We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B&B”
Review of Penrose B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Penrose B&B
Ranked #1 of 13 Lostwithiel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Caerphilly
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
“Wonderful B&B”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Chris and Heidi are wonderful hosts - they made us feel very welcome in their gorgeous home. Heidi's cooked breakfasts are absolutely scrumptious. Our room was very clean and comfortable with a beautiful view. Without doubt Penrose is the best B&B I've stayed in, and we'll definitely be back :)

Room Tip: The Owl Room/Room 3 is gorgeous, fantastic view, v comfy bed :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saranicj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    21
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
36
182
13
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Stayed at Penrose B&B for 3 nights (Jul 13) and had the most fabulous stay - everything was perfect for us and Chris and Heidi were the most friendly and helpful hosts you could find. The full English breakfast was excellent and kept us going most of the day without being too much. Thankyou for the helpful tips on where to go - Bedruthin Steps was unforgettable :). Wouldnn't hesitate to come back (if time allows) or to recommend to anyone looking for somewhere to stay in the area. Many thanks for helping to make our weekend so perfect.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
penrosebb, Owner at Penrose B&B, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Hello Helen
Thank you for such a recommendation! We are just two ordinary people trying to keep a roof over our heads – thankfully, we get a lot of pleasure showing our house off to our guests and helping you have the best stay in Lostwithiel and Cornwall as possible. Bedruthen Steps are rather good, aren’t they.

As you know, our breakfasts are made up of as much local produce as feasible, including local free range eggs from Bodmin (6 miles away). What you may not know is the colour of the eggs and the yolks differ, depending on the breed of chicken and what they are fed – thus we quite often have varying shades of yellow for the yolks!

We look forward to seeing you again, the next time you are down in sunny Cornwall.
Chris & Heidi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Drove from Weymouth and thought our experience of Bed and Breakfast in a guest house couln't get any better but how wrong were we! Our Sat Nav took us to the exact spot and we knew from then on we were in Paradise. We were greeted by Heidi & Chris and after we were given a lesson on how to park the car in this delightful victorian home things couldn't get any better. We were allocated room no. 7 which appeared to be in the attic. The room was spacious and spotless. Absolutely everything had been thought of by Chris & Heidi even down to a pack of playing cards. Even dressing gowns were provided. The breakfast experience was spot on. Porridge was an option so I decided to try it and well, it was to die for. I asked Heidi how she made it so perfect - don't worry the secret is safe with me, thanks for the tip though!! The rest of the breakfast was faultless. My Wife looked at me and said "We've found a real gem!" A comment like that from my Wife who can be a tad fussy at times is truly a rarity and I had to agree with her. If you stay here, you wont be disappointed. When we ever plan to return to this part of the country we will make sure we can stay at the Penrose - nothing else will do! Thank You Chris and Heidi for a perfect stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Markiebabes26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed at Penrose in Feb of this year & promised to stay again, however; this time we arrived with 4 hounds ( 3 staffies & a spaniel). As with our 1st visist, we were warmly welcomed by Heidi & Chris. Their attention to detail is one of the things that makes the Penrose stand out from the competition, i.e. knowing that we were arriving with a number of dogs, Chris emailed us in advance to confirm our room (5), which suited our needs to a T.
We paln to return again in December, when we will be competing in a 'mud,sweat & tears' challnge at the Lost Gardens of Helligan.
Keep up the excellent hospitality H&C & we will continue to sing your praises!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SG2S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
penrosebb, Owner at Penrose B&B, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Well, it was lovely to see you again, plus all the hounds! Pleased to hear Room 5 suited you – having the kitchen with the room, does help for feeding and sleeping (the dogs, not you – lol).

Still think you are both mad with the ‘mud, sweat & tears’ running race in December. There again, we haven’t had to run for anything for rather a long time.

Good luck and see you in December.
Chris & Heidi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed here for two nights at the end of may 2013 and were made to feel welcome as soon as we arrived. The house is lovely and our room had everything we needed in it. Heidi and Chris were very friendly and helpful, they even give you a map of the town with the pubs and restaurants etc on it to help you. Breakfast was really nice and set you up for the day. Would highly recommend the Penrose B&B and would definately stay there again!
Thanks Heidi @Chris

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gold coast
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Take a step back in time with two of the friendliest hosts, heidi and chris and enjoy a night in the penrose b&b. The rooms are lovely. and full of special little touches- like books to read, lollies, and bikkies, and all sorts of extras that show Heidi and Chris really care.The welcome sincere, even down to being met at the car with umbrellas to shield us from spring showers. The home cooked breakfast were a true delight. Well worth booklng.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
331 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

My Wife and i stayed here over the Bank Holiday weekend. We booked on Wednesday evening to arrive late on Friday. Heidi and Chris were very accommodating and found a room for us. They made excellent and easy communication by phone and email. We booked the Penrose as friends were staying there and the reviews were good.

We were not disappointed. Their welcome was really lovely, almost like long lost friends. The house is large and has some lovely features. We had room 2, first floor, with en-suite shower room. Everything had been thought of, there was even a corkscrew in the room. Sage advice on local pubs was well received.

Breakfast - well, there was a great range but I did have the Full English for three days. Oops! watch your waistline.

The bed was very comfortable, there was a comfy chair, a TV, radio alarm, hairdryer, kettle and a range of drinks.

Parking the car was fun.

Heidi and Chris, thank you.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HalDavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lostwithiel
0.1 mi away
Best Western Fowey Valley
Best Western Fowey Valley
#1 of 3 in Lostwithiel
489 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Oak Inn
Royal Oak Inn
#2 of 3 in Lostwithiel
199 reviews
4.6 mi away
St Benet's Abbey
St Benet's Abbey
#1 of 1 in Lanivet
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
876 reviews
7.0 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#5 of 9 in St Austell
371 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penrose B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penrose B&B

Property: Penrose B&B
Address: 1 The Terrace | off Scrations Lane, Lostwithiel PL22 0DT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Lostwithiel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Lostwithiel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Penrose B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chris & Heidi welcome you to Penrose, their beautiful AA 4 stars ratedVictorian home. Penrose exudes a homely atmosphere with a hint of heritage. Fireplaces, chandeliers, cornices and stained-glass windows are evident through-out the building. Be prepared to be spoilt when you book into Penrose B&B as Chris & Heidi pride themselves on hospitality and the kind of finishing touches that make a visit memorable. We have four large versatile double/twin/family ensuite rooms and three spacious double ensuites, plus two of the rooms combine for a family suite with a kitchen. All the bedrooms have TV, Freeview, DVD/CD player, hairdryer, bathrobes, extensive beverage tray, bottled mineral water and toiletries. The ensuites have electric showers plus fresh towels, face cloths, shampoo/conditioner and shower gel. There is free Wifi throughout the house. There is also a little snug come guest lounge. Lostwithiel is the antiques and slow food capital of Cornwall and has many pubs and restaurants within a 5 to 10 minute walk. The Eden Project is only a 10-minute drive, so are the local beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Penrose B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penrose B&B Lostwithiel, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing