We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Penrose B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Penrose B&B
Ranked #1 of 13 Lostwithiel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Recently returned from the Penrose B&B and can only echo the comments of others. Clean, comfortable and characterful room. Friendly owners. Tasty and filling breakfasts. Well located within easy walking distance of Lostwithiel town centre. It is close to a fairly busy road, and though I didn't find this a problem I would suggest asking for a room on the other side if you're likely to be bothered by this. Or take earplugs!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HoveClive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
penrosebb, Owner at Penrose B&B, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

We do have ear plugs for those used to living in the middle of nowhere! Thankfully, the traffic dies down at night, but Rooms 4, 7 and 2 are probably the best for less road noise.

Glad you enjoyed your stay with us and took pleasure in our lovely home (we can’t help it, we adore our home and love to show it off to everyone).

Hope to see you again soon.
Chris & Heidi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (285)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 285 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed for four nights in the old breakfast room of this large Victorian house. The room is large with a comfortable queen size bed and two sofas. There is plenty of light coming into the room from a large bay window. There is a very clean and spacious ensuite shower with great water pressure. Heidi and Chris are very good hosts and the breakfasts are substantial and tasty. Lostwithiel is a convenient and friendly town. The nearby friendly Globe Inn does great pub food and there are some lovely walks that start in the town. I can especially recommend the walk along the Fowey River.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

warm welcome from Heidi and Chris had the king size deluxe room very large even had a sofa.breakfast was good even came out hot not like some plenty of cereal and fruit to choose from even a good choice of juice.nice little village .Heidi and Chris very helpful on places to go

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevewebb1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I chose the Penrose B&B based upon the excellent Tripadvisor rating and its convenient location for the Eden Project (only 10/15 minutes away). I must say that my wife, I and the kids enjoyed the stay thoroughly. The warm welcome we received from Chris and Heidi was second to none, their attentiveness and friendliness throughout our 2 night stay was a real pleasure. They really do put a lot of hard work into running their B&B and it shows. The rooms were spotlessly clean and well stocked, the whole house had a glorious period feel. I loved the original Victorian tiled flooring in the hallway! Breakfast was gorgeous, beautifully cooked and really tasty. The boys loved their attic room (number 7), spacious and with a great view. Lostwithiel town centre itself was only a 3/4 minute walk away and on the first day, after visiting Polperro which we drove straight to from home and after checking in, we went for a very pleasant stroll taking in the lovely buildings, streets and the famous bridge. There were plenty of nice pubs and restaurants. We ate at the Globe Inn on the first evening and the Royal Oak on the second. Both places were recommended by Chris and Heidi and both were excellent. All in all, a great stay at the Penrose. Thanks very much Chris and Heidi for making it so wonderful and memorable.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daljit_Makan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We decided at the last minute to include an overnight stay on our way to collect up a member of our family in Cornwall.
Penrose B & B appeared on Lastminute and what a find. Chris and Heidi gave us the warmest of welcomes. Chris ensured that we had parked out car in the small car park to make sure as many people as possible could get in.
While Heidi showed us to our accomodation (the garden room) Chris left us with a map of Lostwithiel showing all of the places to get and evening meal and gave a brief description of each..

Although the garden room is self catering (good size kitchen and spacious bathroom) we were not aware of this so opted for the cooked breakfast the following morning.
The order was placed that evening and we were not disappointed

All in all a great place to stay for longer than the one night we were there. Lostwihiel is very convenient to explore many parts of Cornwall. Chris and Heidi are great host and breakfast is excellent

We will be back

Room Tip: If you want self catering - go for the garden room. It might have changed name
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

The Penrose B&B is a lovely place to spend a break. Everything is is perfect. The rooms are spacious, spotlessly clean and well equipped. The breakfast is delicious with a large variety of choice.
Chris and Heidi are wonderful hosts. Always laughing, having a joke, helping with places of interest, venues to dine in the evening.. Their enthusiasm is incredible.
Lostwithiel is a lovely little village to stay in with plenty of pubs and restaurants. The Penrose is, in our opinion the place to stay when visiting this part of Cornwall. We cannot find anything to complain about or make a negative comment.
We shall return to the Penrose when we next visit Cornwall.

Paul, Julie and Pat

Room Tip: No 4 is a lovely room with a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rossam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We checked out this morning from the Penrose B&B after a couple of nights there. On our arrival both Chris and Heidi welcomed us from our car and continued to make us feel welcome throughout our stay. Our room (n.o 3) is a lovely spacious room with a nice view of the town and countryside in the distance, it was spotlessly clean and had a modern and spacious bathroom ensuite. Our hosts had thought of everything within the room for our comfort and convenience, we were most impressed. The B&B is a lovely Victorian house and home with many original features tastefully decorated throughout. The breakfasts are the best we have had in our recent travels of the South West, with even homemade jam and marmalade on offer, which was delicious by the way. I'd definitely recommend Penrose B&B to anyone visiting the St. Austell/Lostwithiel area, we will return thank you Chris and Heidi for making our time in your home so enjoyable, just a shame we couldn't stay longer. Best wishes H&G x x

Room Tip: We picked a superior room which was large with an equally spacious bathroom, which was room number t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank helenj21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lostwithiel hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Fowey Valley
Best Western Fowey Valley
#1 of 3 in Lostwithiel
559 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Oak Inn
Royal Oak Inn
#2 of 3 in Lostwithiel
208 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Old Chapel B&B
The Old Chapel B&B
#2 of 13 in Lostwithiel
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kings Arms
Kings Arms
#5 of 13 in Lostwithiel
58 reviews
4 mi away
Cross Close House B&B
Cross Close House B&B
#8 of 13 in Lostwithiel
31 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tremont Bed & Breakfast
Tremont Bed & Breakfast
#6 of 13 in Lostwithiel
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penrose B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penrose B&B

Address: 1 The Terrace | off Scrations Lane, Lostwithiel PL22 0DT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Lostwithiel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Lostwithiel
Price Range: $63 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Penrose B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chris & Heidi welcome you to Penrose, their beautiful AA 4 stars ratedVictorian home. Penrose exudes a homely atmosphere with a hint of heritage. Fireplaces, chandeliers, cornices and stained-glass windows are evident through-out the building. Be prepared to be spoilt when you book into Penrose B&B as Chris & Heidi pride themselves on hospitality and the kind of finishing touches that make a visit memorable. We have four large versatile double/twin/family ensuite rooms and three spacious double ensuites, plus two of the rooms combine for a family suite with a kitchen. All the bedrooms have TV, Freeview, DVD/CD player, hairdryer, bathrobes, extensive beverage tray, bottled mineral water and toiletries. The ensuites have electric showers plus fresh towels, face cloths, shampoo/conditioner and shower gel. There is free Wifi throughout the house. There is also a little snug come guest lounge. Lostwithiel is the antiques and slow food capital of Cornwall and has many pubs and restaurants within a 5 to 10 minute walk. The Eden Project is only a 10-minute drive, so are the local beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Penrose B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penrose B&B Lostwithiel, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing