We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent holiday, made for families with young children”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lostwithiel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tredethick Farm Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 23, 2010

We had heard great things about Tredethick before we arrived & we were not disappointed. Great accomodation, best quality I've ever stayed in when self catering. Very friendly Farmer Tim who has such a natural connection with children ensuring animal feeding & pony rides goes well each morning.

Facilities of swimming pool, soft play barn with coffee machine & papers for parents, outside play area, ride on tractors, sand pit, table tennis, table football, all make for an excellent holiday with young children.

Beautiful part of cornwall, with lovely beaches & town of Fowey within 15 minutes drive. We've booked to return next year & we can't wait.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rog21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (95)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 95 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2009

I thought this place was terrific. Tredethick has been thoughtfully organised to appeal to those with young families - particularly toddlers - and can best be described as a cross between a Country Club for toddlers (with fantastic heated indoor pool, a massive trampoline, soft play room and a playground), a working farm (where the children are encouraged to feed the animals by Farmer Tim at 9am each day) and a rural retreat that is well-placed for visiting a huge number of local attractions. February is good - its relatively inexpensive and there are lambs to be bottle-fed!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelFoxEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2008

Yes, the accommodation is very clean and well appointed, but at the end of the day it's still cottages on a farm, it's quite a long way from the sea and you can find similar experiences at half the price!

  • Stayed: April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank Phil220262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2006

Just had a week in the Granary at Tredethick, what a lovely week we had. Our girls (1 and 4) though the whole holiday was fantastic (indeed our 4 year old cried her eyes out on departure day).

Farmer Tim is an instant hit, our 4 year idolised him (even if she wouldnt stir the milk !).

Wonderful facilities, great play areas, lovely pool (although a spa would be nice for us grown ups !).

How fantastic to be able to get in with the animals - even handfeeding the chickens - our littlest wanted to live in their house with them.

No shortage of anything to do - even if you just stay on the farm.

Granary was lovely, warm, inviting and big !, although I must admit, with the our 1 year old maybe a cottage with ground level entrance would be better - maybe hayloft next time.

The surrounding area is lovely, we didnt explore much to be honest, Fowey is beautiful, give Polkerris a miss, grott beach. We usually eat out but found that the kids (and us) were just too pooped to bother so we ate in with a roaring log fire.

Cannot wait to go back, missing it already.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Jennypig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2006

Classy well equipped cottages/converted barns with ample privacy. Lovely swimming pool, soft play area and general play area a moment's walk from your cottage. What really makes this holiday exclusive is Farmer Tim and Farmer Nicky in the animal feeding and horse riding experiences which children (and parents!) can attend most days. With beautiful beaches and plenty of other attractions also on the doorstep, this makes for a great family holiday in a very scenic location.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank CupCake7000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2005

We stayed here last July and had one of our best ever family holidays. The place is so family / child friendly and the cottages and facilities are excellent. We stayed in the Liddicoat which is literally steps from the indoor pool. The cottages back onto a gorgeous courtyard and overlook lovley countryside. Farmer Tim and Farmer Nicky were a huge hit with the kids. They really enjoyed the animal feeding and pony rides. The cottages are really well equipped and very comfortable. The pool is great , clean spacious warm dressing rooms and loads of inflatable toys . It overlooks the Fowey Valley. There is also an outdoor play areas and two indoor areas, one of which is a soft area for smaller children. The little shop operates on a trust system and had wonderful homecooked meals, breads etc and lovley jams etc. The pond was a big hit with the boys who tried to catch tea!! The area is nice for exploring and theres lots to do. We loved Lanhydrock and Bodmin Steam Railway. We really can't wait to go back!



7  Thank gariem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LunaD_sseldorf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lostwithiel hotels
1 mi away
Best Western Fowey Valley
Best Western Fowey Valley
#1 of 3 in Lostwithiel
570 reviews
1.1 mi away
Royal Oak Inn
Royal Oak Inn
#2 of 3 in Lostwithiel
210 reviews
3.8 mi away
Cross Close House B&B
Cross Close House B&B
#6 of 13 in Lostwithiel
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Penrose B&B
Penrose B&B
#1 of 13 in Lostwithiel
286 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Old Chapel B&B
The Old Chapel B&B
#2 of 13 in Lostwithiel
123 reviews
1 mi away
The Globe Inn
The Globe Inn
#9 of 13 in Lostwithiel
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tredethick Farm Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tredethick Farm Cottages

Address: Lostwithiel PL22 0LE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Lostwithiel
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Lostwithiel
Hotel Class:4 star — Tredethick Farm Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family friendly farm cottages in Cornwall, UK. Authentic and luxurious accommodation for you and your young children. Animal feeding, pony rides, indoor pool, blaance bie track, hot tub garden and private woodlands. Located in the secluded, beautiful Fowey Valley near to the historic town of Lostwithiel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tredethick Farm Cottages Hotel Lostwithiel
Tredethick Farm Hotel
Tredethick Farm Cottages Lostwithiel, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing