stay was off to a good start when the bar staff we're actually expecting us! We took a larger room (No. 3), which included a two seater lounge. For 3 nights, the extra space was good. Bathroom clean and modern. Our friend had a smaller double room (No. 1), which was also comfortable and clean.
Breakfast included cereals, fruit juice and fruit, hot food cooked to order and plunger coffee or tea. Breakfast was worth getting-up for!
We had evening meals at the Royal Oak. These were reasonable value for money with enjoyable food - we had very good fish but our meat eater friend was not as keen on her food. The evening meal was let-down by inattentive service even though there were adequate staff and not crowds of people. The bar staff seemed more interested in chatting amongst themselves and texting friends rather than looking after paying guests.
Lostwithiel is a good location and an excellent base for the exploring the area. The Royal Oak is a good location within Lostwithiel, with off street carparking and an easy walk to the rest of the town.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doingittough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travexLondon, Owner at Royal Oak Inn, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review us on trip advisor and for your honest feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed the room and agree that the slight extra charge we make for rooms 2 & 3 is well worth it - these two rooms are huge!
Please accept our apologies that the service was not as it should have been - we will speak to our team.
We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    55
    15
    4
    1
See reviews for
38
101
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
essex england
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in september and it was all you could have desired. The staff are friendly, the rooms are spacious and clean the bar and the restaraunt were great the breakfask was immense, if you are looking to stay close to the Eden Project and want to be centrally located to some of cornwall's other delights then this is the place for you. Only downfall 3 nights was just not enough:

Room Tip: Room 2 was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jane n n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travexLondon, Owner at Royal Oak Inn, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for posting such positive comments on trip advisor - we hope you will come and stay again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed here overnight and found it very comfortable, convenient and friendly. Our room was spacious and clean, with views of the pretty church, and the pub is well-located with ample parking. We ate in and the squid was simply delicious and very well prepared! This is a nice place to stay with good staff and an ideal base. We shall return.

[A shame that on the only really hot day since probably April, a neighbour decided to light an acrid bonfire during the afternoon! ]

Room Tip: Try the room with a double aspect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gericUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travexLondon, Owner at Royal Oak Inn, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review us on trip advisor and for your positive feedback. Sorry about the neighbours bonfire - not something we can control but we hope it didn't distract from your stay to much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2012


Simon and his staff make you very welcome. Excellent menu varied daily. Great base for visiting Cornwall.
Theme nights are a good way getting to know the locals. Italian night was a great success, good food and wine.
Shared a table with hosts family and had a good time.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Handy4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travexLondon, Owner at Royal Oak Inn, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for posting a review on trip advisor - we are glad you enjoyed the visit!
The Italian evening (canapes & wine tasting) was really popular and the feedback was great watch out via the usual media channels for the next event!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moraira, Spain
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We spent three nights at the Royal Oak as a couple and were very impressed with everything offered. All the staff were very polite and friendly and Simon, the Chef, made us feel very welcome. The room we had, No. 3, was excellent and the decor fresh and clean. We joined in on the Italian wine tasting evening, which we thoroughly enjoyed and the food was first class. Would certainly stay there again and recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travexLondon, Owner at Royal Oak Inn, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review us on trip advisor and for your positive comments - we are glad you enjoyed the stay and the Italian wine tasting evening!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

I must emphasize that we did not stay in this Inn, but during our two week stay in Lostwithiel we ate here frequently.

This was our favourite place to eat in the evening (family of four, kids 8 and 6). There was plenty on the the kids menu (best chicken goujons we have ever had) and enough to keep my wife and I wanting to come back on the main menu.

They have fantastic local ales on tap (recommend Betty Stogs if you like a pale ale).

They accept dogs and even have a doggy treat jar on the bar.

The best visit we had was on the last day when we went in for breakfast on our way home. The service was excellent and the breakfast second to none.

If the food, ale and service is anything to go by, I would be surprised if the accommodation was anything less than excellent.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doct0r_x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee
Level Contributor
80 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the offering here.

For a 'pub with rooms' the Royal Oak provides a Bed and Breakfast experience more akin to a small hotel.

Whilst being offered a relatively small double room at the outset, we asked for a larger room and landed up with one of the best rooms in the house - normally subject to an additional charge.

Being recently refurbished, the room and shower room were in very tidy condition and the quiet location guaranteed a good night's sleep.

We had Dinner here on both evenings and the quality of the food was very good, at a very reasonable price. The real ale on offer was an added bonus!

Whilst breakfast had to be pre-booked, on the evening before, this did not detract from the quality of the Full English Breakfast option, nor indeed the poached egg on toast chosen by my wife!

All in all an great stay and well worth a re-visit in the future.

Thanks, Simon!

Room Tip: Ask for Rooms 2 or 3 as they are bigger than the others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrumpyDundee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lostwithiel
0.1 mi away
Best Western Fowey Valley
Best Western Fowey Valley
#1 of 3 in Lostwithiel
482 reviews
7.8 mi away
Tredethy House
Tredethy House
#1 of 1 in Tredethy
185 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
837 reviews
7.4 mi away
Trehellas House
Trehellas House
#1 of 1 in Washaway
338 reviews
4.6 mi away
St Benet's Abbey
St Benet's Abbey
#1 of 1 in Lanivet
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Oak Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Oak Inn

Property: Royal Oak Inn
Address: 5 Duke Street, Lostwithiel PL22 0AG, England (Formerly The Royal Oak)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Lostwithiel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lostwithiel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Oak Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
13Th Century Inn with original features; Listed stained glass windows and also a tunnel link to nearby Restormel Castle. Lostwithiel has a fascinating history & is a bustling, popular town on the River Fowey. Near to Lanhydrock House & Garden, The Eden Project, Heligan Gardens etc and south coast; Fowey, Looe, Charlestown and Mevagissey. The Royal Oak has newly refurbished, comfortable & spacious rooms, all en suite, together with a great pub restaurant & bar, popular with local & visitors alike. The chefs offer traditional pub food using fresh local produce. During the summer, you can enjoy the extensive, patio area in the dappled shade of a lovely willow tree. For cooler weather, there are 2 cosy wood burners providing a great comforting atmosphere in the bar, snug lounge and restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Book Direct Rooms and HRS so you can book your Royal Oak Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Oak Hotel Lostwithiel
Royal Oak Lostwithiel
Royal Oak Inn Lostwithiel, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing