We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Its like coming home”
other travelers have booked this property
Drinks and dinner on the patio overlooking The Fowey River.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Drinks and dinner on the patio overlooking The Fowey River.
Lostwithiel bridge beach. Patio overlooking river
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
Drinks and dinner on the patio overlooking The Fowey River.
Lostwithiel bridge beach.
Patio overlooking river
Master bedroom and shower room.
Double bedroom with adjoining bathroom.
Top floor Moroccan twin bedroom with en suite shower room.
Cornish cream tea on the patio
Ground floor sitting room    doors onto patio.
Ground floor sitting room.
Ground floor sitting room.
First floor sitting area.
First floor sitting area.
First floor dining area.
First floor kitchen area.
Master bedroom and shower room
Double bedroom.
Looking over bridge into Lostwithiel
From Patio looking upriver.
Bridge at high tide.
Fowey river outside Brunel Quays.
Lostwithiel's Restormel Castle.
Eden Project 4 miles from house.
Par Beach 4.5 miles from house.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Townhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Lostwithiel, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
George H
Welling, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Its like coming home”
Reviewed February 6, 2016 for a stay in October 2015
3
people found this review helpful

I have been coming to the moorings for 6 years now and will be making it seven with my family in 2016.The house is in a fantastic location to tour all Cornwall,s attractions.
The house itself is beautifully decorated and maintained.
The owner Vivienne has thought of everything, there is nothing missing that you need and the cleaners have the place in a immaculate condition every year. Its like walking into a brand new home every year.
I would personally recommend this property to anybody .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 7, 2016
Delighted to report that you now hold the record for annual stays at The Moorings. I do appreciate your kind words above and your allegiance to my Cornish home. Enjoy your2016 stay in Lostwithiel and hopefully for many years to come. Vivienne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annette B
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A truly stunning property”
Reviewed July 4, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed here in June 2015 and we couldn't have been happier. The property is beautifully furnished and truly well equipped, there was nothing extra that we needed. With ample bathrooms and a loo on each floor, what more could I say. The bedrooms are well thought out and there was plenty of storage. The beds are to die for, so comfortable, and I am a bad sleeper. It is situated by the railway, but the trains didn't bother us at all. Just a few steps to walk into the village and good public transport links. With the railway on side side of the property and the stunning river view on the other, there is very little passing traffic. Well situated for visiting The Eden Project, The Lost Gardens of Heligan, CharlesTown and the fabulous Mevagissey. We do so hope that we can return.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie M
Worcester Park
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A beautiful place”
Reviewed March 9, 2015 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We LOVE Lostwithiel and keep returning to Brunel Quays.When planning our most recent trip we encountered a slight setback as the two houses we have stayed at before were both unavailable: consequently we ended up booking the more expensive property “the Moorings”.


Although the houses appear identical from the outside , “The Moorings” proved to be very different.This house really does have the WOW factor and certainly isn't your normal holiday accomodation.A contemporary yet comfortable house , immaculately clean and well equipped.With its high spec furnishings and fittings it was more “boutique” than we are used to and we loved it .


“The Moorings” certainly does provide MORE -it is a shame we hadnt found this place sooner .We are about to book for this summer and we know where we will be staying.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: The closeness of the village and the comfort
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 12, 2015
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write such kind words about the property.
People often comment on how different the houses are in this small development, not only the furnishings but in the lay out of rooms.
I am delighted the house suited you and your family and hope that one day you do return to The Moorings. V
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzieq96
Berkshire
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A home from home”
Reviewed January 12, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
2
people found this review helpful

There are many reasons why you should stay here and one veing its a place that has everything you need and more. It is so convienent to the town of Lostwithiel ,this is a big plus as there is plenty to do there. Its also very convienent for visiting other places near by.,
The beds are so comfortable i am going to go out and buy the same matress for my home.
The view from the sitting room of the River and town is delightful. Always something to look at.
You also get a lot of support from the owner Vivienne and Jayne. Nothing is too much trouble.
Sadly in January a lot of places close just after New Year for at least three weeks. There are two very good restaurants in Lostwithiel which were closed. We did manage to go to Sams on the beach and The Duchy Restaurant at the nursery which i can highly recomend. Also Talland Bay Hotel for fabulous food and atmosphere and views. Dont rush to Jamacia Inn.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 30, 2015
Thank you so much for your kind comments. I am delighted that you enjoyed the Moorings and Lostwithiel and hope we can welcome you back on future trips when you can enjoy more restaurants in the town. Vivienne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
215alex
Newcastle, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed July 5, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
3
people found this review helpful

My sisters and I (all over 60 and from Australia) had a wonderful week at The Moorings in a June 2014.

The house was immaculate as well as being beautifully furnished throughout and it included everything needed to make a perfect holiday, right down to a welcoming package of fresh scones, clotted cream etc.

The scenery from the front of the house was idyllic and the village of Lostwithiel is just lovely with many fine eateries, antique shops and lots of history.

As we didn't have a car it was an ideal place to stay being so close to the railway.

I would recommend this property to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: The stairs
Traveling group: Other
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
busterfri...
UK lake district
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Absolutely perfect”
Reviewed May 27, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Stayed at 'the moorings' 17th - 24th may this year, all we can say is that it is absolutely perfect, everything about the moorings is brilliant, the attention to detail has been tremendous, we arrived to a lovely welcome pack of cider wine and scones, I've never stopped anywhere as well equipped as this, 4 TV's, every kitchen gadget you would need, en-suite in the master bedroom and on the top floor room, and a separate bathroom on the second floor, the house is handy for everything, railway station outside, supermarket 2 mins walk away, friendly people in the village pubs and restaurants, the view over the river Fowey at the back of the house was tranquil quiet and peaceful, we are definitely considering returning next year !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and quality of the property
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Ab Fab”
Reviewed May 18, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
3
people found this review helpful

A stunning well equipped property in the very prettiest of settings. The welcome pack was well thought out and everywhere was spotless. Lostwithiel station is an easy walk if you don't want to drive and the town itself has plenty of interesting pubs,restaurants and coffee shops. We joined in a pub quiz one evening-it was hilarious, everyone made us most welcome. A lovely break from city life.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write a review.I really appreciate your kind comments and I am delighted you had such a good holiday. I hope we will be able to welcome you back to Brunel Quays. V
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing